We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owners, good non-touristy neighborhood, great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
That's Amore Holidays Hotel
Ranked #2,394 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2011

B&B Bologna is really more like an apartment in a residential neighborhood, away from more "touristy" areas, but very convenient by bus or subway to anywhere in Rome. The owner, Daniella, and her daughter Micaela are every bit as wonderful as described in other reviews here, offering tips on how to get around Rome, recommendations for places in the local area to eat, and more.

We and our three teenage children stayed in a two room, two bath apartment that was on the same floor as the owner's apartment. It was spotlessly clean, and had a small kitchenette where breakfast was available. Other reviewers have complained about the breakfast, but we found it to be typical of what we've had in bed and breakfast places throughout Italy -- granola, packaged pastries, juices, milk, an assortment of teas, and brewed coffee -- and certainly adequate. There was also a fruitstand about 75 feet outside the front door of the building with a wide assortment of fresh fruit if you need more than that.

While we were there, the air conditioning in one of the rooms was not working properly -- it couldn't be repaired during the few days we were there. They apologized and without us even asking, brought in fans and reduced the room rate. Finally, the night before we left, Daniela brought in a note telling us that the local transit -- which we were planning to use to get to the train station the next morning -- was going to be on strike that day. Micaela volunteered to take all five of us, with our luggage, to the train station in her small car and wouldn't even accept any payment for doing so -- well above and beyond anything I would expect!

Bottom line: a clean, comfortable, reasonably-priced, friendly, convenient place to stay in Rome. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimandmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

Nice place. Please improve this thing you call breakfast. Even for Italian breakfast this is nothing. We kept skipping it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DariOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Comfortable guest house, convenient location and very reasonable prices for Rome. Daniella was absolutely lovely and really made our stay that more special. Pretty much on top of the metro and right outside a bus stop where you could get a bus at all hours to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BananaTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

In July of 2009 we stayed here with our son, daughter-in- law and grandaughter. We shared the 2 rooms of the 3rd floor apartment and fell under the spell of Daniella and her fluent English speaking daughter, Micaela. There is a small elevator, but we tried to use the stairs in expiation for all the food we were enjoying. This year,2010, my husband and I (50 years married) stayed at B&B Bologna for 20 nights in September and October. We had a huge bedroom with shared balcony overlooking the Piazza and a private bathroom outside the door of our room, a very satisfactory arrangement as the other room in the apartment had a bath ensuite. We were the only guests for several of the nights, but when there were others, we rarely met them. Our bed was comfortable and the entire space was spotlessly clean for the entire stay. Since our stay was long, bed linens and towels were changed frequently. The breakfast included packaged pasteries, cheese, butter, jam and cereals, wonderful coffee and tea and fruit and vegetable juices. We carried our breakfast to the balcony on a tray and watched the neighborhood come awake. The flower lady set up her stall and used the water from the flowing faucet in the piazza in front of the Forno and Dolce shop where fresh bread was being sold. People hurried to the Metro, kids walked to school. The old lady in the apartment across the piazza aired her bedding on the sill and checked out the happenings on the piazza. At night whole families and couples walk around the Piazza, talking, shopping and just enjoying the air. The Metro is steps from the building, 3 stops from Termini. The 62 bus, which starts at the Piazza Bologna, is all you need for most of the tourist sights and the Vatican. The neighborhood has several fine restaurants and lots of more casual dining. We never had a poor meal. The supermarket sells fine wine at prices that made me wish I could fill my luggage with bottles. There are some fine shops, as well as modest shops all through the neighborhood. We heard mostly Italian spoken, since few tourists were in evidence. Daniella and Micaela were helpful with all the information you might need while exploring Rome. I had recommended this guesthouse to one of my students and her husband and they too were very satisfied. We hope to return in a few years, it feels like a home in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlin_MarylandBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The lady speaks a little English and her daughter speaks it well. There is a room with a bathroom and rooms with share bathrooms. The owner is fantastic and very willing to help you! The location is perfect for visiting Rome, the subway takes you with three stops to Termini station and the centre of Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alt148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The family that owns the B&B is incredibly kind and they run a great operation. The B&B is basically a large apartment in a nice building in a nice, more "local" kind of neighborhood. You're a 20 second walk to the nearest metro stop (Bologna), and you can be at almost any of the major sights in Rome within 20-30 minutes including walk time.

Our room was gigantic! On a couple of nights, we were the only people in the apartment, but even when we had neighbors, it was nice. There is a full bath and a half bath that all of the rooms share, but it's not really much of a problem. The small kitchen is plenty for cooking simple meals or simply storing some snacks or drinks. The morning breakfast spread is pretty nice with plenty of hot coffee, milk, juice (try the Ace!), and pastries.

If you have a choice, try to get a room toward the front door, because the WiFi signal is very weak toward the back of the apartment. We would just sit in the hall by the door if we really needed to use the computer, but when you're in Rome there are a million better things to do, so it wasn't a huge deal.

I'd certainly stay here again, even if cost were no object. It's certainly basic, but very comfortable and perfectly located. There are a number of good restaurants in the immediate area that the daughter will tell you about, and they are all good. The pizza shop across the street sells good pizza for an incredible deal. Also, the supermarket (Sma) down the street is well-stocked for all your needs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellhellsbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Rome, you have to check B&B Bologna above all others. From the second we arrived it was fantastic. The owners could not be nicer people. I honestly believe if we would have needed to sleep on their own personal couch they would have let us. It is a great location, extremely easy to get to anywhere in Rome. There is a bus stop directly outside that runs to the Vatican and all points in between. There is also great food in the safe and quite surrounding neighborhood. We really could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#218 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to That's Amore Holidays Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about That's Amore Holidays Hotel

Address: Piazza Bologna 6, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,394 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £58 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious squares of Downtown Rome, 20 yards from Metro stop "Stazione Bologna", which easily connects you to all major touristic, historic, commercial and business attractions of the Eternal City, is awaiting for you the BED & BREAKFAST BOLOGNA, comfortable inn for the tourist or businessman, where a custom reception goes hand on hand with a friendly atmosphere and where we welcome you speaking English, French, Portuguese and Spanish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing