We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippie Chic - Ask for Directions!”
Review of Sunshine Hostel

Sunshine Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Hostel
Ranked #270 of 1,134 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Upon entering, you'll first notice the cramped space and funky decor. This hostel certainly has it's own vibe, but is worth a stay. My fiancé and I stayed in a 3-bed dorm and had no big complaints about our stay. It IS hard to find, so I would advise stopping by the information desk if arriving by train to get a clear understanding of how to find it (trust me, it will save you thirty minutes of trying to hunt it down on the wrong side of the street). The owners were welcoming and very helpful on directing us to places around Rome. You get coffee and a croissant in the morning as well. Not a feast, but free food is always welcomed when traveling on a shoestring :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The people who run this hostel will do anything for you! They are very helpful! I didn't like how the showers didn't have a place you could change privately attached! And sometimes I didn't feel that the area was the safest place to be...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrottergirl876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed alone at this hostel July 8th and checked out on July 12th. The staff was very nice, friendly and answered all my questions about getting around the city. The rooms were small but clean. I was able to walk to bus stations and metro stations, so the location was good for me. If I'm back in Rome, traveling alone, I'll stay again.
Thank you Florinda!

Patricia, USA.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and didn't have much expectations. All my needs were met. The bedroom an...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I wouldn't even be able to call this a hostel because that isn't what it is. This hostel sunshine is an apartment that someone is attempting to run as a hostel, except they are doing a terrible job. After it taking 30 minutes to find the location of the hostel from Termini, we found ourselves at the door of an apartment building and on the doorbells where you get buzzed in one of them said hostel sunshine, but we buzzed and buzzed and were never let it. FInally when someone walked out of the apartments we went in, and when we found the door to the apartment that said hostel sunshine on it nobody ever answered the door, we waited for 45 minutes, called the number on our reservation multiple times and left at 8:15 because we specified on our reservation that we would be arriving at 8.

After finding a hotel to stay in, we got a call from the owner i assume of hostel sunshine who proceeded to yell at us saying that we were supposed to call them to tell them we would b coming at the time we specified because most people come late? Our credit card got charged for the one night stay.... worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrosex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oslo
13
Reviewed 1 August 2005

Next time I pay 60 euros for a room, I expect to get one with a lock on the door. When I discovered that my lock was broken, all I got for an answer was a shrug from a gormless night staff man who told me to 'prop a chair under the door'. I don't appreciate the fact that nothing was done about it (or a discount offered). I paid for a private room expecting a measure of security, and got less than I would expect from a dorm.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2005

A warning to all travellers - DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL. I travelled to Rome with my friend in June 2005, we had booked this hotel before we travelled. It was dreadful. We specifically asked for a twin room and when we arrived we were given the "Matrimonial Room". I cannot for the life of me believe that anyone would want to spend their wedding night in that room! It was dirty and noisy. There was no toilet roll. No towels. The old man on the front desk when we arrived did not speak English and was very rude.

We asked to be moved in the morning and they put us in another room on the ground floor that was about 4.5 ft wide! It was like a broom closet! The hotel is not cheap (we paid about £75 per night) and the service is diabolical. When we returned to our room on the second night, the old man started yelling at us in italian demanding that we pay! We refused and said we would settle the bill on departure, to which he threatened to call the Manager. We said "go ahead". He didn't call the Manager but it left us feeling quite upset and frightened.

And just to finish it off, I left a skirt in the closet and when I got home I called the hotel and they told me I must come and pick it up! Not for all the tea in China!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank snowf1ake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maffiosofdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#171 of 1,134 in Rome
62 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#16 of 1,134 in Rome
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Ciak Hostel
Ciak Hostel
#299 of 1,134 in Rome
173 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#31 of 1,134 in Rome
743 reviews
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#47 of 1,134 in Rome
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hostel

Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 208, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 1,134 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £17 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sunshine Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing