We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
Ranked #223 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

When the hotel we thought we had booked for 5 nights in Rome failed to have our reservation, we took this 3 star Holiday Inn as a last minute booking. It couldn't have been better - walking distance to bus, metro and train. Modern rooms, many breakfast options, a nice bar with happy hour, and helpful front desk staff that spoke English made this a great stay for my husband and me and another couple.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired6812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
let me first express my acknowledgments for you kind review upon your recent stay with us, it is for us reason of proud to carry on this way because the Guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will travel to Rome, I wish you all the best.

Faithfully Yours.

Roberto Cangrande
Sales Manager
Holidayu Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    424
    145
    36
    7
See reviews for
173
404
54
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very good hotel and reasonably convenient for metro system.
Breakfast was excellent, and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Although situated alongside a main railway line, we were not bothered by noise from the trains.
The overall facilities were good, although when busy, the reception area lacked sufficient seating




Room Tip: Only thing missing was a Kettle and tea/coffee making facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank JimRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me express my satisfaction reading your kind words used to describe the Staff skill as well as the convenient hotel location.
I’m afraid about the lack of seating in the Hotel lobby but it is absolutely unusual all the Customers would like to sit down simultaneously in the Lobby, even because we cannot have available more than 300 chairs available, one for each Guest.
Anyway in case the Lobby is full you can sit in the Gazebo Lounge with armchairs and TV set as well or the inner-courtyard, very appreciated to take a rest after a sightseeing tour in the crouwdy centre of Rome.
Hoping to be able to host you once again next time you will be in Rome, I remain with my best regards.



Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Firstly, the front desk personnel were cold when we first arrived. So, that was not good. However, room was of good size, clean and good in standard. Breakfast was not so good though. Quite a number of eating places with reasonable prices nearby. For the rate we paid, it was just ok for us.

Room Tip: For smokers, choose the ground level where they have a nice quiet private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maerm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us, let me assure you that what happened in your case is not typical of Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni’s level of customer service. We continue to be committed to providing you and all of our Customers with the highest standards of service in the Hospitality industry.

Probably the cold welcome you received on checking-in was due to the massive number of Guests making check-in and check-out in this time of the year, because Spring is the very high season in Rome and the Front Desk Staff was in hurry trying not to let the other Guest waiting too long.

Regarding the Hot American Buffet Breakfast you didn’t like, please note other Guests on Tripadvisor wrote it is even better the breakfast served in the USA, thus I’m totally confident in the top service we provide for free, included in each room rate.

The Hot American Buffet Breakfast allows you to choose among over 100 products, many of them freshly home made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. Oven cooked bacon, salami, turkey ham, varied of cheese, hot scramble eggs, fruit salad, variety of cereals, muesli, fruit - flavored yoghurt, jams, butter, honey, creamy chocolate, fruit juices, fresh fruits, sorted of bread, biscuits, American and barley coffee, decaf, hot chocolate drink, variety of teas, full fat and skimmed milk, espresso and cappuccino are always served.

Hoping you will give us a second chance, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We book our trip thru Groupon so we had no say in the hotel we stayed at. We were pleasantly surprised at the nice accommodations. While not in downtown, it's very close to public transportation which was very easy to maneuver. The staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was more the suitable and met all our dietary needs (I'm gluten free). There were tons of items to choose from, including yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, eggs, cheese, etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you state "smoking or non-smoking". We actually had a smoking room because non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivebz1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you very much indeed about your nice survey about your recent stay with us and as you perfectly wrote our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included.

Looking forward to welcome you back I beg to accept my best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly I want to inform everyone hotel is not in the city it's a residential area and has graffiti everywhere. Staff are very cold! Walking through the neighborhood gave me the creeps. I do not recommend this hotel. Rooms were average. If you want a fun experience in Rome without spending 40 euros a day on taxi to go in and out of the city go closer to the city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vict0riaAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I’m afraid to read you didn’t like your stay with us for several reasons, but I really don’t understand your arguments.

The area is a residential district usually very quiet, absolutely safe at day and night time and concerning the graffiti, the centre of Rome is like any other capital city of Europe, with the striking conflict between the historic monuments and the modern life.

You wrote on your profile you live in New York, therefore you should know what does it mean to live in a crowdy city so I don’t hide my surprise when you wrote “has graffiti everywhere” because you should be used to them.

All the details, furnitures and amenities of our Hotel are clearly written on our web-site, so you should be aware before to book at the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni.

Let me explain to all Tripadvisors’ Readers, IHG family is composed from many kind of Hotel services, from InterContinental (5 stars), Crowne Plaza (4 stars sup.), Holiday Inn (4 stars) and finally the Holiday Inn Express as 3 stars.
Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group.
We guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills. This allow us to be very competitive in price range.

Doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices, I kindly invite you to read what the other Guests write about us.

Probably you should book at the InterContinental Hotel De La Ville, located in Piazza di Spagna, but certainly the room rate would be different.

Our Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. from the real Rome’s Heartbeat: the Coliseum! It means it could be absolutely considered central located, in view of Rome is about 45 Km. wide from north bound to south bound.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.
Bus line 85 also joins the Hotel with the central railway station “Termini” and the bus stop is located at only 1 block away.

The rooms are not average but all refreshed in 2012. All the 120 rooms are equipped with open wardrobe, the bedside table are made without drawers because the average stay is of 1 and ½ days but offers the same high standard furniture, with modern interior design with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Wi-Fi connection is available all through the Hotel and the web-site PressReader allows to follow free of charge more than 2000 world-wide on-line newspaper.

Last but not least, you wrote the staff are very cold, but it doesn’t mean anything, please be so kind to give more details about this in order to investigate and find out the problem if a problem there is.

I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Kind regards.


Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived late friday night and were very pleasently greeted as platinum members! Our accomidations were very nice and we had no probelm sleeping the night away! The free breakfast was unbelievable! Lots of Breakfast/Deli meats, breads and pastries. The breakfast support staff was out in force cleaning as the previous eaters left the tables.

The hotel is 200m from the bus, 300m from the train and 10 minutes from the Metro making it quite easy to get around the city of Rome. This was our first stay at this hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Esteemed Guest,
Let me express my acknowledgment to your sage worlds to descried the area where the Hotel is located, because mostly of the Travelers are only “Tourist” not used to escape from their tiny village and they are usual to describe the location as a suburb far away from everything, but it not true.
As you perfectly wrote our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included.
We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and look forward to welcoming you back.



Roberto Cangrande
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, San Giovanni on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th of May 2014. The staff at the reception were extremely helpful. The bus stop was a short walk from the hotel. The metro station is a good 10 minute walk and we found it more convenient to go to all the major tourist attractions as it was way faster than the bus. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous. There is a great Panini place close to the hotel and its a must visit in our opinion. We were frequent visitors here as it was the only place close by which used to be open past 11.00 pm. and serving great sandwiches. All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
let me first express my acknowledgments for you kind review upon your recent stay with us, it is for us reason of proud to carry on this way because the Guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
as you perfectly wrote our Hot American Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us, although please remember it is always in room rate included.

Once again thank you for your review and for staying with us.
Kind Regards



Roberto Cangrande
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#278 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#111 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Esquilino
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#143 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
Address: Via Assisi, 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rome
#70 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#151 Family Hotel in Rome
#268 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to qualified and multilingual Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. The Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. far from the Coloseum, the real Rome's heartbeat. The most important Sightseeings are reachable by metro in about 15/20 min. ride from the station of Pontelungo, far from here only 750 m. Recently built and totally renovated, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, 32" flat TV set with international channels, direct dial telephone, self-control air conditioning/heating system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers at the toilettes, bidet and shower choosen to protect the environment. A complimentary Hot American Breakfst Buffet allows to choose among over 100 products, many of them daily home - made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. We are really proud to announce the new opening of the In-House Restaurant, thus ours Guests would be able to enjoy the real homemade Italian cuisine together with International flavors. High speed internet Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the structure. We also offer a private garage with direct lift to the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing