We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe”
Review of Sunshine Hostel

Sunshine Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Hostel
Ranked #238 of 1,120 Speciality Lodging in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unsafe”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spent a long time travelling and definitely the poorest hostel I've stayed in. Though clean, due to odd rule of 'no check in after 1400', we arrived late to a locked door and directions of how to let ourselves into the hostel. No owners around for most of the day and night. A lone young guest got denied entrance and had to sleep in the train station despite having booked a bed for the night! Very dangerous. Very noisy one night due to some guests being let in and not having a bed. They slept in the corridor and I had to step over bodies in the middle of the night to get to the bathroom. Cheap and clean hostel, but very poorly managed and not very secure.

Room Tip: Book alternative hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlyrosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
6
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in an eight person dorm for three nights. We found sunshine hostel accommodating, and the staff really friendly!

The room was comfortable and not to hot, especially being summer we thought no aircon would be horrible, but it wasn't overly warm at all. The beds are comfy and easy to sleep in, they don't make much noise which for an eight person dorm is great.

The bathroom isn't the greatest. The toilet doors do not shut and the showers are dirty. Having said that, the friendliness of the staff made it an enjoyable experience.
The Only thing I would suggest is for the hostel to have better signage for guests to be able to easily locate it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneealyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you look for a cheap place to take a shower and sleep, that`s the place.
If you want to meet people, have someplace to prepare some food/lunch... it`s not for you.
The place looks like an old appartment that have been transformed in a hostel.
They don`t have many rooms, no commom area or kitchen.
The price is very good, near the central station from where you can take buses, trains and metro, or even walk to most famous touristic places.

GOOD: clean, good staff, well located (near Termini station), free WiFi access, cheap, quiet (once there aren't many rooms).

NOT GOOD: no commom area, no information about the city, WiFi does not work well in every bedroom, breakfast served too late (starting at 8:30 a.m.), bath place has no door (just a courtain).

As the place is located in Giolitti, 208 you may be confused to find it. While going dow the street from Termini station, you will find numbers 207 and 209 but no 208. Keep going dow. After the rails of the station when the buildings start to appear again on your left you will find 208 number (and it`s not very near 207 and 209).

During my stay I`ve been with kind people from different parts of the world in the same bedroom. Although they don`t have a commom area, you can also know people. The beds were warm, the same as the water at the shower. The staff spoke English and have been very nice when I needed.
Most of the time I left the place in the morning on foot to go to Rome`s attractions and came back on foot or by bus. You could get a map of the city but that`s the information you will find about the city (I expected to find folders with touristic informations from the city).

Room Tip: I stayed in 3 different rooms and, the WiFi access was good just on room 1. Rooms 3 and 4 had a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kekows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

First of all, this hostel's location seems like not good enough but if you get inside the building, you will see different world. There is just one missing in the hostel. Kitchen. But I think it is not necessary that much. Other things are not awesome but you'll feel like home. I think it was more than expected. One more tip, hostel's number is 208 and when you are looking for this place you'll see the number 207 and 209. Don't turn back! Just go straight ahead along this street (via Giolitti). After 500 m,You 'll see number 208 opposite of this street. Have a nice travel guys.

Helpful?
Thank Tayfun T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Upon entering, you'll first notice the cramped space and funky decor. This hostel certainly has it's own vibe, but is worth a stay. My fiancé and I stayed in a 3-bed dorm and had no big complaints about our stay. It IS hard to find, so I would advise stopping by the information desk if arriving by train to get a clear understanding of how to find it (trust me, it will save you thirty minutes of trying to hunt it down on the wrong side of the street). The owners were welcoming and very helpful on directing us to places around Rome. You get coffee and a croissant in the morning as well. Not a feast, but free food is always welcomed when traveling on a shoestring :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The people who run this hostel will do anything for you! They are very helpful! I didn't like how the showers didn't have a place you could change privately attached! And sometimes I didn't feel that the area was the safest place to be...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrottergirl876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed alone at this hostel July 8th and checked out on July 12th. The staff was very nice, friendly and answered all my questions about getting around the city. The rooms were small but clean. I was able to walk to bus stations and metro stations, so the location was good for me. If I'm back in Rome, traveling alone, I'll stay again.
Thank you Florinda!

Patricia, USA.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and didn't have much expectations. All my needs were met. The bedroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Thousand Sunny
#770 of 1,120 in Rome
34 reviews
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#163 of 1,120 in Rome
62 reviews
Esquilino
Melting Pot Rome
Melting Pot Rome
#93 of 1,120 in Rome
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,120 in Rome
855 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hostel

Property: Sunshine Hostel
Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 208, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 1,120 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sunshine Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing