We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #82 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The perfect choice for Rome - good, clean room with internet availability. Very close to Termini station and city highlights like the Colosseum etc. Continental breakfast with eggs, fruits, toast and non-sweet bread which can be a pleasant change after a few days in Italy (most hotels offer sweet brioches and croissants)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kontiki_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    767
    133
    37
    12
See reviews for
525
1,323
130
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The Raffaello is wonderfully situated, off the main streets just south of Termini train station. This means it is wonderfully quiet, but a short walk to the train and metro to the north, and the Colosseum to the south. The room was fine but the bathroom was tiny - there was no tub and the shower was so small I constantly hit my elbow turning around. The very nice breakfast (included) was served by excellent staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningFaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Raffaello Hotel for 3 days. The hotel is walking distance from the Termini station which is one of the reason we picked this hotel. The room was not ready when we arrived around 11am and since I had requested a room with a terrace, they said it would take a few more hours before we could check in. I was happy to see that they had accomodated my request for a room with a terrace so I didn't mind. We were hungry and asked for a recommendation for a place to eat. Since it was early, there were not many places serving lunch yet. But, the hotel staff recommended a place right across the hotel on the other side of Cavour street. We paid 50 Euros for lunch for two and the food was mediocre so do not go to this place. There are better options all around for less money.

The room was nicely decorated, the bathroom clean, and the shower very small - which was expected. The terrace was small but very nice and had a good view of the surroundings. All in all, I was very happy with the room. The elevator is tiny and can be a bit noisy as it moves up or down. The breakfast was the typical breakffast we received in most of the other hotels we stayed while in Italy. The warm scrambled eggs was a plus as some other hotels only had hard boiled eggs. The staff was not necessarily friendly but provided information when needed. One of the guys there did give me a card which another guest had left with minutes leftover for internet access so I could look up the train schedule before we departed. So I was very impressed with this gesture - kudos to the staff for that!

I would definitely consider this place if we ever visit Rome again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Clean, comfortable, great location, wonderful breakfast. Pretty much all of my requirements. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alg1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Excellent central position, welcoming, helpful staff, plenty of space in our room, very clean, breakfast excellent, would be very happy to return and I would certainly recommend the Raffaello.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venables78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Well, I travelled for Italy for the first time in September 2010 and stayed in Rome, Milan & Catania. I chose The Raffaello Hotel in Rome and I liked some things and disliked others there. The man at the reception (the bald man) treated me bad in my check-in period. Maybe because I'm not european, who knows? Another bad surprise arriving in my room: it was really really small. The smallest of the 3 hotels that I stayed in Italy. On the other hand, the breakfast is excellent for a 3 star hotel. Plus, the television had excellent picture quality and had lots of TV channels to choose. There is a chuch nearby the hotel. So, their bells will wake you up every morning!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansone33, Manager at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
Dear Guest

I am pleased to read your very positive about our breakfast and other amenities and I'am sorry that the room 'was considered not very wide, in general, our rooms always have a good habitability'.

For sure we will go down in order to understand why, at the reception, did not find the courtesy and kindness that you rightly expected.

I assure customers that we are all equal, provenance counts for nothing, always try to do our best.

We send you our apologies and we hope to accommodate even here in Rome

Salvatore Sansone
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel served as a great base for seeing rome. We were lucky enough to get the terrace room which was a beautiful outside space. Breakfast was ok, but the coffee not so great. there are great coffee shops just down the road though. The price can only be described as fantastic value for money! I would recommend this hotel for just about anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpfultraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,264 in Rome
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,264 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,264 in Rome
873 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,264 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Property: Hotel Raffaello
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing