We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, found a just right hotel in Rome. Terrific location, Roman character and great staff!”
Review of Casa Banzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Banzo
Ranked #138 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finally, found a just right hotel in Rome. Terrific location, Roman character and great staff!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Atfer several visits, we finally found a just right hotel in Rome. Casa Banzo's location is terrific, within walking distance to just about everything (very close to Campo de Fiori). The way the hotel is set up gives you a sense that you are staying in Rome. The staff, Justine and Anca, were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Their restaurant suggestion ended up being our favorite Rome dinner. We stayed in the apartment (85 steps up but worth it) and a compact first floor room. We are looking forward to our next stay at Casa Banzo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sienahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    56
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This B&B was amazing. I couldn't recommend it enough.
The location was perfect, we were bang in the middle of everything. We visited almost all of the sights and we didn't have to use any form of transport. Everything was walkable.
The room was so lovely. We stayed in the "Celeste". It was a large room with gorgeous decor. I stayed with my parents, and we all had enough room and we didn't feel crammed at all. The room was nice and cool even when it was 35C outside. We didn't even have to turn on the AC! The only bad thing about the room was the the bathroom door was very stiff and hard to shut. The wifi also didn't work very well, but that didn't really matter as there was so much more to be occupied with in Rome. Also, there's sometimes a bit of noise, but that's expected in the centre of a city.
The building itself was built in the 16th Century and had a large courtyard with most rooms facing off of it. It was so beautiful.
The breakfast was lovely, there was quite a lot of choice and it was all delicious!
The staff were so attentive and cheerful. They made sure our stay was perfect.
The area around Casa Banzo was so beautiful. There were lots of great restaurants with lots of traditional Roman food. Campo de' Fiori was very close which was great as it was so ambient.
We had a fantastic stay and would happily go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celinexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

There was very little availability for lodging in Rome during our planned stay in June 2013. I think I found the hotel from a very old online article in Travel and Leisure - and then looked at Tripadvisor reviews. This is one of the most amazing properties I've ever stayed in. I believe it was built in the late 1700s. You walk in the enormous doors to the building and are really transported away. The courtyard, old stained glass, staircases.. everything is amazingly authentic and beautiful. The location is very central - close to all the sights. Everything is walkable in 20 minutes or less.

We booked the Deluxe Suite - which I recommend. The room has nearly 20 foot ceilings, wood paneled, and paintings all across the top. There are large windows so there is plenty of natural light. The room very large with a sitting area and good sized bathroom. Daily cleaning service had the room very clean - there's the same person that cleans the room every day.

Justine is the individual you will interact most. She manages the reservations, property, and runs the entire place. She is on-site as early as 8am and is at the property quite late (7 or 8pm). She is always reachable by cell and is very accommodating, helpful, resourceful, and cheerful. I know the place is a B&B, but with Justine there it feels like a boutique hotel with great service. I was very impressed with her.

The breakfast is not much to write about. That isn't really a negative comment - as the room, value, etc. are just fine without the breakfast. I enjoyed having a cup of coffee and a small bite first thing in the morning without having to worry about anything. We usually grabbed more breakfast food or a morning snack later anyway. (Don't miss Rocioli's - the bakery/pizza and salumeria/restaurant locations that are about a block away. Also, we got fresh juices in Campo de' Fiori most mornings, which is less than a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrldtrvlrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This small B&B set in a tranquil courtyard has absolutely the best location of any place we have stayed on our trips to Rome. Add to that tasteful and immaculately clean rooms, a peaceful atmosphere, and an incredibly attentive and gracious staff, and you need look no further for your next stay. This delightful place will be our home for all our visits in the future.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lauriecoconutgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Great location. The staff was superb and the room was beautiful!! We would recommend Casa Banzo to anyone staying in Rome. We particularly appreciated the staff who assisted us with everything from great restaurant recommendations to calling the cab fr an early morning departure. The bedroom was elegant and the bed amazingly comfortable. The couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We are facing the Plaza but it was still very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyseattleSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Casa Banzo Bed and Breakfast is located in the center of the center of ancient Rome. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring all parts of the city, and if you are in normal shape, you will not be needing anything but your legs for transport. We were three girls from Norway travelling to Rome in may for the second, third and fifth time respectively. Our tripple room was on the first floor right next to the reception. This resulted in perfectly quiet nights, which is quite rare. One minus was that the room only had rather thin glass doors. An other was that there was not too much hot water in the morning. (This was however rather refreshing). The rooms are spacious and clean! The service was splendid from the first mail to the last departure; we felt very welcome. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but in Italy it usually isn't. We prefered to have some bread with jam and some tea there before heading to the nearest bar for a cappucino and freshly baked cornetto. I will definately recommend Casa Banzo to anyone travelling to Rome. There are not many other options with the same standards and location with that price. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SiriSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This B&B is really very special and beautiful, it is set amongst the pretty back streets in a nice part of town on a busy square. The entrance is through a lovely old wooden door, into a picturesque plant-filled courtyard, which It is peaceful and very 'Roman'. We stayed in the deluxe room which was stunning - high ceilings (wood-panelled) with beautfiul frescoes around the top sides, antique furniture and two lovely big shuttered windows over-looking the sqaure. It was huge! And very clean and comfortable. It felt very authentic and really added to our Rome experience! It's really a very special room - lots of character and so much nicer than some generic hotel room. I didn't see any of the other rooms but the rest of the B&B is very pretty (see photos) - a lovely central traditional courtyard, lots of lovely plants and other beautiful features.The breakfast room is very pretty but a bit on the small side (you might have to share a table with other guests if the B&B is full)
For the price you can't beat the location really - it is very central & in a buzzy little part of town with shops and restaurants on your doorstep. We walked everywhere from the B&B (literally everywhere - the Colosseum, Vatican, Pantheon, etc) but there is a tram line very close if you'd prefer. It is also an easy stroll (past a fab gelateria) over the river to Trastevere which is a beautiful area to stroll around full of perfect little trattorias. It's also very very close to the Jewish Quarter which is gorgeous - and the restaurants there are lovely (the speciality there is fresh fried artichoke, and courgette flowers stuffed with mozzarella & anchovies - yum!)
The staff at the B&B are lovely - we met 2 very friendly and helpful ladies, one who manned reception / breakfast (with perfect English) and another lovely girl who cleaned the rooms. We were very much given the keys and left to our own devices which is what we like - we came and went as we pleased - it was more like having a little apartment for the weekend then staying in a B&B. We felt very indepedent. So if you prefer more of a 24/7 hotel reception / concierge service then this is probably not the place for you.
The only slight dissapointment for me was the breakfast - it was just store-bought cakes, cereal, and some bread. It would have been nice to have just a bowl of fruit salad and maybe a few yoghurt pots, or just some bananas and apples! Just something fresh/healthy would have been nice. And like I said the breakfast room was very pretty but rather small, so we had to share a table once while we were there which is not my ideal when on holiday really.
Like I said the Deluxe room was stunning - although it was very clean (and it was thoroughly cleaned every day that we were there) it did smell a little musty but I think that is becase of the antique furniture and the age of the room. There was a lot of noise from the street - traffic noise and a bit of chatting/shouting, and also a huge clock that starts chiming at 8am every 15 mins! But I thought that added to the atmosphere. The street noise was a bit of a pain - but the room was so beautiful that we didnt really mind! But something to bear in mind if you are a light sleeper.
Overall I loved my stay here and I would love to go back - the location was unbeatable, the room and other communal areas were really traditional and beautiful, and the staff were lovely. A special place in Rome, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Deluxe room! Only a little bit more expensive than the others and it is stunning and so spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sophfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#177 of 1,257 in Rome
1,029 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
Campo de' Fiori Boutique
#1,029 of 3,644 in Rome
15 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Maison Giulia
Maison Giulia
#103 of 3,644 in Rome
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
#45 of 3,644 in Rome
336 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
Chroma Apt Campo de Fiori
#213 of 1,093 in Rome
11 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residence Regola
Residence Regola
#283 of 3,644 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Banzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banzo

Property: Casa Banzo
Address: Piazza del Monte di Pieta' 30, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place in Rome Nestling in a small square in the heart of Reinassance Rome on the remains of the ancient city, the 16th century palace was originally built for the noble family Alibrandi. The 18th century additions and subsequent renovation over the centuries have but added to the splendour. For four generations the building has belonged to the family now offering their unusually attractive bed & breakfast rooms and selfcatering apartments for discerning visitors to Rome. Their constant concern is maintaining their same traditionally high standards and ensuring the wellbeing of their guests and visitors of Rome. Great attention is paid to detail: antique furnishings and quality decor alongside modern amenities as well as the friendly but discreet sevice, make this private dwelling a very special selfcatering apartment in Rome. Casa Banzo hospitality begins in the stunning reception hall, with its stained glass and vaulted frescoed ceiling, continues in the comfort of the selfcatering apartments or bed & breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Banzo Hotel Rome
Casa Banzo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing