We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there!!!”
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #1,123 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go there!!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent three nights at this basic and poor tasted lodging. We had the worst experience, especially from the service given. We did not have hot water in our shower and though we alerted the staff about it 4 times, nothing was done. Each time we were given a different excuse. At the last time the owner of the place explained us plainly that if we are the only one complaining then there must not be a problem, thus calling us liars. He didn't even gave us the courtesy of checking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eyal_nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly89, Direttore at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We usually use to trust to our guests and we also use to check if there is something wrong with the rooms or if they have a problem. We checked your room and there was the hot water, you and your girlfriend were the only two guest in the hotel to complain about that. We were fully-booked so we should think that probably the problem didn't exist. Nobody else complained about hot water!!!
We never accused a guest to be a liar. I'm very disasppointed. You also came here a lot of times asking for a special price or a discount, we gave you the best deal we had and you got all the service like breakfast, hot water and all the others that we use to give to our guest.
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    35
    42
    80
See reviews for
37
82
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Finding a decent hotel in Rome can be quite difficult. What we really like about Hotel Philia is its excellent location (near the train station and the Metro station Castro Pretorio). All mainstream attractions of the eternal city are easy to reach, but also less touristic places like our beloved "San Lorenzo" (the university's neighborhood http://www.feelhomeinrome.com/rome-blog/index.php/san-lorenzo/). Also the "Pizzeria del Secolo", in the same street, is probably one of the best to-go pizzerias in town. The hotel is not the Ritz, but if you are going to spend most of the time out of your room (as you should if you are in Rome!) it is quite OK. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is superb. So overall all you need for a comfy stay!

Room Tip: You can ask to see a couple of rooms in advance when you check-in. If the hotel is not full you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights as it was close to Termini Sation (300m). It is clearly a budget hotel and had many young people staying. Our room was clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast that was included was excellent and was a great start to the day. It was relatively close to the major sites with the Colosseum a 20 minute walk away and the other sites all within walking distance. The Vatican was a 30 minute walk (We like walking as we see more)
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Arrived 7 pm and were under impression it was 3 * Adventure Hotel we booked into. Rate for last minute was E100 which according to them was special rate .They said normal rate was E125-145. When we got to the room it was 2* Philia Hotel. The air con did not work at all,just fan, and had to sleep with windows open on noisy street
No glasses,hand towels and only 2pillows for 2 people. Breakfast was very ,very basic ,no cheese or ham.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Saintes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Well placed. However the toilet leaked, which they knew about before we took the room, no hot water in the shower, and a blocked shower tray. Unpleasant smell along the whole corridor. Old, shabby and smelly. Staff helpful when it came to tourist info but denied any plumbing problems until we insisted and even then were not really bothered.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

This hotel is terrible, don't even consider going. Rooms are in a bad state, and the elevator looks like its going to crash at any moment. The walls are thinner than paper. The only good thing is the staff and location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OsloWorld_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2007

This hotel had both good and bad points. It was in a good location within walking distance of Termini Station. As a result, we didn't have to pay for cabs. There are plenty of good restaurants around, it is close to the metro, the room was clean and nice, and the breakfast was good. Generally the staff was helpful although their English wasn't very good.

On the bad side, there was no ventilation in the bath and it smelled bad, there was no air-conditioning and the maid didn't show up one day. The night staff was very dismissive when we complained. We didn't expect them to clean but we did want towels and toilet paper. We finally got them, but they were not very accomodating about it and we had to press the issue.

The hotel was okay for the price, but next time I will probably pay a little more and get something nicer.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smelly bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Romelover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#883 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#999 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,096 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baltic
#1,076 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#768 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,019 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Property: Hotel Philia
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,123 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing