We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am willing to stay again but......”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I am willing to stay again but......”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

May 20th - May 26th

Welcome: Excellent
Cleanliness: Overall (Excellent), My Room (Poor), see text for explanation
Location: Excellent,
Breakfast Poor by US Standards
Value: Average

Room 512 has a balcony with a view of the streets below. Easy 5-15 minute walk to most Rome sites. In neighborhood with a lot of authentic restaurants, not tourist traps. Walk around as late as midnight and always felt safe.

1) Elena was fantastic!!!! The rest of the staff is average or Poor.

2) The hotel with the exception of my room was clean.

3) They do not tell guest that they only change the linen every other day.

4) Guest should be able to have the linen changed every day if they wish.

5) They have a lot of linen that needs to be replaced. The sheets have stains on them that do not come out in the laundry. The white comforter had several rips in it.

6) Twice the linen on my bed had visible stains that the housekeeper had to have seen. The first time was my first night. The flat sheet had a large stain on both sides at the very top easily seen. We did not retire to bed until late, so did not pull back the We did not notice it until after midnight (00:18). The front desk staff did provide a new sheet for US to put on the bed, but he was rude and was not sympathetic. When I complained to the Manager the next day, I was offered a bottle of wine. I should have got a discount on my stay.

7) After our complaint, the housekeeper did not clean the room well. The shower handles were not cleaned. They still had soap on them from the previous day. She did not replace the used plastic cups. The bathroom countertops were not cleaned. The housekeeper would open the bathroom window and the patio door, but did not close them at night to protect the room from insects coming in.

8) The trim above the entry and bath room door is coming off.

9) The bathroom door has 3 large cuts in it.

10) The breakfast is not worth it for Americans because it is mostly sweets.

11) The room does not have a safe. Replace the cash bar which very few people use with a safe.

We chose to enjoy our trip rather than to continue to be upset by the very poor housekeeping service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sly1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sly1960,

Thank you for your insights, I will try to do my best and answer your quarries, one by one :

1) Thank you for appreciating my way of doing my job, my colleagues have teached me this job;
2) The hotel is always spotless clean, everywhere, thank you for your remark;
3) In Europe, there is the attempt of trying to be as ecological as possible (in UK, for instance, one is asked to reuse the same towels, just like he does at home);
4) We agree with you. BUT YOU HAVE NEVER ASKED!
5/6/7) Your specific case was an accident, for which my so-called rude colleague has apologized, and has brought you a set off new sheets at 00.18 at night, as you yourself admit.

Accidents may happen, and when they do, we do all our best in order to make up for it. It is true, our maid could have paid more attention, and simply not use that sheet (it only happened ONCE!), but afterwards, you have been offered a bottle of wine, as you wrote yourself. You have never asked for a discount!
We had no idea you were so unhappy with this situation, and that such a small incident could have ruined your image about Raffaello to this point.
As for the maid not cleaning your room properly the second day, you are simply being unfair, let me tell you that.
8) If it was true (which is not), you should have let us know, we have a maintainer here every day, he would have taken care of it.
9) Irrelevant, but thank you for pointing it out. I wonder: is it possible that the small sheets incident has started you on so much, that everything, even the smallest things ever, have got a huge importance for you?!
10) That is your personal opinion, but let me ask: what about the variety of cold cuts, boiled eggs (with the special machine, just to be able to decide how cooked they are), the omelette, the salty croissants, the breads and cheeses, as well as butter? We have a continental buffet style breakfast, where we use best genuine products, as many reviewers write.
11) The room DOES have a seif, and I have PERSONALLY ASKED YOU if you needed the key.

Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,487
    750
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
510
1,292
128
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very nice hotel with old world charm in convenient location Staff was very helpful especially Elena
Full breakfast and comfortable rooms. In an interesting part of rome but set off and quite at night. Would definitely stay there again.
Gaetano

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmxmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Wow! Gaetano! Thank you! ...

Thank you for your beautiful words: short, concised review, but if one knows to read between the lines, he would understand what's there to be understood... :)

Hoping you will renew your visit ASAP, ...we are looking forward to your visit! :)
Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great location in the historic centre of Rome. 15 Minutes walk from the Colosseum and the Roman forum, and within easy walking distance of Termini railway station. We booked 2 rooms for 5 nights, a superior double room with a roof terrace, and a standard single room. The superior room was excellent, and the terrace was well worth paying extra for. The shower was a bit quirky and a bit cramped, but otherwise the room was fine. The single room was good, though a smaller bed (3ft rather than 4ft) would have left more room in the room to move about.

Although very central, the streets adjacent to the hotel were amazingly quiet. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of foods to suit all tastes. Free coffee is available at all times of day.

The hotel staff were universally friendly, and the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and all spoke English, a bonus for linguistically challenged English-speakers.

The hotel is not cheap, but well worth it for its central and quiet location, its excellent breakfast and for its helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a roof terrace,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flingelbunt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear fingelbunt,

You made me laugh so much with your "linguistically-challenged English speakers" remark! :)

We are glad to hear you have had such a good staying here, with us, and we were even happier finding out our job, and our way of trying to do it, ...have left you such a good impression...
We simply do our jobs with passion and commitment, and we can only be glad to see that most of our guests perceive and sense this... :)
Hoping you will renew your visit soon, ..we will be waiting for you, with a vocabulary which you will use , just to learn a word or two! I will make a challenge out of the fact I won't allow you to leave Rome without being able to say at least 2 phrases in Italian!!! :)))))
Fino alla prossima,
Tutto il meglio! :)
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were there during the heat of the summer. The clerk gave us a key that we could keep in the air conditioning power source so that it was not blistering hot when we came back in the room. Breakfast was served each morning with great choices and yummy coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sandi,

Thank you for having shared with the others your opinion about us, and about our work! :)

Whenever it is possible, we try to satisfy all our guests requests, as long as it depends on us. We do all our best in order to make our guests' staying here as serene as possible, glad to see there is still people who appreciate this! :)
We do hope you will be back, as you have promised, as quick as possible! :)
Best regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked this Hotel for a 4 night stay recently. Upon arrival it is off a dirty street and no Bell man or staff to help with luggage. We went inside hoping it got better. It did not. Upon check in we were told we had to use elevator but also could ONLY access rooms by taking elevator to a higher floor than walking down to your floor. This immediately became a problem due to a hip surgery I recently had and no one offering to help with luggage. We thought we would see what it was all about, but as soon we got in the elevator and had to walk down stairs to our room, we were very displeased. The room was poorly decorated and the bed was literally a board with each side was so depressed there is no way I could have slept on it with my hip. We contacted the front desk to see if better rooms were available and not having to use stairs. We were rudely advised NO. We left and went to another hotel due to the fact that they could not accommodate us and my medical condition. Yet they are still trying to charge us for the room. I will dispute this on my credit card to the end. Might be okay for Europeans, but most Americans come to expect better. This was only a 3 star designated Hotel..no way it could/should be ranked this high.

Room Tip: Stay at a Hotel with a city rated minimum 4 stars in all of Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Derik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Derik,

You and us know how things really are, but the others reading this don't, so I would like to set some things straight.
As soon as you arrived, the porter has carried your luggage to your room (not true you had to carry them on your own).
You came down with the baggage after a few minutes, telling my colleague you wanted to stay in a 5 stars hotel, apologizing for wanting to leave, and saying yourself it was nothing personal. My colleague asked you if there was something wrong, and you apologized again for wanting to leave, and seemed very embarassed.
Honest and correct, my colleague reminded you that yours was a non refundable reservation (it was charged on your credit card as soon as you booked it, so you could not have any refund).
I would like to add it is your duty to inform yourself about the hotel where you are going to stay after such an important hip operation, which you mentioned nothing about in the reservation, or when you left.
Had you enquired us about the steps, or had you read some reviews on Tripadvisor, you would have seen we have never made a secret out of this, and a lot of reviews talk about this.
Never ever have we pretended to be a 5 stars hotel, nore not to have an elevator that stops between the floors. You know, us Europeans sometimes have very old buildings (Raffaello was built in 1882), I am positive elevators did not exist then yet in their nowadays form.
Most of our guests are Americans, and fortunately they come here open minded enough to expect different standards: old Europe is a beautiful continent...
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A great boutique hotel in a well situated location. In walking distance of the train station, Coliseum, Plaza Venezia. Terrific little restaurants all around the area. The staff were wonderfully helpful. The rooms were well appointed, very well kept. The breakfast that is included is a great way to start your day. The selection is wonderful, and the food is delicious. Highly recommend Raffaello to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsomeMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear TravelsomeMi,

Thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

We are glad you have enjoyed your staying here so much, and we would like to express our gratitude for your appreciation- it is pleasant to have little confirmations sometimes: seeing poeple that notice, sense and appreciate our job...is the best compliment we could receive! :)

Hoping you will renew your visit soon, we wish you all the best! :)
Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We chose the Raffaello because it was near the Termini station & had a good rating on Tripadvisor. It was a great choice, easy to find in a quiet area with lots of nice restaurants nearby.
The hotel was great as were the staff, from the desk staff to the waitresses at breakfast & Elena who helped us find to our way around (thank you).
Near to the Colloseum & other major attractions.
We would recommend this Hotel,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiles60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear simles60l

You're welcome! :) It was my pleasure being of any help at all, especially for such educated and nice poeple like you! :)

At the end of the day, we were simply doing our jobs, as we always try to, but we admit it is so nice to hear people who do appreciate our efforts to make our guests' staying here as serene and warm as possible... :)
Hoping we will be blessed with your presence again as soon as possible, we wish you a serene return home, and ...we look forward to have you back as soon as possible! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing