We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday”
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #1,122 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel for a week end in November... I was a bit afraid because of the other rewiew but I can say that I really felt home. My room was on the third floor and of I remember well the number should be 334. That room has 3 windows, it' s a very big room and you got 3 different views, one on the main street, the other one on Castro Pretorio, and another looks the cross. It could seem that it' s a noisy room, but believe me I did not hear traffic or other noises... There is wifi connection Also in the room, obviously for extra charge, like the other hotels in the same area. The staff was young, and they will advice you about restaurants, excursions, bars, disco, museums, churches, pubblic transportation everything you need to enjoy your holidays! We checked in more or less at 2 p.m., the receptionist gave us a map and showed us the route to get to Colisseum, and Spanish Steps by walk!!! We did it and she was right! It took 20 minutes!!!! Wow!!!!! Definitely I think that this hotel is the best choise it you want to stay in the downtown, even if because it is not exepensive... I will recommend it to all my friends!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Venere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    35
    42
    79
See reviews for
37
82
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Bad hotel. No hot water 80% of time. Problems with shower - didn't work door. Water in shower doesn't go out. We was told about this problem on reception,but problem doesn't resolved.
Wifi 5 Euro per 12h. Very expensive in 21 century. And work just with one device.
Breakfast in 9.00 ful for 15% .
But very good roomkeaper. Every day room was cleaned.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Barkas333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I Spent in this family-run hotel 3 days in November. The room was great, it was very clean and everything worked Well. The TV worked even if it has just italian channels, the wifi work properly, the heating was super and at the end of the Day I could take my shower in a Marble Jacuzzi shower... I really loved it!!!! the staff was great, they gave me a lot of good advices! I recomend it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Selene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I only paid 40$ a night, but i still think this hotel sucks.. Its clean, but old, and nothing works.

We had cold water for 5 days and tv did not work.

The area is ok, but not great. Pretty far away from the attractions but close to the termini, main metro and bus station

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello Mr Casper,
I'm very sorry for your experience but I'd like to remember you that you choosed a B&B and you arrived here, in a 3 stars, just because they had an overbooking. We hold your booking without changing conditions.
I can understand you were disappointed but we always try to offer to our guests the best service we can do! We immediately fixed the problem with the hot water.
We use to check the conditions of our rooms everyday to avoid inconvenience to the guests.
I hope to see you again in our hotel in order to change your opinion
Best Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The pictures online of this hotel are completely different then the actual hotel. The area of the hotel is not great and definitely not safe after dark. Our rooms had no A/C, TV didn't work, and we had to have phones brought to our room. The cleaning staff spent a total of 5 minutes cleaning the room. You must be buzzed into your floor for security purposes. The doors to the third flood appear to have been broken through because the glass is shattered. This is not a family friendly hotel. Very Noisy, Smelly, and hot!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hotel Philia is in a reasonably central situation, just a few minutes from both the main railway station/Metro (Termini) and Metro (Castro Pretorio). The Metro is seemingly always crowded and one rarely gets a seat. However, a MetroBus ticket for a week only costs 24 euro. If you enjoy walking, then all major sites of interest are within fairly easy reach.

The building in which the hotel is situated has other hotels within but the security is pretty good with CCTV in various places and access to various parts of the hotel is governed by doors that are unlocked by reception when the door buzzer is pressed. The single lift can be a bit of a bind to wait for - it only caters for 2 people at a time.

Our room (402 on the 4th floor) was very clean (done every day), nice large comfortable bed, changes to bedding frequent, shower/toilet cramped but no problem with hot water. We were above the road Viale Castro Pretorio - traffic was noisy even with the windows firmly closed.

Breakfast (not a cooked one) was superb with plenty of choice. All staff were most pleasant and helpful. The bracket on which the shower head hung had broken but was fixed the next morning after reporting it.

Bars etc in the area are generally averagely priced - 3 to 5 euro for a half litre of lager, although we did find a basement wine bar quite close to the hotel which charged only 3 euro for a 66cl bottle of Peroni Nastro Azzurro.

Overall a wonderful week's holiday, certainly helped by Hotel Philia which we fully intend to use again.

Room Tip: Try to get close to the ground floor so that you don't have to rely on the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeeandjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Coffeandjuice,
We always try to do our best for our guests and we are really proud of ourselves when we read that you had a "splendid treatment".
Thank you for the kind words and I do hope to see you once again in the future if you ever decide to return to Rome.
Warmest regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent three nights at this basic and poor tasted lodging. We had the worst experience, especially from the service given. We did not have hot water in our shower and though we alerted the staff about it 4 times, nothing was done. Each time we were given a different excuse. At the last time the owner of the place explained us plainly that if we are the only one complaining then there must not be a problem, thus calling us liars. He didn't even gave us the courtesy of checking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eyal_nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly89, Direttore at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We usually use to trust to our guests and we also use to check if there is something wrong with the rooms or if they have a problem. We checked your room and there was the hot water, you and your girlfriend were the only two guest in the hotel to complain about that. We were fully-booked so we should think that probably the problem didn't exist. Nobody else complained about hot water!!!
We never accused a guest to be a liar. I'm very disasppointed. You also came here a lot of times asking for a special price or a discount, we gave you the best deal we had and you got all the service like breakfast, hot water and all the others that we use to give to our guest.
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#883 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#1,000 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,097 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baltic
#1,077 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#777 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,019 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Property: Hotel Philia
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,122 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing