We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Youth Station Hostel
Ranked #743 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in Rome
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gross!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Do not go here! I have bed bugs and the sheets were blood stains and holes on! After several days I had a bed bugs bites which obviously came from there gross sheets which I couldn't even sleep on after the 3rd night
The bathroom is vile
Wet floor which became very dangerous and so couldn't use it at all!
Manager did not help when conceded with the dangerous floor

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hostelhopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    26
    16
    52
See reviews for
Families
0
21
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you like silver linings, this place isn't for you.

PROS:
-check out.

CONS:
-advised upon arrival to take a seat by receptionist because he was eating dinner and would check me in when he was finished, which was 15 minutes later. Not what I wanted to hear after a long day traveling.
-rude reception, bent passport during check in.
-lockers can be opened with a credit card swipe through lock mechanism.
-'24 hour reception' that was closed at 3am when I needed to get back into the hostel. Had to bang on the window of a room in order to wake a guest up to open a door.
-bathrooms are barely functional and the toilet cistern in my room was covered with a garbage bag to catch leakage.
-electrical points are hit and miss, some covered in mold.
-arrogant hostel manager, more interested in collecting cash from reception than helping guests.
-lock on bathroom didn't work half the time, and the other half it jammed.

Honestly, I have travelled all over Europe and have not had any major issues with my accommodation but this place was truly a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I've never seen such rude and unwelcoming behaviour on hostel staff. On top of all: their price of a bed is 16 euros but if you come there without reservation they make you pay more! They made us pay 20 euros and when we asked why we did not get any explanation, we did not get any receipt either, but since we had no where else to go we had to stay there. Some people that came after us even had to pay 25 euros!!! It is really evil that they fool unknowing people like this! The hostel did not have what they promised! The wifi did not work, the kitchen was gross, the dorms were narrow hallways with prison bunks as beds and the bathroom was really nasty! The whole place was in fact nasty.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Horrible staff. Shiiiiiit customer service. Filthy. Other people in the room/s had bed bugs. Threatening emails from the manager when I told them about my bad experience. Would not recommend. Spend a little more and go for something a bit better

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeseenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Other than its great location just a few blocks from the metro, this is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in.

Yes, it had wifi, yes it had a mini-kitchen area (not a full kitchen, nobody cooked), and yes there was a common area with tables where people could mingle and chat about their adventures that day, but there was no liveliness, heart, or warmth to the place at all.

Bottom line, this hostel was managed very very poorly when i stayed, by a staff that could not care less. They had no interest in answering questions, or being available. The security in the place was also terrifying. You were not allowed to take your keys out of the hostel, and everybody kept their personal belongings in a locker in their room. Also, guests here all appeared younger than 25, so be warned ye older travelers.

The rooms were long and extremely narrow like a hallway so that people could not chat and there was no way for people to easily move around the rooms. The showers felt filthy. In fact, the whole place did. The entrance was through an alleyway by a parking lot, which also felt unsafe.

If you have other options, do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well it was the last stop of our trip and it was lashing rain in Rome for the duration so perhaps it made the hostel a bit more gloomy. It was near the metro which was handy but the area it's in, there wasnt much to do.

I was disappointed that they allowed a 60 year old woman to stay who had obvious mental health issues and kept accussing us all who were staying in the dorm of trying to attack her or rob her. She also came in on myself and my friend whenever we were in the toilet and snook up on my friend during the night at one stage and this was not pleasant for us and we were very uncomfortable. When we brought the situation to the staff they both (on 2 different occasions) responded by saying she was cuccoo, and in which case it wasn't fair to the rest of us having to deal with her. The hostel stated clearly it was for 30 year olds or under. I am in no way ageist and would not have a problem sharing a room with anyone older but the fact that she aggitated us so much bothered me and I lost a full night sleep because of fear of it to be honest with what she would do.

If she hadn't had been let stay there maybe I would have preferred the hostel. Rooms were far too crampy though.

Wouldn't go back

Room Tip: There all tiny, pick a better hostel with a better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casalnuovo di Napoli, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

First of all, they didnt have what they promise, the reception wasnt open 24hrs, the guys from the reception were rude, and didnt help me out with any problems, the bathroom was really small and the shower was terrible and the doors didnt close, so every time someone take a shower, the whole room become a pool.
the worst part is that the beds were really uncomffortable and they were filled with bugs!, i got bite more than 50 times by little bugs that live in every bed in the room. when i told to the administrator about the situation, he told me that it happen in every hostel and that he cant do anything to help me.
im just making this review to let the backpckers know that if you will go to rome, please dont stay at the youth station hostel!! it can ruin your trip

Room Tip: dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Borghese Executive Suite
#677 of 1,256 in Rome
61 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#58 of 1,091 in Rome
262 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,091 in Rome
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#28 of 1,091 in Rome
724 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#43 of 1,091 in Rome
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Station Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Station Hostel

Property: Youth Station Hostel
Address: Via Livorno 5, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #743 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Youth Station Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Youth Station Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Station Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing