We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel was okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #1,131 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Taylorsville, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2007

This hotel had both good and bad points. It was in a good location within walking distance of Termini Station. As a result, we didn't have to pay for cabs. There are plenty of good restaurants around, it is close to the metro, the room was clean and nice, and the breakfast was good. Generally the staff was helpful although their English wasn't very good.

On the bad side, there was no ventilation in the bath and it smelled bad, there was no air-conditioning and the maid didn't show up one day. The night staff was very dismissive when we complained. We didn't expect them to clean but we did want towels and toilet paper. We finally got them, but they were not very accomodating about it and we had to press the issue.

The hotel was okay for the price, but next time I will probably pay a little more and get something nicer.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smelly bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Romelover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    37
    33
    41
    74
See reviews for
34
82
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B'ham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2007

staff are extremely friendly and helpful by providing maps and tourists booklets while giving in depth recommendations.
Althought the room is a bit old and not air-conditioned, the cleanliness and the basic facilities are acceptable, the toilet is clean enough and breakfast is pretty good as well! 100 euro per night and breakfast included!
all i can say is it is highly recommended and the location is very good, near to the central triain station and bus station.
worth value!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank winnie_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2006

This hotel was disappointing. Staff friendly and helpful enough..gave us maps and explained routes on the metro to where we wanted to go. The 'hotel' is actually 2/3 floors on a building shared with others. The sign out front is very small. The rooms were horrible. Terrible stagnant water smell smell coming from who knows where. Old fittings, a towel rack that falls apart, a toilet with 1ft. clearance in front of it and a shower designed for what seems to be a child..not even a place to rest your soap in the shower!! No hand towels were provided and the towels were very hard and made of an unusual material. There was no local temperature control and the units were switched off. We opened the window to get some cool breeze in and to get out the smell. The noise of drunk partiers and police sirens was so much we had to decide between sleeping with the smell and heat or using ear plugs..we chose the earplugs. There are about 7 channels on the tv, none of which are in english. To get to the room we had to use a prehistoric lift smothered in dust and cobweb. For more than 100EURO a night we expected better..breakfast wasn't even included! Don't go here is you have other options in the area. Train station is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGTT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2005

We (a family of four) spent a night in Philia landing in Rome befeore travelling to Umbria. I had been searching a budget accomodation and was scared when found this hotel on hostels(!) site. The family was a little bit scared. What a shock waited us!
More then modest entrance (with a small table on building's wall), but after that... Small but clean, nice, well equipped rooms, good service (it is really a hotel, do not hesitate).
The location is ideal - four short blocks from Termini central station. Next day we went with our luggage to take our car (at Termini) by feet - it is so close. Via Palestro street itself is not noisy and full of trattorias, restourants and other food services right near the hotel - we were excited and used the opportunity.
Thinking that hotel prices in Rome are terrible (I reserved another two nights, when we returned from Umbria, in "Trojano" hotel - just guess the price) it is a really decent, worth to know budget accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2005

I strongly do not recommend you to stay in this hotel. The room is dark and small plus it has a strange smell. The lift is a very old one and it was completely covered by dust as if the life had been out of operation for decades. THE worst thing which really ----- me off is the attitude of a white-hair staff at the reception. When we came to check in, they said we could leave our baggages in the breakfast room as the check-in time is 2pm. When we checked out, we would like to do the same as our flight was at 11pm. However, to our surprise, we were told that they could not accept our baggages - no baggage room!!! i said we didn't mind putting our baggages in the breakfast room - presumably it won't take much space. but guess we were told - "CHECK IS IN ONE QUESTION, and CHECK OUT IS ANOTHER QUESTION." see?! poor service, poor environment - plus the price isn't cheap - if you are looking for a hostel in rome, any one but not this!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2005

We arrived in Rome late on a Friday night and expected something simple but clean and comfortable. Boy were we wrong. On arrival, the check in area was cramped and dirty as was the lift up to our floor. It felt like something out of a 1980's horror film. As we walked along the corridor it got slightly better but as we entered the room our hearts sank. The room was small, dark , noisy and smelly. The bed was so very uncomfortable and the blankets were not clean. Trying to get to sleep was a nightmare as you couldn't help but think of all the other guests who had used the bedding over the years, without it being washed in between - that's how it felt. However, worse was still to come...there was some noise from the rooms above ours which we thought would settle down shortly. However when 3 o'clock came, we realised that the chance of sleep that night was going to be slim. We decided the following day that we could not endure it for another two nights and booked into the hotel imperiale, which was lovely. However, when we came to check out, the manager was really funny with us and I actually felt very threatened. I kept asking how much I needed to pay, but he was unhappy about us leaving and wouldn't give me a straight answer. We will never go back there again. I have stayed in many hostels before and none of them have had such poor standars as this one. yuk. The only redeeming thing from our stay here was that breakfast was reasonable and the waiter was friendly enough.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Évora, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2005

This last week, we travelled to Rome in a study trip. Hotel Philia was our "home" for five days. At a first glance, it seemed a little bit worrying (mainly the elevator which needs maintenance)but when inside, we had some pleasant surprises: the rooms were comfortable, clean and the staff was always ready to help us. Considering that it is a two-star residential, specially intended for backpackers, it highly fulfilled our expectations. We strongly advise any teacher in a study trip to stay there. It is also very well located. Our special thanks go to Mr.Giovanni ( a little bit frightening but just in the beginning), to Manuel, always with a pleasant smile at breakfast and specially to Stefanno, who was always considering, polite, friendly and attentive to the needs of a group of 22 students and teachers. It was really a pleasure.Thank you for a nice staying.

Gabriela, Florbela , Elsa and all the students from E.B. 2,3/S. Dr.Isidoro de Sousa de Viana do Alentejo, Portugal

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 509Gabriela67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#883 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,084 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#969 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#962 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#900 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,083 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Property: Hotel Philia
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,131 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing