We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just had a lovely 4 night stay at this great hotel . It is perfectly situated for all the sights and the quad room we had was very comfortable(2 adults and 2 teenage children) The view from the room was non existent-it over looked the back of the lift shaft area but we didn't go to Rome to spend all our time looking out the bedroom window so that is a very tiny moan. It might annoy someone else more so bear this in mind when booking. It was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff and the breakfast was delicious and filling, served by pleasant staff. There are several excellent restaurants locally ,La Vacca Briaca (Drunk Cow) was very nice and situated lower down the Via Urbana. Gallo Mato just around the corner on the Via Cavour was also really nice with a very friendly and helpful waiter. February half term is a great time to visit Rome in general as it is not over busy and We were very lucky with t-shirt weather .Very nice holiday all round.

Room Tip: Quad room on 3rd floor over looks the outside of lift shaft but is good value for families as it c...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Julie D,

Thank you for the time you have given us, and for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor, whom, as always, we would like to remind they have a special discount.

Raffaello's position is, indeed, one of our strenght points- situated in the Monti district, the most ancient neighborhood of Rome, called Suburra at the time, ..it is equally positioned between both subway lines A and B, and the main train station. Regardless to that, it is a very quiet street, full of small restaurants, handcraft shops and bars...

We add to this our commitment and our passion, plus our humour and good will, ...and there you are! The perfect recipe!! :))))

Hoping you will be back, this time in a superior room, with your own terrace, ... we wish you all the best!
Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    755
    131
    37
    12
See reviews for
514
1,306
129
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Rafaello is a perfect hotel for a stay in Rome. Just as other people have said, it is easy to find, in a good location for seeing all the sights and a great place to rest your weary feet after a day out. It is clean and comfortable, we loved the fact that you could choose your pillows. The breakfast is delicious with lots of choices. Everyone who worked there that we came into contact with were amiable and helpful. Thank you to you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jad353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear jad353,

Thank you for such a brief, but concise review. We are glad you have enjoyed your staying here as much, and that we managed to transform ourselves in your home in Rome. :)

As for Raffaello's position, it is one of our strenght points, we know to be more than lucky about that : situated in the middle of Rome, at less than a mile away from the Coliseum, as well as from the Roman main train station- Termini-, Raffaello is situated at an equal distance in between subway stops of both A and B lines, but at the same time, the area is quiet, full of chic boutiques, small restaurants and tavernas, or handcraft shops...

Hoping ypur return here will be a soon one, we wish you all the best and a serene 2014! :)
Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I thought the reception staff not too friendly I saw they sat down with some guests and explained places to visit but they didnt bother for us .one reception scolded a couple for taking the room key out with them. the scrambled eggs were orange at breakfast but the waiting staff were pleasant. Some lovely historical sights in rome but wa an ordeal crossing the road with the crazy traffic

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Pippa C,

"The beauty is in the eyes of the beholder", one of the best British writers said- we are sorry to hear you have perceived us as not interested in you, and therefore you felt neglected.

You see, all our guests are important for us, and they all are on the same scale- if we were assisting someone and you needed any help at all, you could have simply waited until we had finished, and we would have assisted you, as well... We are sorry that because of impatience you did not have the chance to let us do what we know better: try to make your staying more enjoyable, and more serene...

As for the scrambled eggs, ...I can assure you we only use best quality products for our breakfast, no additives, no artificial powder eggs, no anything... And they were several times complimented, as you could see in previous reviews, we are sorry you didn't give them a chance, either...

Hoping that you might want to know us better and come here again, we wish you all the best! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were there for 4 nights from Jan 29. It is conveniently located and could not fault the guest room ... great job by housekeeping staff. We had the room with the terrace..but on hindsight would not book it during winter cos it rained most of the time we were there..but would be good for smokers. Can only count one cheerful staff at breakfast and one cheerful reception staff who was helpful. When we returned in the evenings we would greet the reception staff even before they greeted us..but they were not warm and welcoming ..they just carried on with their work., quite aloof I must say for service industry personnel.
Would I stay here for my next visit? Nope.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Vicky T,

Thank you for having shared your opinion about us with all Tripadvisor users- our guests' opinion is important for us, positive or less.

We are sorry to hear you have perceived some of our staff members as being aloofed. As you may see in a lot of previous reviews, our warmth is one of our strenght points, and we genuinely care about our guests' wellbeing. Our regret is you didn't get that, and didn't have the chance to know us as we really are: a warm, enthusiastic staff, that does all its best for its guests' gratification.

We do hope you will give us the chance to show you these aspects of Raffaello, in case you will decide to ever come back.
Warmest greetings,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Considering we arrived in the evening, Via Urbana was easy to find and quickly spotted the hotel as pictured prettily.

Check-in was quick, informative and friendly. My partner being Italian spoke the lingo. However, when the receptionist detected I was English he continued conversations in English so I was fully included. This was also true of all the other staff at Hotel Raffaello and generally in Rome.

Our room (104) was warm, clean and spacious. Plenty of storage. The bed was comfortable and hosted perfect nights sleep. Big, bright and clean bathroom.

Considering the breakfast was included in the extraordinary low price, we were not anticipating much. How wrong were we! The sight of fresh rosso orange juice won me over straight away. Plus cappucino, salami, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, breads, pasteries and much much more. The waitresses were friendly and accommodating.

Elena was lovely, She recommended two restaurants for our evenings and reserved the tables for us. Both restaurants were fantastic (see separate restaurant reviews).

Given we were here on valentines day, the hotel helped my fiancee by ordering red roses bouquet and had them delivered to me - beautiful!

In terms of the location, perfect! Just a few minutes walk from the colosseum which then leads on to all the other major attractions. We took the metro to the Vatican as would have been a lengthy walk.

A big thank you to night receptionist Peter too for giving us cigarettes when all the shops were shut!

Did not want to carry my HUGE bouquet of roses to the termini and on to the airport to inevitably be told I could not take them on board. So Elena cut one of the 'Roma roses' for me to pack in the suitcase and I gladly gave the hotel the remaining roses.

All in all a lovely rememberable holiday in Roma, mainly due to Hotel Raffaello - so, grazie to all the staff!

Room Tip: 104 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Jess!!! :) :) :)

You got home safe and sound! :)

Thank you for your wonderful words, we are so happy you have enjoyed your staying here so much, and that we were able to help and make your holiday in the Eternal City as beautiful as it could have been! :)

We already miss you, both, and we do hope you are going to pay us a visit as soon as possible! Did you throw the coin in the Trevi Fountain?! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the moment you step in you know it's a great hotel.Luxury bedrooms with little touches like Pillow Menu,slippers,etc that make you feel cared for.Great location and close to the main road.The Termini station is a stone's throw away.A couple of supermarkets nearby by Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore.We were greeted by lovely staff who enquired about us and that made it personal.We were quickly given the keys to our rooms.The rooms were lovely,well decorated and practical.It was nice,warm and welcome after a day in the rain sightseeing.The rooms were very clean and it had everything you wanted and more.Little things like shoe polish,shampoo made it feel like an extra special experience.The internet was great.Now,for the breakfast;it too was great.Lots of choice from pastries,to cereal,to cold meats and toast.We were asked if we want coffee,hot chocolate and the ladies will serve whatever you choose.Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Tammy,

I think it was Charlotte Bronte who said "beauty is in the eyes of the beholder". Where I'm getting at is that we do our jobs with passion and commitment, and when a guest non only notices this, but appreciates it, as well, ...we cannot be anything else but happy, therefore THANK YOU for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount. :)

Hoping you will give us the honour of hosting you again soon, we wish you all the best! :)
Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

That's what this hotel does- tick's all the right boxes.
IN PRICE - fabulous price compared to other hotels in Rome.
IN LOCATION - what can I say..just a stones throw away from such ancient history..breathtaking.
IN COMFORT - Spotlessly clean. Comfortable rooms and a breakfast buffet with such a choice
that leaves you ready to tackle all the day's walking and sightseeing.
Having spent the weekend with my husband and 2 teenagers 15 and 13..all I can say is...what
a great hotel. Cannot fault it and the staff are all so courteous and friendly. I'm so glad I booked this hotel and would urge you to do so to if you are wondering where to stay in Rome.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room Room 220 which was great for a family...it did not have a view from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Tack, Tack, Tack..

(I admit it, I couldn't help myself! :) )

Dear Capig, ...I lack of inspiration...I have finished my words...Because you see, ..I have answered to more than 1000 reviws in an year, ...and in the end, there is not much to say when you are honest and transparent, and that's how we are, or at least, try to... :)

Not always we can satisfy each and every request of our guests, but we do try always, and not always this is appreciated, but when it is, ...we feel gratified for our work and efforts, therefore...THANK YOU for having appreciated us, and our work... :)
Hoping your return here will be a soon one, we wish you all the best! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,314 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing