We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here!”
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #1,121 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The pictures online of this hotel are completely different then the actual hotel. The area of the hotel is not great and definitely not safe after dark. Our rooms had no A/C, TV didn't work, and we had to have phones brought to our room. The cleaning staff spent a total of 5 minutes cleaning the room. You must be buzzed into your floor for security purposes. The doors to the third flood appear to have been broken through because the glass is shattered. This is not a family friendly hotel. Very Noisy, Smelly, and hot!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    36
    42
    79
See reviews for
37
82
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radstock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hotel Philia is in a reasonably central situation, just a few minutes from both the main railway station/Metro (Termini) and Metro (Castro Pretorio). The Metro is seemingly always crowded and one rarely gets a seat. However, a MetroBus ticket for a week only costs 24 euro. If you enjoy walking, then all major sites of interest are within fairly easy reach.

The building in which the hotel is situated has other hotels within but the security is pretty good with CCTV in various places and access to various parts of the hotel is governed by doors that are unlocked by reception when the door buzzer is pressed. The single lift can be a bit of a bind to wait for - it only caters for 2 people at a time.

Our room (402 on the 4th floor) was very clean (done every day), nice large comfortable bed, changes to bedding frequent, shower/toilet cramped but no problem with hot water. We were above the road Viale Castro Pretorio - traffic was noisy even with the windows firmly closed.

Breakfast (not a cooked one) was superb with plenty of choice. All staff were most pleasant and helpful. The bracket on which the shower head hung had broken but was fixed the next morning after reporting it.

Bars etc in the area are generally averagely priced - 3 to 5 euro for a half litre of lager, although we did find a basement wine bar quite close to the hotel which charged only 3 euro for a 66cl bottle of Peroni Nastro Azzurro.

Overall a wonderful week's holiday, certainly helped by Hotel Philia which we fully intend to use again.

Room Tip: Try to get close to the ground floor so that you don't have to rely on the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeeandjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Coffeandjuice,
We always try to do our best for our guests and we are really proud of ourselves when we read that you had a "splendid treatment".
Thank you for the kind words and I do hope to see you once again in the future if you ever decide to return to Rome.
Warmest regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent three nights at this basic and poor tasted lodging. We had the worst experience, especially from the service given. We did not have hot water in our shower and though we alerted the staff about it 4 times, nothing was done. Each time we were given a different excuse. At the last time the owner of the place explained us plainly that if we are the only one complaining then there must not be a problem, thus calling us liars. He didn't even gave us the courtesy of checking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eyal_nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly89, Direttore at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We usually use to trust to our guests and we also use to check if there is something wrong with the rooms or if they have a problem. We checked your room and there was the hot water, you and your girlfriend were the only two guest in the hotel to complain about that. We were fully-booked so we should think that probably the problem didn't exist. Nobody else complained about hot water!!!
We never accused a guest to be a liar. I'm very disasppointed. You also came here a lot of times asking for a special price or a discount, we gave you the best deal we had and you got all the service like breakfast, hot water and all the others that we use to give to our guest.
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Finding a decent hotel in Rome can be quite difficult. What we really like about Hotel Philia is its excellent location (near the train station and the Metro station Castro Pretorio). All mainstream attractions of the eternal city are easy to reach, but also less touristic places like our beloved "San Lorenzo" (the university's neighborhood http://www.feelhomeinrome.com/rome-blog/index.php/san-lorenzo/). Also the "Pizzeria del Secolo", in the same street, is probably one of the best to-go pizzerias in town. The hotel is not the Ritz, but if you are going to spend most of the time out of your room (as you should if you are in Rome!) it is quite OK. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is superb. So overall all you need for a comfy stay!

Room Tip: You can ask to see a couple of rooms in advance when you check-in. If the hotel is not full you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights as it was close to Termini Sation (300m). It is clearly a budget hotel and had many young people staying. Our room was clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast that was included was excellent and was a great start to the day. It was relatively close to the major sites with the Colosseum a 20 minute walk away and the other sites all within walking distance. The Vatican was a 30 minute walk (We like walking as we see more)
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Arrived 7 pm and were under impression it was 3 * Adventure Hotel we booked into. Rate for last minute was E100 which according to them was special rate .They said normal rate was E125-145. When we got to the room it was 2* Philia Hotel. The air con did not work at all,just fan, and had to sleep with windows open on noisy street
No glasses,hand towels and only 2pillows for 2 people. Breakfast was very ,very basic ,no cheese or ham.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Well placed. However the toilet leaked, which they knew about before we took the room, no hot water in the shower, and a blocked shower tray. Unpleasant smell along the whole corridor. Old, shabby and smelly. Staff helpful when it came to tourist info but denied any plumbing problems until we insisted and even then were not really bothered.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#887 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#1,000 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,097 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baltic
#1,075 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#775 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,013 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Property: Hotel Philia
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,121 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing