We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capo d'Africa 4 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #941 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had a great stay at the b&b! Luca and Namal the housekeeper were genuinely warm and friendly and helpful. The place itself is exceptionally clean and tasteful. I had the white room with a shared bathroom that was always clean and well stocked with necessities like soap. Highly recommended, especially for budget travelers who want a pleasant, well furnished and designed place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Capo d'Africa 4 Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

I heartily agree with the other reviews, especially "Family of 9," which gives all the details that anyone would want to know about this apartment. Our group of six, three generations, stayed comfortably in the three bedrooms. Since we had leased the apartment for the week, breakfast was not provided. This was not a problem since the children needed a protein-rich start to the day and a market was just around the corner. My husband and I stayed two extra nights in the room with private bath. Breakfast was available then, but we opted to set out early and sample the local caffè bars.

Luca was very helpful. We were in phone/email contact at the time of our reservation and just before our arrival. He set up transportation from the airport for our children and grandchildren (55 euro vs 56 euro for them to take the fast train in from the airport to Termini).

I had stayed in another apartment in this neighborhood 3 years ago. Although it was satisfactory, Capo d'Africa 4 was far superior. Since it is located on the back side of the neighborhood toward the Palatine Hill, it is quieter than other apartments in the area.

Several reviewers commented about the size of the rooms. We also were pleasantly surprised by the size of the bedrooms. European apartments and many hotel rooms are not as large as their American equivalents, and it is difficult to find a double family hotel room for an affordable price. That is why we chose Capo d'Africa. It accommodated our group; was clean, comfortable, and attractive; had kitchen and laundry facilities; was in a great location; and was affordable.

Room Tip: A single couple should choose the purple room with private bath.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I am so happy we stayed here when we visited Rome prior to a cruise. Staff is absolutely perfect. The hotel is so very nice and during breakfast, you can see the Colosseum. Breakfast is fantastic. I do not have one negative thing to say about this place. I am disabled and they did absolutely everything it took to make me comfortable. They will make sure you don't miss one single highlight of Rome and have a shuttle w/guide for the Vatican. Love, love, love, love this place. Located in a very, very safe neighborhood and lots of cafe's. I cannot say enough great things about this place and location. We also took their advice and hired a guide for one full day and this was the best advice ever. We would have never seen all we saw without this guide. Some people think by hiring a guide is too expensive, but if you have to guess, find, and spend most of your day getting to places; you really don't save as much as you think. GREAT HOTEL!

Room Tip: all rooms are just fine. They helped me with a larger room due to my disability
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Green Room. The room was spacious, very clean and felt very welcoming! Thete was a double bed & single bed in room but room still very spacious! The location was fantastic,couldn't have asked for better. My only suggestion to Luca would be the breakfast, needs revamping! Unfortunately we didn't have the fresh fruit replenished and the fruit juices were consumed by the other guests and not replaced, same with fresh milk! This i feel is the maids downfall & not Luca's. Like i said,would definitely stay again but disappointed with breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in the huge Green room for three nights in late Oct 2012. It has a very nice shared bath. Luca was very helpful at check-in and we never saw him again! He gives you keys to the front building door, the apartment front door, and your room. The fully equipped kitchen is your to use and they provide simple dry cereals, fruits, and prepackage croissant for breakfast. Jugs of milk and juices are in the refrigerator. Wifi is free and bookshelves are full of travel books....mostly in Italian of course!!

Room Tip: The white room has a great lounge chair! The green and purple room faces the quite street and the w...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Racer_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our group of 9 (dad, mom, kids aged 10,9,7,5,3,1& grandma) had a perfect stay in this apt. From the initial emails with the owner (always prompt) to the final moments of our vacation, we had everything we needed. The apartment is across the street from the Colosseum, literally a huge bonus feature to wake up to everyday. The owner organized an airport pickup/drop off for us (reasonably priced and prompt). The apartment is not huge, but the bedrooms are large. You enter the building door to a stairwell. Go up 1 flight of stairs (no lift) and you come to the front door of the apt. The door opens to a rectagular hallway with two bedrooms on your left (one with a en suite bathroom) and one on the right. At the end of the hallway to the right is the dining room. Through the dining room is the kitchen, and the door to a small balcony. Through the kitchen is the second full bathroom. All rooms have very high ceilings. My mom and two daughters shared the purple room with en suite bath. Mom slept on the twin bed, and the girls shared the king size bed. Our four boys shared the green room, where there is a king size bed & a twin. The owner added a crib for our 1 year old, and there was still plenty of floor space in the room. My husband and I stayed in the white room, with a comfortable queen size bed. All linens were provided. The second bathroom (off the kitchen) made showers, etc..easily managable. The kitchen was fully functional, with oven, range, electric water kettle, espresso machine, coffee pot & toaster. There is no microwave. There are plenty of dishes, cups, utensils, etc...We also gratefully used the clothes washing machine (out on the balcony). In lieu of a dryer is a clothes line (most people hang dry). Since there is not a separate living room, the common room is the dining room; we found it sufficient as a gathering place for meals and chatting, and enjoyed the use of free internet and printing. The kids watched Italian cartoons (DVD) on the large flat screen TV in the green room (all rooms have TVs). The apartment was safe, quiet & clean. There is also a playground around the corner with a swingset and play structure. Two grocery stores are within a 2 minute walk. Taxis, buses & trams are in front of the building. The Colosseo metro line is a short walk around the Colosseum. The district has many small pubs, trattorias, tabbachi shops, etc. All in all, a great place to come home to after full days of sight seeing. Thank you Luca!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPhilipCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here 3 nights with the intentions of getting to know Rome. We couldnt have chosen better. The location was great and the place was superb. We forgot one of our bags in the shuttle from the airport and we were very upset. Since we didnt speak any italian, Luca offered his help and phoned different companies and eventually we got our bag back. It was this personal detail that made us feel at home. We definetely recommend this place and we would love to be back some time soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodolfo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#697 of 1,267 in Rome
138 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#562 of 1,267 in Rome
221 reviews
Monti
Residence Maximus
Residence Maximus
#2,699 of 3,712 in Rome
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Colosseum B
Colosseum B
#351 of 3,712 in Rome
256 reviews
Monti
Colosseo 28
Colosseo 28
#2,212 of 3,712 in Rome
35 reviews
Monti
Parco di Nerone
Parco di Nerone
#569 of 3,712 in Rome
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa 4 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa 4 Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Capo d'Africa, 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #941 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very center of Rome, in a late XIX century building, Capo D’Africa 4 Apartment, is located in a unique and privileged position, only few meters away from Colosseo.The flat has been recently renovated saving all the originals features according to all environmental friendly techniques, there are 3 large bedrooms (one of them with private bathroom), one shared bathroom, one breakfast/dining area, one kitchen and a small balcony. Every room has its own personality. Silence and privacy are the main characteristics of the flat, for us and for the guests. The rooms are furnished with care and elegance, are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning and LCD TV, there is also a coffee corner where you can use a hot tea or herbal tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capo d'Africa 4 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing