We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Ranked #14 of 3,731 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. More like a serviced apartment than a conventional B&B, but spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable, and a super location 200m from the Colosseum. Aldo and Gioia are welcoming hosts who serve a breakfast of fresh croissants, pastries, coffee etc and give invaluable advice on where to eat locally away from the tourist traps. The complimentary bottle of Sicilian red more than compensated for the lack of toiletries. Highly recommended and an excellent alternative to overpriced hotels and cramped B&Bs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
237
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week in Rome after having a few days in London and then a week after Rome in Israel for a family event. This was BY FAR our favorite place. We left on Christmas morning and the hosts could not have been kinder. They were punctual, friendly, respectful, patient with us, spoke excellent English, and went out of their way to make us comfortable and assist us in booking cabs, finding a laundromat, etc. The building has an elevator, which is rare. The room had an excellent heater so we were never cold. The shower was always hot and had good pressure. The bed was super comfortable and the blanket was plenty warm. I figure this place it what spas are trying to be! The breakfast pastries were delicious, more than we could eat, and they even brought us in a wine cooler to use as a fridge for leftovers (tip: in Rome, restaurants really don't do leftovers, so get used to leaving food on your plate or bring your own containers to dinner and prepare to be laughed at by locals when you carry it away =) There was always fresh fruit and bottles of water were also provided. I cannot begin to describe how amazing the room was. Just like the pictures, but even more spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was bigger than my bedroom at home! I'm very finicky, but the room was spotless everyday and we had plenty of towels, too. The whole experience with this B&B was way above anything I expected to find, especially at such a reasonable price - and we didn't even reserve the largest room! I think this just might be the best B&B in the world, and should I ever return to Rome, I would make sure I could stay here before booking any other travel details. Li Rioni was recommended to us by Aldo and Gioia and we enjoyed eating there - good pizza, some English speaking staff (the friendliest we found in Rome), and a pretty street theme complete with balconies and strings of lights. The closest thing to a complaint (which is really more a case of we should have asked for more details) was that one of the restaurants recommended, Il Danilo, I think it was called was, well, we're not the class of people they cater to. I'm surprised they let us in with our backpacks and dusty shoes! If you like expensive French style cuisine and service with an Italian flair (dishes such as beef tartare (raw hamburger) and intestines, and things like the person taking your entree order will not take your dessert order), this is probably THE place to go in Rome =) We had a good laugh, though, at our obviously being outclassed, and the carbonara was good. In any case, La finestra sul Colosseo was a wonderful place. We got to walk past the Colosseum and Forum everyday and looked forward to going 'home' every evening. I can't imagine anyone who wouldn't enjoy this place. Thank you for a wonderful stay - your B&B was as beautiful as you are!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing an inner courtyard and the only noise we heard was for an hour or so at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim_and_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Staying at this delightful B&B made our trip to Rome! We booked it after a recommendation from friends who raved about it - and it certainly exceeded our expectations.

Booking was simple and it was very handy having Aldo on hand to answer any questions before we arrived, such as how best to travel from the airport.

Upon arrival Aldo was waiting to greet us outside the apartment building and showed us to our room. He gave us lots of tips and recommendations of where to visit, which restaurants/cafes/gelaterias to go to, and how to get around the city. He even marked everything out on a city map that he gave us, which was really helpful throughout our stay - it was like having our own personal tourist information centre!

The room was very spacious, elegantly decorated, and spotlessly clean - and the best part was the hugely generous-sized breakfast trolley filled with pastries, fruit, yoghurts, coffee and juice that was delivered to our room each morning!

The location couldn't have been better either. It's just a 5-10 min walk to the Colsseum as well as several metro stations and bus routes.

Aldo was extremely helpful and welcoming, making our 3 day stay in the city fantastic - we really couldn't fault it at all. Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMJJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful b n b during a very rainy weekend in February

Aldo met us at the door and gave us some handy tips about local attractions and restaurants. The pizza at Li rioni which is near the hotel was well recommended. It cost only 30euros for a 3 course meal and wine.

The room was immaculate and luxurious and the orthopaedic bed was a lovely treat as well.

We did find we could hear conversation from the next room and footsteps from the floor above but that didn't bother us to much.

Breakfast wasn't too our taste as it was filled with sweet sticky pastries when I would have loved some fresh Italian bread and butter, but again only a minor negative. There was also way too much for us to eat.

We would definitely stay again but perhaps grab a more savory breakfast elsewhere.

We had free wine and fruit in our room but didn't actually eat or drink them but it was a lovely thought

I ideally would have given 4.5 out of 5 because of the breakfast and surrounding noise but have gone for 4 out of 5 as it wasnt quite perfect but I would still 100% recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishnikkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This really is a fantastic place. Beautiful room, spacious, clean, luxurious bathroom, and great location (1 minute from Colosseum, right in the center of Rome). Aldo and Gioia who run the place are lovely, nice, welcoming and helpful people. The accommodation was great, and they gave us a lot of useful tips for our visit to Rome. We had a wonderful stay here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogier_658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

It´s located in a perfect area. Close to the most important places in Rome. We reached almost all of them by foot, it was not even necessary to take the bus or the train.

The room has a beautiful and romantic decoration and the service was GREAT! Wonderful breakfast every morning IN THE ROOM and PERFECT cleaning service!!

We got at La Finestra Sul Colosseo all the information we needed to enjoy Rome and they helped us with everything we needed. Simply GREAT! Thank you so much for everything!!

Room Tip: "Our room was the nr. 1. It was great BUT we didn´t get view to the Colosseum! Ask them which o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B is wonderful! My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon in December. We were excited to relax & not plan anything after the wedding. Aldo made this possible because once we arrived, he gave us a wonderful map & highlighted great food, coffee, & sites. We never looked anything up on the internet! We love to eat & Aldo never disappointed us with any of his recommendations. At breakfast each morning we would talk about our previous day & our plans for the current. Aldo would then make more great recommendations! He is truly an excellent B&B owner & really wants you to experience Rome as the Romans do.

Our room was absolutely beautiful & the location is perfect! It was very clean & crisp with a spacious bathroom. The open windows were wonderful to hear the hussle of the city & experience the incredible view. We were so very pleased with our stay & can't wait to return. I would recommend La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B to anyone, not only for the beautiful rooms & location but for the advice Aldo can give you. He has lived in Rome all his life & truly knows the city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,351 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 3,731 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#26 of 3,731 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#15 of 3,731 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Property: La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 3,731 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing