We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel with an exceptional location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #78 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel with an exceptional location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Spent a week here in June (today's my last day) and quite enjoyed my stay.
A couple of little hiccups to report, the main one being the extremely poor wireless internet at the beginning of our stay. After trying to resolve the issue with reception, to no avail, I quickly asked Adrienne (I believe she is the Customer Relations Manager) to help out, which she set out to do in a very professional and efficient manner. Problem solved after a couple of hours - wow! Hadn't witnessed that kind of efficiency at any hotel I've stayed at before. (A note to Adrienne's boss(es): that one is a keeper!)
As many reviewers have already pointed out, the location of this hotel is the best part about it. Also, the staff is generally kind and helpful, although they would gain at being a little more efficient at times. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is really nice (although it can get quite repetitive after three or four days) and their upstairs restaurant (Circus on the Roof?) serves exquisite food. I would recommend that they implement a more efficient way of booking tables there though: my partner and I booked a table with one of the hotel receptionists on Friday evening for Saturday evening, and when we showed up at the restaurant shortly after 8 Saturday night, they told us they did not have a reservation in our name. Very frustrating, especially when they keep you waiting, standing in the middle of the place, while they try to sort it out. I would recommend that the restaurant issue a note confirming the reservation and that the note be delivered to the guestroom, like what is commonly done on cruise ships. Reception simply has to inform the person who makes the booking to call back if they do not get their written confirmation delivered within a certain time frame. That is just a suggestion, but I'm sure there would be an easy way for the hotel to avoid these kinds of situations which, based on the staff's reaction that night in the restaurant, doesn't seem to be that uncommon.
Another suggestion: the hotel should provide a bar of soap instead of liquid soap only to wash one's hands in the bathroom (or else they should provide a liquid soap dispenser in the rooms like they do in the washrooms located near the hotel lobby). Plus, housekeeping should automatically replenish the toiletries and coffee pods when they clean the room (we had to keep asking for these items during our stay).
Apart from these minor irritants, Hotel Fortyseven is a really nice, inviting, professionally run hotel with comfortable rooms and a location that cannot be beat in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I clearly remember who you are and your connection problem! You were very complimentary on my behalf. Thank you for your lovely words.
Balanced improvement recommendations are always greatly appreciated by our Guests and we will definitely consider yours.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    446
    108
    29
    21
See reviews for
282
985
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I read a number of reviews of hotels on this site before choosing this hotel. There were too things that stood out, the reviews and the focus the hotel team put in responding. This demonstrates the importance of customer service. It shows.

From the moment we arrived, Michela made us feel welcome, gave us helpful advice on getting around Rome, providing a map and explaining the areas. We had pre-booked a table in the restaurant. I didn't want to put any emphasis this being a special occasion for me, as I knew from reviews, we would be treated brilliantly anyway. The reservation provided the perfect table, overlooking the nearby sights. I pre-empted a bottle of sparkling wine to arrive, and it was so smoothly delivered. The meal was the best I've had in a long time. We were even presented with chocolates at the end of the meal (which we couldn't possibly refuse). Finally, we asked for help booking a taxi and within a couple of minutes one pulled up outside, that's how responsive the team are to your requests.

Our room was fantastic. Clean, spacious, modern. Facilities great. Only a little noise (bearing in mind one of the nights was the busiest in the year so far and traffic around was amazing to see for bank holiday). I don't think any hotel in such a prime location could mask the sound of the police sirens around Rome. So, considering all, it was excellent.

Which brings me onto location, which is brilliant. Once you realise how close you are to sights such as Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Bocca della Verità, you can get around so easily. We even walked across to the Pantheon in about 20 minutes.

My family will be visiting Rome next year and I would strongly recommend they book this hotel. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Third floor corner room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the great review and pointing out how lovely Michela is.
We are lucky to have her as part of our 47 Team!
Next time around we’ll do our best to tone down the sirens!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and immaculate. The location is perfect too - close to all of the main sights. The staff were extremely obliging and friendly. It is an excellent base for a stay in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneT764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Did you write two excellents in the review title?!
I do believe there is another excellent in the last sentence!
Thanks for making my head ‘spin’!!!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This boutique hotel was recommended by some friend's and didn't disappoint. Conveniently located walking distance from major sites, breakfast included, and very reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels. We were given a map upon our arrival and shown how to get to sites and restaurants. Staff was very helpful! Our room was quiet, service was great. We only had drinks at the rooftop restaurant which had a very nice view. I would highly recommend this hotel on your next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as Rome can be quite noisy although we had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review. Thanks for the recommendation!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We can't say enough great things about this hotel! We just returned from Rome - we stayed 7 nights at FortySeven for a vacation with our 21 year old son who was staying on to study in Rome for the summer. The hotel has everything you could ask for....clean, modern rooms with comfy beds and a great bathroom with a good shower. Even the towels were great - large bath towels that were soft and bathrobes and slippers! The location is perfect - right by the old ruins and walking distance to everything - but not in the middle of the real touristy area like the Spanish Steps or Piazza Navona. Real easy walk to Trastevere, which is unbelievably cool. The staff was amazing! So helpful in every way. All of them spoke sufficient English and put up with our pathetic attempts at some Italian (and some spoke Spanish which was good too for us). No request was unreasonable - Stefania helped us with getting around, and Rocky even got us an extra pillow at midnight! Totally safe area and a bus stop right out the door. The restaurant on top was amazing. Food was great as was the service. A bit pricey, but they gave us a nice discount. (Hotel was not inexpensive, but worth the money.) The buffet breakfast was perfect - American style and European style choices - all fresh and delicious. There was a great gym in the lower level, which our son appreciated. We really weren't sure about where to stay, since we had never been in Rome and had no idea about the neighborhoods. But FortySeven was the perfect place - we were so lucky to have picked it! Thank you to all the stuff who made our stay so comfortable. It was great to stay in one place to call a temporary home. They are even environmentally sensitive - lights in the hall have motion sensors, etc. And, my son left behind some stuff and they are nice enough to hold onto it until he picks up. I would never stay anywhere else in Rome and highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHNJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that ‘It was great to stay in one place to call a temporary home’.
This says it all, doesn’t it?!
Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Fortyseven Hotel for 4 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is truly spectacular, close to all of the main sights and across the bridge from Trastavere. The only time we had to take a cab was during a visit to Vatican City. The hotel itself is elegant with a lovely view, from many rooms and from the rooftop restaurant, of temples and of the Tiber river. There are many other useful amenities including desktop computers in the lounge area and a very pleasant breakfast space. The rooftop restaurant is a must for an evening meal!

Room Tip: Ask and if necessary pay extra for one of the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the great review and pointing out our Rooftop Circus Restaurant! We just recently changed the menu to better fit the warmer season. Did you try the ‘mango, lime and pepper parfait with raspberry elixir’ for dessert?! Our Chef, Vito Grippa and all his Staff always do their best to give us their best!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here and had a great experience! The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The location is great. Walk to everything! Near trastavere and a short walk to Spanish steps, trevi fountain via del Corso. The breakfast was very nice and better than I had anticipated. The front desk staff was very helpful. They recommended good restaurants and helped us quite a bit with our stay. Everyone spoke English.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryPieSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Perfection is a tough one, but we’ll accept the compliment even it’s a hard one to live up to!!! Thank you.
It’s nice to be able to speak ‘your language’ in a foreign country when you come back to the hotel to relax. Do you know that some of our reception Staff speak 5 languages?!
My best,
Adrienne Bini
Personal Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing