We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Roman holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Ranked #30 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location was excellent, it was so exhilarating to see the Coliseum every morning. The room was beautiful, clean modern with lovely touches such as the brick ceiling. Lovely comfy bed.
Breakfast in the room on your own individual trolley was lovely. The owners were absolutely delightful, friendly, helpful but not pushy at all. After a long day sight seeing we just walked over the main road and into the little streets and had gorgeous food every night that was extremely reasonable in price. House wine usually good and reasonable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at La Finestra Sul Colosseo B&B.
My partner and I travel extensively and I have to say La Finestra Sul Colosseo is more like a 5 star boutique hotel than a B&B.
To echo the other reviews, the room was beautifully clean (exactly like the pictures) with modern amenities, the breakfast was superb and it was lovely to have it in the comfort of the room.
Aldo & Gioia could not have been more hospitable hosts, giving us great tips on local amenities, transport and even making dinner reservations on our behalf.
The location is excellent, the Colosseum is located at the end of the road, and makes for an amazing sight should you choose a room with a view, as we did.
La Finestra Sul Colosseo is walking distance to a number of top attractions as well as restaurants and bars. There are also good transport links from here to anywhere in the city.
I would highly recommend La Finestra Sul Colosseo B&B and will definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wooleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was perfect-the room was beautifully clean with modern amenities, the breakfast was superb and so nice to have it in the comfort of the room. The hosts could not have been more helpful-gave us great places to eat and tips on booking certain sights in advance. I felt I had more of a true Rome experience staying here as it felt like our own apartment! A stones throw from the Colloseum and easy access to the metro stations. It felt so safe as well, even at night. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend anyone else to do so too!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nics_c85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days in in La Finestra Sul Colosseo B&B, and it was just amazing. We will go back to Rome and would like to stay there again for sure. The place just made our trip feel really perfect. Even though we didn't took the room with Colosseum view, it was really enough, because we pass the colosseum every day anyway. The room was superb, it was spotless clean, the staff clean it everyday, no annoying noise heard when we slept, and the cleanliness & the size of the bathroom just cheer me up every time we back from our trip to the hotel. We felt like in royal palace with breakfast came to our room every morning with some choices of bread, cake, croissant, coffee, tea, juice, etc.

The owner are really nice: Aldo and his partner Joya, are the friendliest B&B owner that we ever met. Upon our arrival Joya welcomed us with 2 shots of espresso, gave us a map and give the explanation and suggestion for the places that we should visit, the restaurants to be tried, and information about the transportation that we should take, etc.

The location of this B&B is excellent, it is walking distance to almost all over the interesting places.

The day on our check out, we could put our luggage there and enjoy Rome until the time for us to catch the bus for the airport.

Only one thing: They didn't provide shampoo or soap in the bathroom, which is a little bit annoying for us, because then we had to buy one, and the supermarkets around only sells the big bottles, and after our stay we couldn't bring it back with us because the hand luggage thing in the airplane.

Anyway, out of the toileteries thing, it was excellent place to stay and enjoyed Rome :).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorganEnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from our second stay in as many years at La Finestra sul colosseo, it was equally as beautiful if not more so the second time round. This year we were given one of Aldo & Gioia's new suites in their new section of what they describe as a "B&B" but it's so so much more. The new rooms are equally as luxurious as the first 3 some May say even better. The rooms are stunning and the new bathrooms are as you would expect in a 5 star hotel. As other review have Stated Aldo & Gioia are the perfect hosts and two of the most genuine & helpful people you could wish to meet. The breakfast buffet is a perfect way to start any day, and in the new suites you get the service delivered to your room. You get a very good free wifi connection and TV in your room and wine, fruit and refreshments left on arrival. The B&B is situated perfectly 2 minutes max walk to the colosseum and metro and a plethora of bars shops and restaurants. After our visits in 2013 & 2014 we are already planning our return for 2015 and I can honestly say our experience with Aldo & Gioia and La Finestra sul colosseo are a very large part of us wanting to return year after year. I fully recommend this Hidden Gem in the heart of Rome!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

In Rome for three nights for the Italy v England rugby match. We stayed at La Finestra sul Colosseo based on the reviews I had seen on this website. I have to say we were not disappointed.
It is located roughly halfway between the Colosseo and Manzoni Metro Stations from where you can get to most parts of the city and of course many of the ancient parts of Rome are walkable from the B & B.
The accommodation itself really is first class. The exterior of the building maybe a little austere but once inside the rooms are superb - you wouldn't get better in a 4 star hotel.
Aldo and Gioia are the perfect hosts and are keen for you to get the best out of their city with tips on places to see, travel arrangements and eating places.
A great place to stay. Can't think of any reason whatsoever not to give it 5 stars in every category.

Room Tip: All are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Having a first taste at the whole B&B traveling, La Finestra sul Colosseo rased the bar high, very high! Aldo & Gioia received us with a warm welcome. With the right amount of flair and knowhow Aldo guided us true Rome on a map. The certainly to-visit list didn’t get any shorter! He recommended us nice little restaurants, the best Piadineria in Rome and was accessible to any question on how to get where and when.
There B&B is relay nearby the Coliseum, the rooms are really splendid! What you see is what you get, for real! As in the pictures; romantic, spacious and everything you need ad hand. The bathroom with shower is lovely as well and relay neat. You can feel that the rooms are decorated with passion and love for little French details.
The ‘little’ breakfast buffet is marvelous, delicious little pastries, toast, croissants, fruit, cappuccino, thee, too much to name it and eat it al.
We will come back to Rome and to Gioia and Aldo’s B&B!
Even if we would try to criticize, we wouldn’t find anything, because La Finestra is not only a window viewing on the Colloseo, its a little treasure hidden between the old bricks of Rome when you look inside. And we loved every brick of it!

Room Tip: what you see ont the pics is what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Testaccio
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
#9 of 3,739 in Rome
593 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,739 in Rome
765 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,739 in Rome
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Domus Raffaello
#41 of 3,739 in Rome
201 reviews
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#6 of 3,739 in Rome
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing