We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
Ranked #217 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Every year we come back to celebrate new year!!!We are addicted to this hotel because of the nearby trainstation, the easy way for going to the city centre by bus 85 or 16 or by tube punto lungo.Breakfast is rich with eggs and bacon en very tastfull bread. My wife is crazy of the every day fresh sweeties. Room is very comfortable and the staff is very helpfull. Try also the apero hour at this hotel and the nearby restaurant c'era una volta: delicous focaccia

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kameel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
let me first express my acknowledgments for you kind review upon your recent stay with us, it is for us reason of proud to carry on this way because the Guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
As you perfectly wrote our Hot Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us with daily home-made pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants, added to more than 100 items at disposal on our Buffet always in room rate complimentary!
Really proud to be your hotel of choice during all these years to celebrate the New Year Eve, I look forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will decide to come to Rome.
Yours’ faithfully.

Roberto Cangrande
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel at the end of October for 4 nights. We found this hotel to be great! The staff were super friendly and even helped us a little with simple Italian Phrases. We had a great room with a Balcony and although we had a view of the Tuscolana Train Station we could not hear ANY noise from the trains when they doors were closed. It was quite relaxing to be honest listening to the trains going past in the evening when we opened the doors. The rooms were nice and spacious and the same with the bathrooms. The Breakfast was good although i struggled cooking the bread in the bread machine as it wasn't cooking. Another thing, WE LOVED YOUR PINEAPPLE JUICE and TEA and lived on them while in Rome. The area we found okay as 19 yr old girls travelling as a group of 4 we felt safe in the area. The Metro - Furio Campillo ( i think it was) was only a 10 minute walk away. I think Ponte lungo is closer but couldn't seem to find it. it took us about 10 minutes on the metro to get to Termini and the metro was easy to get your head around. If we came back to Rome which we hope to do in a few years time we won't hesitate to book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I’ve really appreciate your kind words to describe the skill of our Staff and all the amenities our Hotel offers.
We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because we are persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.
The complimentary Hot American Buffet Breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with a choice among over 100 daily fresh products is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our Guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for the price. It is easy to get to from Ciampino airport - a €1.50 bus to the nearest Metro station, then a few stops to Ponte Lungo, an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. There is also Tuscolana train station nearby. Ponte Lungo is on the A line which goes to most main attractions so it's easy to get around. I noted the reviews about the noisy train line, but our room was right next to the tracks and it didn't really bother us as there is double glazing, Sundays there are hardly any trains and not too many at other times either. Ask for a courtyard-facing room to avoid trains altogether. Our trackside room was right at the back of the hotel so it's quite a trek from reception, but not a problem for us. There are vending machines for drinks and snacks which came in handy.
There is not a lot to do around the hotel like restaurants, cafes etc but we found a great late night Italian takeaway on the main road near the Metro.
The room was spotless with all essentials and good heating/aircon. Huge, comfy bed! Staff were very friendly and helpful - the free map was a lifesaver and they printed some tickets for us no questions aasked. My only advice would be don't fly with Ryanair!!! We had awful flights both ways. This is a great base if you'll be out sightseeing all day anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We can't tell you how much we appreciate the kind review of our hotel. It is always nice to hear how well our guests are treated by our associates and we focus on training them to provide each guest with a pleasant stay.
We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed a couple of nights. It is a nice hotel away from main Rome attractions, but close to train station (a few blocks).
Likes: Cost is lower than other more popular areas, breakfast was good with fair variety of food, pretty clean, service seems nice for Rome. Fairly close to train station.
Dislikes: Walls are thin and bathroom is small, internet connection was not great (had to resign in frequently), away from main Rome attractions (which could be a plus for others).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sactokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Let me express my gratitude for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in Rome and your enjoyment of the service provided, but let me sincere with you: I really don’t understand your point of view:
You start your review telling everybody how nice was our Hotel, with a good balance between costs and customer satisfaction, than you dislikes the location far away from the main Rome attractions. These two claims are conflicting.
Please note the Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. from the real Rome’s Heartbeat: the Coliseum! It means it could be absolutely considered central located, in view of Rome is about 45 Km. wide from north bound to south bound.

To let you understand better what I mean, our location into the City of Rome is comparable to the Area 1 of the City of London.

Doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices, I kindly invite you to read what the other Guests write about us.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.
Bus line 85 also joins the Hotel with the central railway station “Termini” and the bus stop is located at only 1 block away.
Regarding your complain about the internet connection, we provide a ADSL WI-FI throughout the Hotel, fast and capable enough to guarantee to down load e-mails or upload photos, but some break-down of the system could happen due to the massive number of people at the same time (please note we host almost 300 people every days).

Hoping have been enough clear with my explanation, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Nice hotel! Rooms are clean and modern. Lobby area and dining area are both very nice and clean. Breakfast is great with good selection and service. Location is pretty far from the main attractions but easy to overcome if you don't mind walking a few blocks to the train or subway stations. The area is safe for walking even late in to the evenings / early morning. All of the locals were very nice and helpful.

Only two minor comments regarding this stay. One young lady at the front desk was not very talkative. She was not rude or unaccommodating but was short and direct. The rest of the staff was very respectful, responsive and engaging. And second, the thermostats in both of the rooms did not seem to work. The weather was cold outside and the rooms were too warm no matter how low you set the thermostat. We opened the window over the terrace and it was then very pleasant so it wasn't really a problem.

All in all it is a great stay and good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gclubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review about your recent stay with us because it seems we have been able to satisfy mostly of your needs.

Please accept my apologize in regard to the rude or unaccommodating behavior of one attendant at the Reception Desk, please rest assured I’ll keep into deep this matter to find out who wasn’t polite enough!

Regarding your note about the heating system, I’d like to remind we were all at your disposal for any kind of information even to explain how it works; I guess why you didn’t ask at the Reception.
Anyway the self control system gives you the choice to increase or decrease the temperature of 3 Celsius degree and to adjust the air flow from maximum to minimum, but accordingly to the Law, but is not possible to turn it to complete stop because an air renewal is compulsory.

Looking forward to welcome once more as favorite Guest, I remain with kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is close to transportation to get you to city centre and all attractions. The room was nice, clean, and modern. The breakfast was excellent. The reception area was friendly and helpful with tourist information. They were especially wonderful in arranging tours for Rome and The Vatican City. Thanks a lot. Can't wait for next vacation here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlynPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Esteem Guest
Let me thank a lot for your kind evaluation of the services provided during your recent stay with us, a real drive for all of us to continue this way.

I’ll be pleased to supervise personally your next reservation here, do not forget to address me it!

We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and looking forward to welcome as favorite Guest, I remain with kind regards.


Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and very helpful from the moment I arrived until departure a few days later. They were especially helpful in arranging tours of Rome and the Vatican. The room was modern, clean and the breakfast was excellent. While there were only a few restaurants in the area, on the plus side the hotel is a five-minute walk from the Tusculana train station (on the line to the main airport) and a bus stop and metro station for a short ride into the center of Rome. All-in-all, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkilgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear ValuedGuest,
let me express my deep satisfaction knowing we have been able to gratify all your expectations, it means for us we reached our target.

Looking forward to welcome you once more time when you will plan a trip to Italy, we remain with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#154 of 1,271 in Rome
1,306 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,271 in Rome
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
983 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Address: Via Assisi, 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rome
#125 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#151 Family Hotel in Rome
#268 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to qualified and multilingual Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. The Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. far from the Coloseum, the real Rome's heartbeat. The most important Sightseeings are reachable by metro in about 15/20 min. ride from the station of Pontelungo, far from here only 750 m. Recently built and totally renovated, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, 32" flat TV set with international channels, direct dial telephone, self-control air conditioning/heating system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers at the toilettes, bidet and shower choosen to protect the environment. A complimentary Hot American Breakfst Buffet allows to choose among over 100 products, many of them daily home - made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. We are really proud to announce the new opening of the In-House Restaurant, thus ours Guests would be able to enjoy the real homemade Italian cuisine together with International flavors. High speed internet Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the structure. We also offer a private garage with direct lift to the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing