We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and great hotel”
Review of Hotel Giorgi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giorgi
Ranked #1,061 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I went here in 2012. This is how a three star hotel should be like. Nice friendly staff. Good size rooms. Good shower room. Great breakfast, lots to choose from. Great location and quiet. Very close to termini and all the buses. Pay the extra and you wont go wrong.

Room Tip: There are no complaints about this hotel. It is great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amrik1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. Location is great..close to termini and the metro(about 2 mins walk). Plenty of restaurant choices nearby. We were on the 1st floor and stayed in a suite as we are a family of four. The room was lovely; clean and spacious. I was expecting it to be small like most hotel rooms...at least this is my experience in Italy. The bathroom was nice and clean. My only gripe was that the jacuzzi tub could do with the jets being disinfected; although as I was only expecting a shower or normal bath, it wasn't an issue. We used the shower, which was fine. The sheets were spotless and the decor nice. The breakfast was nice and plenty of it. The tea was good, perfect to start the day with. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. They always said hello, as did we, and they made the kids feel welcome. They were happy to keep our bags past checking out time. The wifi was free, although coverage was patchy, but it was a nice bonus. Price was reasonable and we would definitely recommend and stay there again. As with all cities you need to watch your valuables.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niksven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Position of hotel was excellent. Wherever you were in Rome, there was transport going to Termini which was nearby. Our room was fine and everywhere was very clean : there was also a lounge with computer and newspapers. Good breakfast which included savory as well as the inevitable sweet foods(not always the case) We did not find either the proprietor or his wife grumpy. In fact, the staff were very kind and friendly : one just needed to remember that they were human beings, not multi-lingual robots. Hotels occupying one floor of a large old building are not uncommon on the continent : as long as the lift functions satisfactorily, as this one did, what's the problem?
Should have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having read several of the reviews after booking this hotel I was really worried about all the negative reviews. Either there has been a major change of management style or I landed in a different hotel.
The grumpy old man does not exist, if you speak to him in a mannerly style he reciprocates. The remainder of the staff were excellent and chatty. The hotel was clean and tidy. Rooms are small, granted, but every hotel I have stayed in in Italy has never been huge due to the properties they tend to be in.
Breakfast was lovely and everything you wanted in a continental breakfast was there.
For the price paid I thought it was brilliant value for money.
Brilliant location for anywhere in Rome, being 100 yards from the main train and bus stations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imscots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is the worse hotel I have ever been.
I advise NOT to visit this hotel. Nearby you can find better hotels and pay the same price.
This hotel more looks like motel than 3 star hotel. It is situated in the third floor of some building. rooms are too small, you can hardly put your luggage there. there is no place to move.
street is too noisy, service is the worst I have ever seen, rooms are not clean enough, bathroom was terrible - very small and dirty. personal (maybe owner) is very rood and unfriendly. He can scream at you and it is very usual behavior for him.
Horrible service. Breakfast is not tasty. they have the worst croissants in all Rome.They have very old coffee machine and toast maker.
I recommend everyone to go somewhere else not in hotel giorgi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rositina, Direttore at Hotel Giorgi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for having spent some of your time to write a comment about your stay at our hotel.
We’ve read it carefully and first of all we would like to apologize for having failed in satisfying your expectations, still it is necessary to clear out some of the statements you have written in the review.
We gived room near your friends and the room are little bit small , but the bath room was big and clean , the lady of the cleaning rooms working here from many years and we know she works very well!,
We are very sorry of the inconvenience you have suffered and we do hope you will give us another chance to serve you; we’d like to show you our good faith and best effort!
Kind regards
Hotel Giorgi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for three nights and while it looked good on pictures in Hotels.com, it was a whole different experience in reality. The room was very basic, it was very much noise from the outside and the bathroom was a catastrophy. The warm water could not be regulated at all and it was dirty. Breakfast is awful with rock hard bread and a coffee machine from the 70's. The service is the worst part here though. The old man running the hotel is truly in the wrong business. If you don't understand he will scream at you in Italian. Don't forget to save cash money for the 2 euro per night fee that he doesn't inform you about on your check-in. Luckily we had the 12 euros necessary but if we didn't we would have missed our bus to the airport. Horrible service. Will not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZlatanPu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rositina, Direttore at Hotel Giorgi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for having spent some of your time to write a comment about your stay at our hotel.
We’ve read it carefully and first of all we would like to apologize for having failed in satisfying your expectations, still it is necessary to clear out some of the statements you have written in the review.
Sorry but wa ask you 12 Euro for the city tax!!!!!it's law in Italy, every hotel ask
We are very sorry of the inconvenience you have suffered and we do hope you will give us another chance to serve you; we’d like to show you our good faith and best effort!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My cousin & I booked an air/hotel package for this room in Hotel Giorgi and we were charged AUD200.00 per night when in fact off the street price was half that!! All this cost for the pokiest little room, difficult to move around with luggage, tiny bathroom, no view and the grumpiest, unpleasant old man at reception desk and who remained uncooperative for the whole stay! The breakfast staff were delightful in comparison! Tiny elevator that works, breakfast very good, varied and plentiful, position of hotel to Rome Termini Railway Station was excellent 5-10 minutes walk, bit longer dragging baggage over cobbled stone streets but manageable! Hotel was in close proximity to many famous sites and around the corner from the first stop for the Hop On/Hop Off tour bus - excellent way to see Rome. Hotel Giorgi was not our favourite place to stay and preferred Hotel Milani for our return overnight which was directly across the road from Giorgi!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#592 of 1,270 in Rome
756 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#1,057 of 1,270 in Rome
167 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#903 of 1,270 in Rome
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#966 of 1,270 in Rome
431 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Milo
Hotel Milo
#651 of 1,270 in Rome
282 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#954 of 1,270 in Rome
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giorgi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giorgi

Address: Via Magenta 13 | Near Termini Station, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,061 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £37 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giorgi 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giorgi's unique location allows guests to fully experience the Eternal City, as it is a family-run central 3 star hotel in Rome located a stone's throw away from the most sought-after monuments Start your day with a rich, buffet breakfast. The friendly team of staff is always on hand. They can provide you with tourist information and advice in order to make your stay in Rome extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giorgi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giorgi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing