We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Five Tours!!!”
Review of The Roman Guy

The Roman Guy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$121.45*
and up
Detailed Itinerary Vatican, Sistine & St Peter's...
Ranked #44 of 859 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Roman Guy is a tour company that offers walking, driving, bike and food tours in Italy. We pride ourselves on our ability to bypass lines and enter museums in exclusive ways. We are an educated and fun team that loves Italy and enjoys working in tourism. Our team of tour guides and staff are Italian & American, but all speak amazing English. We have tours available in Rome, Florence and Venice. We also offer a number of day trips including Amalfi, Pompeii, Chiantii Hills and Pisa.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We did five different tours with the Roman Guy and all were equally amazing! Our tours included the Borghese Gallery, Colosseum Dungeons Tour, Vatican Tour, Eco Tour, and a Pisa day trip. Each tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, professional, friendly, and fun! We can't thank Brandon enough for all the history he taught us and for making the Eco Tour so much fun. It really saved us from walking miles to the various locations in Rome and riding in the golf cart was a blast! We had the most wonderful day trip with Giovanni to Pisa. His enthusiasm and knowledge of Italy was fantastic and he went the extra mile on our day together by showing us some beautiful views in Florence. Our tours were worth every penny we spent and we will only book the Roman Guy when we return to Italy.

3  Thank Dakota007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRomanGuy, Owner at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

That is great you saw so much value in our tours! I thank you on behalf of Brandon and the rest of our team here. We look forward to your return to Rome as well as welcoming your friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sistine chapel"
in 264 reviews
"colosseum tour"
in 134 reviews
"privileged entrance"
in 50 reviews
"foodie tour"
in 37 reviews
"tour combo"
in 18 reviews
"small group"
in 102 reviews
"arena floor"
in 66 reviews
"food tour"
in 78 reviews
"early entrance"
in 31 reviews
"early access"
in 22 reviews
"great tour"
in 84 reviews
"third level"
in 29 reviews
"general public"
in 34 reviews
"private tour"
in 76 reviews
"palatine hill"
in 82 reviews
"special access"
in 15 reviews
"restaurant recommendations"
in 15 reviews
Filter

1,603 - 1,607 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was looking for a last minute general tour of Rome that was within our budget. The "Eco" Rome Golf Cart Tour fit our criteria perfectly. We got to see the basics of Rome outside the Vatican. Our guide has a degree in Ancient History and was born and grew up in Rome, so he knows the answers to the questions we asked. Being an open air cart, you still get the intimate feel of walking around the small streets and back alleys of Rome, but a slightly faster pace. I would recommend taking the "3 Tour Combo" if it's available in order to get the Vatican and a close-up of the unseen Colosseum and Roman Forum.

1  Thank Philip7989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRomanGuy, Owner at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hey! We are very happy you enjoyed the Eco Golf Cart Tour. It's even nicer in July/August when it starts to get really hot. We are going to start creating more itineraries so look us up when you get back - more creative tours on the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We took a small group tour of the Colosseum. We were told to meet ten minutes prior to the start time, however we showed up 15 minutes late. There was a representative at the agreed up on location to meet us and she let us catch up to the rest of the tour! (Amazing customer service). Most other tours would have already left by then. Nina "Mama Bear" was our guide and she was jovial and exciting. She also has a degree in archeology, so it made even better that we got our information from a certified expert who continuously works on the artifacts. We got to go the the exclusive parts of the Colosseum and didn't have to wait in the hour long lines as well. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone and everyone!

1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRomanGuy, Owner at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi! Thanks for your amazing review. Rome is so hectic we understand running late happens - so much to see in such a short time. We do our best to accommodate and it feels great after warm reviews like this one. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We took a private tour of the Coliseum with the Roman Guy that also included the Forum. Our guide was Nina who has a degree in archaeology and was very knowledgeable. My only regret is that we were to late on getting in on the private Vatican tour because we tried to reserve to close to the time of leaving. The perks of the private Coliseum tour included getting to go into parts of the Coliseum others could not including the dungeon, the highest level, and the part of the main floor that they have put out.

2  Thank bfree271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachele_TheRomanGuy, Manager at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks for choosing The Roman Guy and thanks for the awesome review! Please let us know if your travels ever bring you back to Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We did the 'Under the Stars' small group evening tour of the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. Nina was our guide and she was amazing! Her extensive knowledge and bubbly enthusiasm made the tour worth every penny. I've visited these sites independently in the past, but seeing them with a guide gave me a much better understanding and appreciation of what I was looking at. The timing of the tour (which started at 5.45pm) meant that we missed most of the crowds, so we had a good view of everything and some space as we moved around the museums. I would highly recommend this tour. Thank you Nina!

1  Thank Helen2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachele_TheRomanGuy, Manager at The Roman Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Helen, thank you for your review of the "Under the Stars" Vatican tour you took with us. We're glad that we were able to give you a better understanding and appreciation for the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Basilica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roman Guy also viewed

 

Been to The Roman Guy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing