We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Youth Station Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Universal(Rome)
View Hotel
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
24
24
28
18
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
24
28
18
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza bolognaaround the cornerlocation is greatmicrowavesupermarketmetrorenovationvatican
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Horrible staff. Shiiiiiit customer service. Filthy. Other people in the room/s had bed bugs. Threatening emails from the manager when I told them about my bad experience. Would not recommend. Spend a little more and go for something a bit better

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Other than its great location just a few blocks from the metro, this is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in.

Yes, it had wifi, yes it had a mini-kitchen area (not a full kitchen, nobody cooked), and yes there was a common area with tables where people could mingle and chat about their adventures that day, but there was no liveliness, heart, or warmth to the place at all.

Bottom line, this hostel was managed very very poorly when i stayed, by a staff that could not care less. They had no interest in answering questions, or being available. The security in the place was also terrifying. You were not allowed to take your keys out of the hostel, and everybody kept their personal belongings in a locker in their room. Also, guests here all appeared younger than 25, so be warned ye older travelers.

The rooms were long and extremely narrow like a hallway so that people could not chat and there was no way for people to easily move around the rooms. The showers felt filthy. In fact, the whole place did. The entrance was through an alleyway by a parking lot, which also felt unsafe.

If you have other options, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well it was the last stop of our trip and it was lashing rain in Rome for the duration so perhaps it made the hostel a bit more gloomy. It was near the metro which was handy but the area it's in, there wasnt much to do.

I was disappointed that they allowed a 60 year old woman to stay who had obvious mental health issues and kept accussing us all who were staying in the dorm of trying to attack her or rob her. She also came in on myself and my friend whenever we were in the toilet and snook up on my friend during the night at one stage and this was not pleasant for us and we were very uncomfortable. When we brought the situation to the staff they both (on 2 different occasions) responded by saying she was cuccoo, and in which case it wasn't fair to the rest of us having to deal with her. The hostel stated clearly it was for 30 year olds or under. I am in no way ageist and would not have a problem sharing a room with anyone older but the fact that she aggitated us so much bothered me and I lost a full night sleep because of fear of it to be honest with what she would do.

If she hadn't had been let stay there maybe I would have preferred the hostel. Rooms were far too crampy though.

Wouldn't go back

Room Tip: There all tiny, pick a better hostel with a better location.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

First of all, they didnt have what they promise, the reception wasnt open 24hrs, the guys from the reception were rude, and didnt help me out with any problems, the bathroom was really small and the shower was terrible and the doors didnt close, so every time someone take a shower, the whole room become a pool.
the worst part is that the beds were really uncomffortable and they were filled with bugs!, i got bite more than 50 times by little bugs that live in every bed in the room. when i told to the administrator about the situation, he told me that it happen in every hostel and that he cant do anything to help me.
im just making this review to let the backpckers know that if you will go to rome, please dont stay at the youth station hostel!! it can ruin your trip

Room Tip: dont stay here!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

No flare to this place really but the staff were helpful and friendly and let us stay and use the wifi and toilets in the afternoon even though we checked out in the morning. Wifi was fine, not spectacular but certainly useable. Atmosphere wasn't great, kind of cold. But there is a common area with tables and chairs and kitchen facilities (just microwave and fridge really) where you can meet others. Room was fine, big lockers, bathroom pretty average - shower absolutely awful water pressure. Good location in that it was right next to the metro and a bit out of rome so quite quiet. FANTASTIC laundry service around the corner (though almost impossible to find) - 8 euro total for wash and dry (recommend shared machine to make it cheaper) and you only had to drop off the clothes and then turn up 2 hours later and the clothes were dry, folded, packed and ready to go. Awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews