We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room/service, excellent staff... BEWARE of the old man”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Ranked #1,068 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
2 reviews
“Amazing room/service, excellent staff... BEWARE of the old man”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My parents and I were on our first vacation to Rome. Our choice for the hotel was based on location and others' reviews on this website. 

When we arrived at reception, we were led to our stay which was located a bit down the block from reception. We ordered the two-room suite for 5 nights for 3 people. The suite is immaculate, with a jacuzzi and a full kitchen, although the stove does not work or is not meant to work, it's still nice to have a kitchen. The staff was warm and helpful.

Our only complaint is the troll-like old man who apparently is the owner's father and feels like the staff is not up to par on their duties, constantly ordering them around when they are busy with other duties and being rude and disrespectful in general. Perhaps that is old school Italian that I am not familiar with but why get pissy with guests who are spending quite a large sum of money staying at your hotel?

However.... On our fourth day's stay, I wanted an extra cappuccino for me and my mother. We had one each. The old man started counting in Italian and looking very angry. I do not speak Italian but took Latin in school. There were two other guests around who did speak Italian and he started mocking me and my family in Italian to them with me standing there! One of the guests said that only two was included with the meal. I then inquired, ok well i only had one. He then put his hand to his cheek and made a gesture to suggest that we were thick-skinned and mentioned two words that I did understand. Familiae and Cinese. Family and Chinese.. Perhaps I looked young (im a Wall St professional and could have recommended colleagues to stay there on trips) and did not speak the language so he thought it okay to call me and my family names. If he wanted me to pay for the extra cappuccino, he could have just explained and told me how much it cost... It was an unnecessarily degrading experience.

I still would recommend this hotel as the other staff was very accommodating, the rooms are of good value, and the location is prime... but I hope that the owner takes note that the hotel will lose lots of business because of the busy old man running around.

One thing I noticed that was quite funny was that some napkins had inconsistent folds on them, meaning somebody (probably the cheap old man), took the un-used (hopefully) off the table guests left and put them back in the napkin pile! I actually had no problem with this as times are tough and napkins are napkins, they wipe, folded or not.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chendere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    88
    46
    26
    44
See reviews for
63
92
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My main criteria for booking this hotel was the location (3 blocks from a subway station and a short 5-minute walk to the Vatican) as well as the rate compared to similar class hotels around Rome. I paid €95 per night for three nights early September 2010.

Hotel easy to find, swift check-in. The room was in a building about 100 yards from the reception in a nearby street. Although close to the Vatican, the immediate neighbourhood is really quiet. The room was a nice surprise, very clean, furnished in a 18th century style with elegant color schemes (dark blue rug, golden walls, brown furniture, old drawings, etc.).

The bathroom was a big letdown though. The shower was tiny, with an extra long curtain closing half of the opening and a sliding door closing the other half. Nothing in the shower to hold soap or shampoo... and you can't bend since it's tiny. I let you imagine how awkward it was!

Slight issues with the power plugs, very dingy and not all of them working.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was very nice. Lots of different, warm pastries.

Overall a great place to stay, I just hope they make an effort on the bathroom. I would definitely return there for my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We visted Les Chambres d'or Hotel in 2004 and 2006 with friends and we had such a fabulous time the hotel was so friendly.On both occasions we were greeted by Sam who sat us down and made us cappacino's before showing us to our rooms. We went home and reccomended the hotel to friends who also visted in 2007 and had a great time. My Husband and I decided to return this year for our honeymoon as we knew that we were guaranteed to be looked after and have decent accomadation, However we couldn't be more wrong we were hugely disappointed! We had emailed 3 months prior to our visit explaining we were returning for and 3rd visit and this time for our honeymoon could we have a nice room. Our room was very small compared to rooms we had stayed in before, the bathroom was damp, the shower was broken (when asked to be fixed it was gaffa taped) wallpaper and paint was peeling off the walls however it had air conditioning which was very much needed. We had breakfast in the Rendevous cafe, the staff pretty much ignored us and we felt were quite rude, when on previous visits we had been seated offered coffee and pastries instead now we were pointed in the direction of luke warm coffee in a maker and dried bits of bread and pastries. This was all such a disappointment, however the location was perfect for us to escape into the romance of Rome.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We had 2 rooms - a double & a quad. Chose this hotel as we only had one full day in Rome & it was a stone's throw from the Vatican - EXCELLENT location. We were in one block & my parents in another acrioss the street. Both rooms were very nicely furnished although they had a tiny shower. Breakfast was fine. This was a good choice but not the hotel for you if you like 5 star luxury & being waited on hand and foot !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

A driver from Les Chambres picked us up from Ciampino for €50 and brought us to the Hotel. For our family of 2 adults and 3 kids it was perfect in that it was clean and everything worked well. It is very well located in that it is a short stroll from the Vatican and there are great restaurants close by. If I were going to Rome with my wife I would opt for some more luxury but for 5 of us in one room, it was very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, while I was in Rome on city sightseeing.
The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Vatican and about 10 minutes walk from Ottaviano Tube station. It had a characteristic of a small family hotel.
The reception and the restaurant were in the same room. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke English very well.
The room itself was located in the building across the street. It was small but nicely decorated with old fashioned furniture. In the room was Tv, phone and fridge with minibar. The bathroom was small with shower.
The hotel had a wired internet connection.
The breakfast was in Swedish buffet style, with great choice of bread, croissants, cheese, jam, fresh fruit and terrific cappuccino.
I would definetely stay again

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We had originally booked to stay somewhere else, but, the day before we travelled, I had an email to say the air conditioning had broken and we had to stay someone else. I stressed to start with as we had trawled through 1000's of hotels to choose the hotel we were originally going to stay in. I have no idea what that hotel would have been like, but the Les Chambres d'Or was lovely. The reception staff were very helpful, the room was small but very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom, again, was small, but had a lovely shower and plenty of hot water. The rooms are across the road from reception and the restaurant, but that isn't a problem. The breakfast was lovely. Pastries, meats, fruit and yoghurts. Coffee and tea, juice available too. The hotel is central and not far from the Vatican area. There was air conditioning. The windows are double glazed and there was sometimes some noise from the street clearner in the early hours, but I think you would hear that whatever hotel you were staying in. July is very hot and perhaps not the best time to visit, but if you are ok with air conditioning (which I am not!) then you would have a good night's sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanaryFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Vatican Garden Inn
Vatican Garden Inn
#1,099 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#556 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#499 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Pietrino
#546 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#736 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#663 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres d'Or Hotel

Property: Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Address: Via Dei Gracchi 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,068 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Les Chambres d'Or Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Les Chambres d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Chambres d Or Hotel
Hotel Les Chambres d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing