We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
Ranked #214 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Panama City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three days in Rome”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Nice hotel! Rooms are clean and modern. Lobby area and dining area are both very nice and clean. Breakfast is great with good selection and service. Location is pretty far from the main attractions but easy to overcome if you don't mind walking a few blocks to the train or subway stations. The area is safe for walking even late in to the evenings / early morning. All of the locals were very nice and helpful.

Only two minor comments regarding this stay. One young lady at the front desk was not very talkative. She was not rude or unaccommodating but was short and direct. The rest of the staff was very respectful, responsive and engaging. And second, the thermostats in both of the rooms did not seem to work. The weather was cold outside and the rooms were too warm no matter how low you set the thermostat. We opened the window over the terrace and it was then very pleasant so it wasn't really a problem.

All in all it is a great stay and good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gclubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review about your recent stay with us because it seems we have been able to satisfy mostly of your needs.

Please accept my apologize in regard to the rude or unaccommodating behavior of one attendant at the Reception Desk, please rest assured I’ll keep into deep this matter to find out who wasn’t polite enough!

Regarding your note about the heating system, I’d like to remind we were all at your disposal for any kind of information even to explain how it works; I guess why you didn’t ask at the Reception.
Anyway the self control system gives you the choice to increase or decrease the temperature of 3 Celsius degree and to adjust the air flow from maximum to minimum, but accordingly to the Law, but is not possible to turn it to complete stop because an air renewal is compulsory.

Looking forward to welcome once more as favorite Guest, I remain with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    449
    155
    37
    7
See reviews for
187
431
55
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is close to transportation to get you to city centre and all attractions. The room was nice, clean, and modern. The breakfast was excellent. The reception area was friendly and helpful with tourist information. They were especially wonderful in arranging tours for Rome and The Vatican City. Thanks a lot. Can't wait for next vacation here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlynPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Esteem Guest
Let me thank a lot for your kind evaluation of the services provided during your recent stay with us, a real drive for all of us to continue this way.

I’ll be pleased to supervise personally your next reservation here, do not forget to address me it!

We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and looking forward to welcome as favorite Guest, I remain with kind regards.


Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and very helpful from the moment I arrived until departure a few days later. They were especially helpful in arranging tours of Rome and the Vatican. The room was modern, clean and the breakfast was excellent. While there were only a few restaurants in the area, on the plus side the hotel is a five-minute walk from the Tusculana train station (on the line to the main airport) and a bus stop and metro station for a short ride into the center of Rome. All-in-all, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkilgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear ValuedGuest,
let me express my deep satisfaction knowing we have been able to gratify all your expectations, it means for us we reached our target.

Looking forward to welcome you once more time when you will plan a trip to Italy, we remain with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

In October I spent a week in lovely Rome with my wife and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is located outside the city center but with easy access to tourist attractions by bus, train and metro. We enjoyed staying in a neighborhood among ordinary Romans. The room was fine, breakfast was super and the staff professional and always ready to help.
When we had checked in at the airport, I discovered that I forgot my handmade umbrella from London, but all it took was a phone call to the hotel. They found the umbrella and then sent it to me at home.
My best recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fstenz0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Its sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we are delighted to let our team know that you found their service to be faultless. We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because we are persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.

The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum. It could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from the north bound to the south bound is almost of 45 km. The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time
We appreciate your comment about the service provided on the forgotten umbrella, because we have been happy to deliver it to your home address.
Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Italy, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from 25/10/2013-28/10/2013 and were really surprised at how much we enjoyed this hotel.
Reception staff could not have been more helpful and polite. Very nice! They are also open 24hrs which is very good. Same for the bar next to it.
Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, pastries, toast, selection of meats/cheese's, fruit and cold/hot drinks.
Our room was a good size with a balcony and flat screen TV. We had tea/coffee facilities, bath robes, slippers and hair dryer. Bathroom was also equipped with shower gel, soap, shaving facilities etc.
There is a busstop at the end of the road which is about a 10 minute ride to the Colosseum. The area isn't great at night - only two restaurants close by. We only visitied one which was very nice, we went back again the next night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to women travelling alone as there are a lot of homeless people around and I generally didn't get a safe vibe outside of the hotel... Although this isn't the hotel's fault.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenI131110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much indeed about your nice survey about your recent stay with us and as you perfectly wrote our Hot Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us.
I’d only remind all followers, you booked an executive room more equipped than the standard room with bathrobes, slippers, Illy coffe Expresso Machine, free WI-FI, free Garage and in-courtyard facing balcony at only € 15,00 per day more.
All the standard rooms are furnished with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, real eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Concerning some home–less founded during the day near Hotel, I would like to explain to all readers, there is a House of Mercy on Via Assisi, (same street) therefore they comes every day for lunch and dinner time, but nothing happen to our Guests since the opening of the Holiday Inn Rome San Giovanni 11 years ago, even during the night time. They are only poor unfortunate people not dangerous in any sense. It is absolutely safe!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late October. No complaints. Staff very friendly and property clean. Lovely courtyard in the center. Nice to relax with cocktail after a day of sightseeing. Close to bus to take you into the tourist zone. We actually were happy not to be right in the mayhem that is Rome central. We found the suburban neighbourhood safe and found lots of options for dining within walking distance. Internet was not included and pricey. Breakfast was very nice and had lots of options. Easy train ride to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanaimoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me express my deep satisfaction concerning your precious world used to describe your stay with us, real reason to us continue this way!
Please also note in the H.I. Express brand the internet connection is provided as complimentary service only to Gold / Platinum IHG Rewards Members, for the Base Members the WI-FI connection is on charge until the end of 2013 but from Jan. the 1st, 2014 will be free even for them: this is our way to upgrade the Customers for their fidelity.

For all the other Guest not IHG Member the internet wireless Wi-Fi 20 Mg. connection network service costs € 11,00 for 24 hours service with taxes included and is very appreciated from all our business Travelers, but if you will need less connection the fare are as follow:

€ 2,00 1 half hours
€ 4,00 1 hour
€ 7,00 3 hours
€ 11,00 24 hours

Looking forward to welcome you back, I remain with
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had no complaints about the room or service. The hotel staff were both friendly and helpful, the only draw back was its location to downtown Rome. A short bus or subway ride will get you to the main attractions, but if you have anything early to do, you are going to need a taxi. Again not expensive, but not convenient either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atcretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me thank you to reserve you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni and I’m really proud our Staff have been able to satisfy all your needs, but let me please explain something on your note as regards the distance from the Down Town area.
Doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.

Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group. It means we guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills.

The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum. It could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from east side of the city to the west side of the G.R.A. (Highways ring road), is about 35 miles (55 km.)
The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to the only world known Eternal City.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#155 of 1,261 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#95 of 1,261 in Rome
872 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#263 of 1,261 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
Address: Via Assisi, 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rome
#54 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#151 Family Hotel in Rome
#268 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to qualified and multilingual Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. The Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. far from the Coloseum, the real Rome's heartbeat. The most important Sightseeings are reachable by metro in about 15/20 min. ride from the station of Pontelungo, far from here only 750 m. Recently built and totally renovated, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, 32" flat TV set with international channels, direct dial telephone, self-control air conditioning/heating system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers at the toilettes, bidet and shower choosen to protect the environment. A complimentary Hot American Breakfst Buffet allows to choose among over 100 products, many of them daily home - made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. We are really proud to announce the new opening of the In-House Restaurant, thus ours Guests would be able to enjoy the real homemade Italian cuisine together with International flavors. High speed internet Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the structure. We also offer a private garage with direct lift to the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing