We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adler Hotel
Ranked #698 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We loved this small, cozy hotel that is in a great old building. Room was very clean and sufficient room to move around the bed but of course as a place in central Rome it was not spacious. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Bruno and Carlo took great care of us and prepare awesome cappuccinos at breakfast. Very quiet sidestreet but super close to everything. Wifi was good and patio gave decent place to sit and catch up on emails. I found the bed super comfortable too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    78
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
45
72
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very good location, we walked to Trevi Fountian, the Parthenon, Spanish Steps in one day, Coliseum, Palatine Hill, and other places another day. Even walked back from the Vatican although that was about 45 minutes to an hour. Room was large but bathroom was small. The bathroom mirror was hung so high that my wife (5 ft tall) could not use them without standing on a chair. Breakfast was meager and they ran out of croissants one day, even though we were at breakfast by 7:45. Hotel service depended on who was manning the desk, some were very helpful, one in particular was pretty dour.

Room Tip: If you are a large party, room 23 would suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

when you arrive if the street is full of garbage and trash. We were shocked, but it appears that is the nature of city sidestreets. The hotel is located inside a pretty, old building on the 2nd floor. the next day, the trash was all collected (thought I was in NYC!) The room was very nice, small, a great shower with really hot water, a fridge, hair dryer and wine cork!! There is a lovely patio with fountains where you can eat inc. breakfast of pastries and cerals, yogurt and fruits (inc. w/room). This area is open in the evening for sitting and enjoying a beer or wine, both sold there at the desk for 3 & 4 e's. the staff was very nice; however, they told me I owed for the room when I had prepaid 2 mos. earlier, A call to the manager and all was cleared. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We returned because our first visit was so good . Things have changed rooms ( and we had 2) needing refurbishment. Customer service was still good and as best they could sorted out our complaints . We asked for a different room and it was provided. However, although the room was a little better, it still would have benefited from refurbishment. Bathrooms very grubby and just 1 electric point,not even convenient for hairdrying or charging ! This hotel is so conveniently placed for metro and Termini, but we will not be returning. We are sad about that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mau19512003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The location of this hotel is great and the rooms were acceptable for the price. Our family had 3 rooms for 3 nights. When we were getting ready to check out, the person at the desk said that their credit card machine wasn't working and that we would have to pay in cash. This would have been very inconvenient and we refused. Then they said that the machine was working again (surprise!). This seems like a scam to get people to run to the ATM and withdraw large amounts of cash. I did not see any other reviewers that had this experience, maybe it was just a one time problem but I don't think I'll be staying at the Adler again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minorca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Adler for 6 days on a vacation. The people there could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We had an early departure on a tour one day and the front desk called to remind us a half hour before pick-up and also had breakfast laid out for us so we could eat early. The location is excellent as it is a 5 minute walk to the nearest Metro station and is located on a quiet street. There are some good restaurants nearby also. The price was right and the room was comfortable. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieB11762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Rome is fairly expensive and this place was OK for the money. It was a Rick Steves recommendation and we got 5% off for that and 5% off for cash. Helpful staff and nice little terrace for breakfast and a much appreciated elevator at the end of a long day of walking. Not thrilled with the look of old carpet after experiencing tiled floors throughout our trip. Our room was a nice size...sorry, can't remember the room number. A short walk to the train and subway as well as the Via Natzionale for buses and taxi stands.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bellesuite Rome
Bellesuite Rome
#648 of 1,291 in Rome
329 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#267 of 1,291 in Rome
945 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#262 of 1,291 in Rome
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#249 of 1,291 in Rome
282 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#719 of 1,291 in Rome
161 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#396 of 1,291 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel

Property: Adler Hotel
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #698 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ADLER is a two stars hotel, situated in an elegant building which has been recently restored, in the heart of the historical centre of Rome, in a quiet and safe area. The Hotel is within walking distance from the most charming "Roman history areas" like Fontana di Trevi, Quirinale Presidential Palace, Piazza di Spagna, Colosseum, Foro Romano, Piazza Navona, Vaticano, Via Veneto and is well connected to many public transport routes like subway, taxi, buses and train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Rome
Adler Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing