We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Roman Guy was awesome!”
Review of The Roman Guy

The Roman Guy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$121.45*
and up
Detailed Itinerary Vatican, Sistine & St Peter's...
Ranked #46 of 851 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roman Guy is a tour company that offers walking, driving, bike and food tours in Italy. We pride ourselves on our ability to bypass lines and enter museums in exclusive ways. We are an educated and fun team that loves Italy and enjoys working in tourism. Our team of tour guides and staff are Italian & American, but all speak amazing English. We have tours available in Rome, Florence and Venice. We also offer a number of day trips including Amalfi, Pompeii, Chiantii Hills and Pisa.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

From start to finish everyone at the Roman Guys was incredible. Our trip included 3 generations, with many different interests and needs. Brandon helped us plan appropriate days and tours and every guide along the way was incredibilty knowledgeable -- as much info as we wanted but not any more than we were able to handle. Special attention was always paid to our 10 year old daughter who loved the sites and history ... in large part because of the way the guides interacted with her. We did the 3 tour special, with an additional day trip to Pompeii ... and I would recommend every one.

1  Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRANDONSHAW, Owner at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Kristin,

Thank you for writing an excellent review about us!

It was great to finally meet you after speaking to you by telephone and the emails. Come back and bring more family next time and I would love to help you plan it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sistine chapel"
in 264 reviews
"colosseum tour"
in 134 reviews
"privileged entrance"
in 50 reviews
"foodie tour"
in 37 reviews
"tour combo"
in 18 reviews
"small group"
in 102 reviews
"arena floor"
in 66 reviews
"food tour"
in 78 reviews
"early entrance"
in 31 reviews
"early access"
in 22 reviews
"great tour"
in 84 reviews
"third level"
in 29 reviews
"general public"
in 34 reviews
"private tour"
in 76 reviews
"palatine hill"
in 82 reviews
"special access"
in 15 reviews
"restaurant recommendations"
in 15 reviews
Filter

1,483 - 1,487 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We did the 3 tour special, me, wife and daughter. Getting into the Vatican early is the way to go, with Nina (Mama Bear!) as our guide. She has a Phd. in Archeology and loves her job. We all had head sets for listening to her, and I think only 12 of us on the tour. Her enthusiasm is contagious. She gave us a "class" on the Sistine Chapel, complete with pictures, before we went in so we knew what, when and how it was done, which made the experience even more incredible. Great way to see the Vatican and St Peter's. Later that day Brandon took us on the golf cart tour. Great way to see the highlights of the city without walking, esp. after all the hours on our feet at the Vatican. He is knowledgeable and funny.
On Sunday we were lucky and had Nina for the Colosseum and Forum tour. Again, her knowledge made for a very informative tour, and she had visuals to go with her lessons. Our only disappointment was not getting the underground & 3rd level Colosseum tour that we signed up for, as the local government limits those tours and isn't very cooperative, so no fault of The Roman Guy. Brandon had refunded the difference before we even got back home.
A guided tour isn't cheap, but walking past the lines at the Vatican and Colosseum, getting the knowledge and history from the guide, made this well worth the money on a once in a lifetime whirlwind visit to Rome.

2  Thank frozentundraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachele_TheRomanGuy, Manager at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks so much for using The Roman Guy and reviewing your experience on the 3 Tour Combo! It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the tours and guides. If you're ever back in Rome we'd love to get you to the underground and 3rd level of the Colosseum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I took 3 of The Roman Guy's tours and enjoyed all of them. The Roman Forum/Colosseum tour is amazing because the tour includes the 3rd level and the dungeon in the Colosseum, which most tour companies don't have access to. Our tour guide, Nina, was wonderful - friendly, passionate, energetic, and extremely knowledgeable. The Vatican Museums tour with Brandon was also great and it was an incredible experience to be inside the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel during off-hours when it's still closed to the general public. I also went on the golf cart tour - an easy, relaxing way to get a good overview of the city and Brandon made the tour fun with his commentary and various stops to get great gelato, coffee, and to see some of the more interesting (and some lesser-known) sights in Rome.

2  Thank amybalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachele_TheRomanGuy, Manager at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Amy, thanks so much for joining The Roman Guy for three tours. We're so glad you enjoyed them all! Let us know if there are any other tours you're interested in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Brandon was most informative, active, attentive to all! Very knowledgeable. Sistine, Vatican Museum, Golf Cart thru Rome, and the Colosseum, Palatine, Forum are all great! Well organised and well directed...lots of photo ops even a gelato stop! Don't miss this Roman experience

1  Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachele_TheRomanGuy, Manager at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks for joining The Roman Guy and for your 5 star review! We're so glad you enjoyed the tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Six family members (ages 16-59) met in Rome during Easter week and we did three tours with The Roman Guy over 1 1/2 days. A whirlwind at best but we accomplished a lot of the city! Andrea showed us the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. He was knowledgable and helped us understand the architecture in relation to the history of Rome. Brandon then took over and in the afternoon took us on a whirlwind Eco golf cart tour of Rome and its piazze. The following day we did the special early admission tour of the Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel. Though it was Good Friday, we were still able to enter St. Peter's Basilica. Despite the enormity of the crowds, we were able to see the major sights. Thanks to Brandon and Andrea for making our short time in Rome outstanding.

1  Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRANDONSHAW, Owner at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Regina,

Thank you for writing an excellent review about us!

When I come to Florida next year I will try and stop by! Tell everyone I said hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roman Guy also viewed

 

Been to The Roman Guy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing