We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here.(Family of 4) Quiet street with plenty of eating choices close by. A short walk to the Colosseum . Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Bathroom was a tad small but you expect that in Rome !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apelosi, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your time and for your good review after your journey.
YES, we always try to give the best value ever for all our guests: that is why at the beginning we try to give very convenient rates...in any case, never forget that now TripAdvisors users have a special offer: don't miss it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,468
    743
    128
    36
    12
See reviews for
507
1,278
127
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June and have since recommended it to friends. It is in a fairly quiet area within walking distance of the Coliseum and other major attractions, and there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby. There is easy access to the main railway station and underground lines. We had two good sized twin rooms which were well furnished and equipped. The staff were very helpful when I needed to receive an important fax. We expect to return to Rome sometime next year and will certainly stay at the Raffello.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Hotel Raffaello is situated in the Monti district of Rome which is a nice residential area with some nice bars and restaurants. It's really easy to walk to from the Termini about 300m, all the sights are within walking distance and you have Cavour Metro at the end of the street. The Hotel is very clean, the staff are all really pleasant and you can get a free coffee in the reception area! which we were really glad of after hours of walking and sightseing.....Breakfast is an added bonus and very nice.
The rooms are nice and the bathroom was clean, we had chocolates from the staff on our second night which was a nice touch.
Good price, good area, would definitelty recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl_nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore_Sansone, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear guest

I really thank you for your comment, expressing happiness and contentment. Now our guests, in the living room located in the lobby, along with hot drinks and coffee, will find also yeast, croissants and other goodies. Finally, for those who will do check in the morning, a refreshment corner where you can make a nice stop, maybe after a long journey. In any case we are working on that as your judgments, instead of reporting a good score to become truly excellent, by 5 points !!!

A friendly greeting and see you soon here again to Raffaello

Salvatore Sansone
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Had booked the airport transfer taxi through the hotel website and there was no issue. As agreed earlier, the taxi fare was paid in cash to the driver. The reception was fine.
Hotel rooms are small. Even though our room was facing the road, we did not have any issue with traffic or any kind of noise.
There was a heating unit in the room but that works only for 2-3 hours in the early morning and late evenings. (something like 6-9 am and 7-10 pm). Also, in our room, the radiator knob was turned off and since the first day we were not aware of the timings, we could not heat the room. We got to know how it works when we enquired after breakfast the next day. So we missed that morning heating as well. But from then on the room was cozy.
Free wi-fi is available and access can be easily gained by asking the reception for the login/password.
One thing that put me off was the toilet was stinky and definitely not sanitised. I did speak to the reception about this but they did not seem to take the criticism well. They gave a response saying rooms will be cleaned whenever we leave. I did request for them to specifically disinfect the toilet seat, but this didnt happen. I did not complain again.
We had asked for a dental kit but the hotel does not have any additional guest kits. We had basic toiletries like shower gel, shampoo, soap and we also had a vanity kit & shower caps.
Breakfast was fine, nothing remarkable but nothing to complain about either. We did ask for fried eggs (which were not on the menu) and got a rather rude response from one of the waitress. Though the other waitress was extremely polite. There are no Halal choices on the restaurant menu (this is true for most hotels across Europe). But halal eateries are close by.
The hotel is located within a 5 min walk to Cavour metro station (line B). Also, Termini is about a 10 min walk from the hotel. This proved very convenient for travelling around Rome. Colosseo is the next station to Cavour. This allowed us to take late night walks around the Colosseum when its not at all crowded and beautifully lit.
(We purchased a 3 day Roma pass for EUR 25 and this made it pretty convenient to hop on and off the buses and metros. Do note that the airport line (Leonardo express) is not covered by this pass)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhumakkadCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore_Sansone, Direttore at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest

I thank you for this long and detailed comment. I apologize if, during the stay, was disturbed by an unpleasant odor present in the bathroom, but, I assure you, that we do hygiene and cleanliness of our rooms a constant effort and attention .

In any case, by heating to the wifi service, from breakfast to our location, we can say, that, from your view, comes out a positive score against us .

We hope to host you again in our hotel

With kind regards

Salvatore Sansone
Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Alcudia, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We chose this hotel for our romantic honeymoon and it surpassed every expectation.
Situated close to two Metro and the Termini stations, this hotel is in the best location to explore this beautiful historic city. The Colosseum is just a stones throw away at the end of the road.
The staff were without exception, welcoming, friendly and polite. The room was gorgeous, decorated in a traditional way that complimented the whole ambiance of the hotel.
We came down for breakfast each day and were greeted by the waitress who offered us fresh coffee and toast, along with a lovely smile. The cold buffet had many delights to tempt you and there was also scrambled egg in the hot buffet which was usually my choice.
Free wi-fi in the rooms was a bonus and although pretty slow it allowed us to plan our next days excursions on our laptops.
I would like to thank the manager & ask him to pass on our thanks to all the staff who made our stay in you hotel the best honeymoon we could have wished for.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallorcaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I want to give this hotel a ringing endorsement, because we encountered no major problems and overall everything went fine. But compared to other hotels we stayed at in Italy, this one was by far the most impersonal. The staff pretty much just leaves you alone, which can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on your point of view! The location was also a little "iffy" for me... It is close to the Colosseum, but generally quite a long walk to most other places (Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, etc.). This was fine in the morning, but completely exhausting after a long day on your feet! We also had a strange, unpleasant smell in the bathroom that forced us to leave the window open. That said, the rates were excellent, we had a beautiful terrace, breakfast was good, and the room was clean. Overall, I would say Raffaello Hotel offers a very good value in this expensive city, although I might spend a little more next time and stay somewhere in a slightly more central location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedishBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore_Sansone, Direttore at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest

in your comment I read a lot of satisfaction in general and some regret for some details which need to reflect . I am sorry for the impression you had received from our reception department but I assure you they are wonderful people who are doing their job with great passion. it's true that in the hotel, at times, a discreet and reserved behavior can be interpreted as a cold but I assure that is not so. For the bad smell in the bathroom we have already taken all appropriate measures to prevent recurrence and also our location, in my opinion, is strategic for many excursions, but, you know, not everyone can think as I do.

Thank you again for your time spent there and I wish you to return soon in our wonderful city.

With best regards

Salvatore Sansone
Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for a romantic break away late November and found the hotel easily accessible from the termini and central to main tourist sights, and with a metro station within easy reach.

There was the added bonus of free wifi which we found very useful, and the room we had 212 was of very good size. The shower was on the small side but perfectly useable for ourselves. The only downside for us was the poor hair dryer in the bathroom and lack of ironing facilities. We would have also liked some way of making a hot drink in our room as opposed to using the reception.

Breakfast was good with wide range of choices you would expect from a continental offering. The area in the immediate vicinity of the hotel is a little less desirable but you don't have to go too far to find a decent place to eat or a good gelato!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore_Sansone, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear guest

thank you for your review. It seems to me that the stay was very pleasant . For the hair dryer we have never received complaints, the model is in use in almost all hotels but we will keep in mind your comments and, for security reasons imposed by Italian law, you cannot use the iron in the rooms. Finally we are able to offer some rooms with showers more wide.

Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future

Salvatore Sansone
Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,985 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing