We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel in great location”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy hotel in great location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We picked out Raffaello from its excellent rating and guest reviews.We specifically requested one of their 5th floor rooms with private terrace area and were delighted with our allocation. The room was also super quiet and the additional blackout curtains and air con ensured a great restful nights sleep.All hotel staff were very professional and made our stay an unforgettable experience. Only 10 mins walk from Termini Station and about 15 mins stroll through bustling side streets to either the Pantheon, Trajans Column or the Clousseum, so all major areas close at hand. Great breakfast, lots of nice restaurants, would we recommend Rafaello Hotel? YES!

Room Tip: The 5th floor rooms have flower lined terraces that look out over the rooftops of central Rome, Fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Tim,

There is no need for you to say all these lies about us, we won't have you back anyway! :))))))

And stop saying we are nice poeple, no one would ever believe you, anyway! :))))

On a more serious note, ...thank you for having given us a little bit of your time, we are more than glad you have enjoyed your staying here so much.
Believe it or not, our guests' wellbeing is what we care mostly about, therefore we can only be glad when we see we made it! :)
Hoping you will be back ASAP, ...we wish you all the best! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,487
    750
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
510
1,292
128
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Raffaello is on a surprisingly quiet, as well as safe street in the center of Rome, on a side street on the Esquiline and just off via Cavour. Within walking distance of the train station (Termini) and most of the sights you would want to see. The staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was comfortable, clean, with a good bed and a bathroom that wasn't cramped. The breakfast was good, and the ambience pleasant. I have absolutely no complaints and plan to return. COnsidering when we were there--seconds after the canonization of two popes, when all of Rome was a mob scene, the price was very reasonable. The lobby and another sitting area below were comfortable places to sit. All in all, a real find in a city like Rome where lodging tends to be over priced and can disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itala11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Itala,

Next time you're coming, please bring the Vuitton bag, I want to see it and decide wether buying my own or not! :) You have taught me a lot about bags, thank you very much! :)

As about your staying here (I need to write something about that, don't I?! :) ), we are honest, and try to do our best in order to make our prices as affordable as possible to everyone, that is why we have lots of promotions, this way people can book us at reasonable prices...

Hoping your and your bag's return will be a soon one, we wish you all the best, and we can hardly wait to have you back! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Great location to get to the Colloseum, Roman Forum, Palatine Hill, only 5-10 min walk. easy walking access to the rest of the city. Less than 1km to Termini station. Off the main roads so nice & quiet. Elena the concierge is more than happy to help with anything at all and her restaurant recommendations are usually spot on. We spent 4 nights with 2 adults & 2 kids 15 & 11 in early May. Plenty room in the 2 bdr suite. Small shower but that's my only complaint. Breakfast included is varied & plentiful. Thanks for the hospitality!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Melanie,

I just wanted to tell you there was no need to say I am glad to help everyone, because that's not true: I only help good people! :)))))))

Joking aside, we are glad you have enjoyed your staying here so much - at the end of the day, all we care about is our guests have beautiful memories about their holiday in the Eternal City... :)
Hoping you threw the coins in the Trevi Fountain, we wish you all the best, and hope your return here will be a soon one! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Quite close to main railway station, Termini, as long as you don’t get a lady taxi driver to take you the long way round for 15 Euros. Walkable to the Colisseum and good range of restaurants in Monti district. Good rooms, good breakfast, no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectortherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear hectortherabbit,

Yes, you are right: Raffaello's position is one of our strenght points: less than half of mile away from Termini, the Roman main train station, less than half of mile of both subway lines A and B, and exactly a kilometer away from the Coliseum, ...Raffaello is situated in the middle of the Monti district, called "Suburra" in the antique times...
It is a very pitoresque area, full of small boutiques, handcraft shops, and small elegant tavernas and restaurants...
Hoping you will renew your visit sometime soon, we wish you all the best, and a serene return home!
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oppegård, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The service was good and we had a nice clean room. The terrace was not used much due to it was not time or too Cold when we had time. but the view was cosy and in a very Nice neighbourhod. Not far from the Central station and close to all important attractions. Very good breakfast and very Professional service at the desk.
I can reccommend this hotel to all romantic couples that want to stay Central and in a silent area when sleeping.

Room Tip: Velg gjerne executive room hvor nummer 502 er det største og med størst terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonKulsrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear JonKulsrud,

Thank you for the time you have given us, we are glad to hear you had such a good time! :)

We try to do our best in order to satisfy our guests' needs and requirements, as much as we can, therefore we can only be glad when we see it does work, and we can make someone happier and create a more serene staying...
Hoping you will visit soon again for your anniversary, we wish you all the best! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Raffaello Hotel in early May, 2014. Since we had arranged to arrive in Rome by train, we narrowed our search to hotels within easy walking distance of the Termini.

The Hotel's online reservation system is efficient and easy to use. In addition, Hotel staff responded quickly and comprehensively to questions in my introductory e-mail. I booked our room approximately 3 months in advance and received a more favourable rate than would have been available in May.

We found the Raffaello to be in line with the positive reviews we had read and with the photos on the Hotel website.

Our room was small but pleasant. The breakfast provided with the room rate included a good selection of both hot and cold food choices.

We found all of the staff we dealt with to be professional and helpful. We were left with the impression that the staff are genuinely interested in ensuring Hotel guests have a positive experience in Rome. The concierge is very knowledgeable, has a good sense of humor and gave us great advice. In particular, she recommended several lesser-known places to see selected pieces of artwork and outlined the most appropriate bus and metro routes.

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Raffaello and would give it a rating of 4.5 out of 5 on the TripAdvisor scale.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Mr Rod!!!

Glad to see you have made it home safe and sound! :)

Thank you for such a detailed, precise and beautiful review, we are honoured by your words, and glad you have enjoyed your staying here as much. :)

We are here for you- our guests- and we do all our best in order to make our guests' holidays as pleasant as possible, as much as it depends on us, obviously. Glad to hear in worked in your case, as well... :)

Hoping we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon, we send you our warmest wishes and most sincere regards.
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Wonderful friendly staff. Room immaculate and upgraded without asking as there were rooms free. Only negative is that the lift goes to a mezzanine floor and carrying case back to it on departure is difficult. The area is fantastic just like a village at the centre of Rome. It is near to the Station and the Colleseum.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for having given us a little bit of your time, and thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount. :)

We can only be glad you have enjoyed your staying here so much, and hope for your return as soon as possible. :)

Warmest wishes,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing