We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
359
512
185
48
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
512
185
48
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsponte lungotuscolana stationtrain noisehi expressoverlooking the courtyardbus stophotel is locatedyogurtminute walkresidential areafiumicino airportexecutive roombreakfast was excellentmain attractionsvery nice hotelpublic transportationlate at night
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly I want to inform everyone hotel is not in the city it's a residential area and has graffiti everywhere. Staff are very cold! Walking through the neighborhood gave me the creeps. I do not recommend this hotel. Rooms were average. If you want a fun experience in Rome without spending 40 euros a day on taxi to go in and out of the city go closer to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vict0riaAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I’m afraid to read you didn’t like your stay with us for several reasons, but I really don’t understand your arguments.

The area is a residential district usually very quiet, absolutely safe at day and night time and concerning the graffiti, the centre of Rome is like any other capital city of Europe, with the striking conflict between the historic monuments and the modern life.

You wrote on your profile you live in New York, therefore you should know what does it mean to live in a crowdy city so I don’t hide my surprise when you wrote “has graffiti everywhere” because you should be used to them.

All the details, furnitures and amenities of our Hotel are clearly written on our web-site, so you should be aware before to book at the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni.

Let me explain to all Tripadvisors’ Readers, IHG family is composed from many kind of Hotel services, from InterContinental (5 stars), Crowne Plaza (4 stars sup.), Holiday Inn (4 stars) and finally the Holiday Inn Express as 3 stars.
Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group.
We guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills. This allow us to be very competitive in price range.

Doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices, I kindly invite you to read what the other Guests write about us.

Probably you should book at the InterContinental Hotel De La Ville, located in Piazza di Spagna, but certainly the room rate would be different.

Our Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. from the real Rome’s Heartbeat: the Coliseum! It means it could be absolutely considered central located, in view of Rome is about 45 Km. wide from north bound to south bound.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.
Bus line 85 also joins the Hotel with the central railway station “Termini” and the bus stop is located at only 1 block away.

The rooms are not average but all refreshed in 2012. All the 120 rooms are equipped with open wardrobe, the bedside table are made without drawers because the average stay is of 1 and ½ days but offers the same high standard furniture, with modern interior design with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Wi-Fi connection is available all through the Hotel and the web-site PressReader allows to follow free of charge more than 2000 world-wide on-line newspaper.

Last but not least, you wrote the staff are very cold, but it doesn’t mean anything, please be so kind to give more details about this in order to investigate and find out the problem if a problem there is.

I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Kind regards.


Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived late friday night and were very pleasently greeted as platinum members! Our accomidations were very nice and we had no probelm sleeping the night away! The free breakfast was unbelievable! Lots of Breakfast/Deli meats, breads and pastries. The breakfast support staff was out in force cleaning as the previous eaters left the tables.

The hotel is 200m from the bus, 300m from the train and 10 minutes from the Metro making it quite easy to get around the city of Rome. This was our first stay at this hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Esteemed Guest,
Let me express my acknowledgment to your sage worlds to descried the area where the Hotel is located, because mostly of the Travelers are only “Tourist” not used to escape from their tiny village and they are usual to describe the location as a suburb far away from everything, but it not true.
As you perfectly wrote our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included.
We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and look forward to welcoming you back.



Roberto Cangrande
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, San Giovanni on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th of May 2014. The staff at the reception were extremely helpful. The bus stop was a short walk from the hotel. The metro station is a good 10 minute walk and we found it more convenient to go to all the major tourist attractions as it was way faster than the bus. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous. There is a great Panini place close to the hotel and its a must visit in our opinion. We were frequent visitors here as it was the only place close by which used to be open past 11.00 pm. and serving great sandwiches. All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
let me first express my acknowledgments for you kind review upon your recent stay with us, it is for us reason of proud to carry on this way because the Guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
as you perfectly wrote our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included.

Once again thank you for your review and for staying with us.
Kind Regards



Roberto Cangrande
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location location location. We went here for 3 nights following a cruise. Hotel is only 300 m from the train that
comes from cruise port and same station to get a train to airport. A little farthur to the metro but close enough. The breakfast was great. Nice room large by European standards. We had absolutely no issue with anything at this hotel. Clean convenient,friendly, all speak English. Do go here

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Let me express my deep satisfaction concerning your precious world used to describe your stay with us, real reason to us continue this way!
As you perfectly wrote, the Hotel location is absolutely the in town among the Holiday Inn Hotels if you need to go and come from the Port of Civitavecchia (Cruise Port) or go and come from the International Airport.
To go and come to the Cruise Port there is a very useful train connection almost every hour from the Train Station “Roma Tuscolana”, back of the Hotel, at only € 15,00 each for almost 55 miles.
To go and come to the International Airport there is a train connection every 20 minutes (mid-week) and every 30 minutes (week-end) from the same Train Station “Roma Tuscolana” at only € 8,00 each for almost 22 miles.

We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and look forward to welcoming you back.




Roberto Cangrande
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We got this room on a blind booking on Hotwire. This is a very nice hotel, and we enjoyed our stay here. Excellent price for 3 nights in Rome.

Very quiet and clean. Big rooms for Europe. Very safe area about a 3 block walk from the metro.

Best metro station to get off is Ponte Lungo. When you get off, walk downhill down Via Gela. Stop for pizza at Voglia de Pizza, (seriously, worth it), then continue until you get to Tuscolana (first busy cross street). Turn right, go through tunnel under train tracks for 1 block. Turn Left on Via Assisi. Hotel is at top of hill. The reason you should note the directions is that the street name change at Tuscolana. On one side the name is Assisi and the other is Veturia. It make map following difficult.

Hotel breakfast is really first rate. Highly recommend it. Better than at a HIExpress in the US.

Internet is good, but in a distant room I could not connect. I had to walk back hallway to get on.

Ask for a courtyard room, they have some with balcony's. Back of hotel is a train stop. There are trains going by all the time, and occasionally freight comes in at night. No a huge issue for us, but we are pretty good sleepers. with the windows open you can hear the recorded announcements.

Very fluent in English and helpful.
Nice hotel, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Train Yard is to back of hotel. Ask for a courtyard room with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much indeed about your nice survey about your recent stay with us and as you perfectly wrote our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included.

Regarding the train stop back of hotel, I assure you the trains run from 5.30 a.m. to 10.30 p.m, because they are not allow to run crossing the City Centre during the night hours.

Anyways all guestrooms are fitted with double glazed window to avoid nay noise coming from outside.

Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I wish you all the best.

Faithfully Yours.


Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews