We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed here for 6 Nights”
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #1,141 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights as it was close to Termini Sation (300m). It is clearly a budget hotel and had many young people staying. Our room was clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast that was included was excellent and was a great start to the day. It was relatively close to the major sites with the Colosseum a 20 minute walk away and the other sites all within walking distance. The Vatican was a 30 minute walk (We like walking as we see more)
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Arrived 7 pm and were under impression it was 3 * Adventure Hotel we booked into. Rate for last minute was E100 which according to them was special rate .They said normal rate was E125-145. When we got to the room it was 2* Philia Hotel. The air con did not work at all,just fan, and had to sleep with windows open on noisy street
No glasses,hand towels and only 2pillows for 2 people. Breakfast was very ,very basic ,no cheese or ham.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Well placed. However the toilet leaked, which they knew about before we took the room, no hot water in the shower, and a blocked shower tray. Unpleasant smell along the whole corridor. Old, shabby and smelly. Staff helpful when it came to tourist info but denied any plumbing problems until we insisted and even then were not really bothered.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

This hotel is terrible, don't even consider going. Rooms are in a bad state, and the elevator looks like its going to crash at any moment. The walls are thinner than paper. The only good thing is the staff and location.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OsloWorld_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

This hotel had both good and bad points. It was in a good location within walking distance of Termini Station. As a result, we didn't have to pay for cabs. There are plenty of good restaurants around, it is close to the metro, the room was clean and nice, and the breakfast was good. Generally the staff was helpful although their English wasn't very good.

On the bad side, there was no ventilation in the bath and it smelled bad, there was no air-conditioning and the maid didn't show up one day. The night staff was very dismissive when we complained. We didn't expect them to clean but we did want towels and toilet paper. We finally got them, but they were not very accomodating about it and we had to press the issue.

The hotel was okay for the price, but next time I will probably pay a little more and get something nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Romelover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

staff are extremely friendly and helpful by providing maps and tourists booklets while giving in depth recommendations.
Althought the room is a bit old and not air-conditioned, the cleanliness and the basic facilities are acceptable, the toilet is clean enough and breakfast is pretty good as well! 100 euro per night and breakfast included!
all i can say is it is highly recommended and the location is very good, near to the central triain station and bus station.
worth value!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank winnie_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2006

This hotel was disappointing. Staff friendly and helpful enough..gave us maps and explained routes on the metro to where we wanted to go. The 'hotel' is actually 2/3 floors on a building shared with others. The sign out front is very small. The rooms were horrible. Terrible stagnant water smell smell coming from who knows where. Old fittings, a towel rack that falls apart, a toilet with 1ft. clearance in front of it and a shower designed for what seems to be a child..not even a place to rest your soap in the shower!! No hand towels were provided and the towels were very hard and made of an unusual material. There was no local temperature control and the units were switched off. We opened the window to get some cool breeze in and to get out the smell. The noise of drunk partiers and police sirens was so much we had to decide between sleeping with the smell and heat or using ear plugs..we chose the earplugs. There are about 7 channels on the tv, none of which are in english. To get to the room we had to use a prehistoric lift smothered in dust and cobweb. For more than 100EURO a night we expected better..breakfast wasn't even included! Don't go here is you have other options in the area. Train station is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CGTT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,119 of 1,271 in Rome
30 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#962 of 1,271 in Rome
343 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#777 of 1,271 in Rome
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#750 of 1,271 in Rome
288 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#760 of 1,271 in Rome
362 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#969 of 1,271 in Rome
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,141 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £30 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing