We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Wonderful Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #75 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We recently stayed at the 47 and found it a wonderful experience. After touring Italy, we ended up in Rome. We were glad to have 47 as our station to explore. The hotel's accommodations were great: modern, comfortable, and stylish. Best were the staff: they greeted us with enthusiasm, showed us where to go, attended to our needs, and went the extra mile. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: If on a business trip, ask for a back room for absolute quiet. Otherwise, you may find yourself wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management, and all staff members I thank you for your kind and enthusiastic review! We are all so happy to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations and we all hope to welcome you here once again!
warm regards,

Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    459
    109
    30
    21
See reviews for
292
1,009
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great hotel, good location and very helpful staff. We stayed here for our tenth wedding anniversary and we received a complementary bottle of bubbly - nice touch! Could not fault the hotel would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel and with Tripadvisor readers! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here during such a special occasion! Congratulations!
We truly hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!

Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Fortyseven is a bit of a walk from the nearest metro stop, but it’s a scenic route that begins with the Circus Maximus and ends with surreal proximity to historic sites in all directions. Stepping into this modern, boutique hotel, you’re greeted by friendly and efficient reception staff seated with their laptops in a chic foyer. While the room is spacious and tastefully decorated, housekeeping can be a bit spotty. The cumbersome entertainment hutch, the overly complex TV system and the tight towel rack should also be replaced. But breakfast in the courtyard and spectacular views on the terrace will make you forget all about these minor shortcomings. And for Roman history buffs, this location is truly second to none.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monkeyface09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers!
We truly hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

One word sums it up, all 7 days were Fantastico! After a 7 hr. flight from the US, the last thing we wanted was a long drawn out check in at the front desk. Upon arriving we were greeted by the staff, our luggage immediately sent up to the room, and within minutes so were we. We had booked a Deluxe and were not disappointed. Being a neat freak, the room was spotless. The bedding was extremely comfortable, and there was a huge bathroom with a shower that could easily fit 4 adults. While our room had a view of the city, more importantly it had a motorized shade which enabled us to block light and noises from the outside. In the morning we enjoyed a more than adequate buffet breakfast which consisted of assorted meats, cheeses, yogurts, breads, pastries, jams, jellies, eggs, juices, waters, teas, coffees, cereals, and fresh fruit bowl. A few guests had small children and they had no problem finding foods to satisfy them as well. The staff was always courteous and went out of their way to ensure our every need was met. For ex: When we had to leave at 6:30 am for a tour, they not only called us a cab, but packed us a picnic breakfast. In all of our years of traveling we can say that this level of service is a rarity, and we don’t even know if this would occur in the US, so far it has not. While the saying goes that “bigger is better,” that is not the case here. Fortyseven does not belong to a mega-chain, and they are so much the better for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraH59826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guest,

What a beautiful and well detailed review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review about Hotel Fortyseven!
We are so thrilled every time our guests write such a loving review! This means a lot to all of us here! We really hope that you will come back soon again and we wish all the best!
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our 3rd visit, and the first out of season. We were delighted to be able to dine at the Circus restaurant where the food and service are wonderful. It is 3years since our last visit and so we were relieved to find that the hotel is as good as ever with friendly helpful staff. We have always visited in the summer until now and it was wonderful to have a warm room, hot showers and comfortable beds. Thanks we will be back

Room Tip: All have fabulous views which get better on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management, and all staff members I thank you for your kind and enthusiastic review! We are all so happy to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations and we all hope to welcome you here once again!
warm regards,

Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

my wife and i bookended a cruise at this hotel, for 4 nights total, and it exceeded our expectations. walking distance to everywhere, about 20 minutes to vatican, but we are new york city people so that is nothing for us, but for people over 50, a 10 euro cab ride gets you anywhere in rome in 10 mins. in the summer the hotel is extremely close to the river which has eateries and kiosks all over the place tip all hours of the night. In the hotel the staff was amazingly helpful and kind. the breakfast buffet was sufficient, and the coffee and cappuccinos were awesome, and free w the breakfast, espresso too. the rooms were really nice, the second 2 nights we were upgraded to a balcony and it was great!!! need reservations to the resturaunt, but we didn't bother. the only downfall, ids that it is not very close to any stores or eateries to pick up little things you may want like snacks, or toiletries or anything you forgot at home. great hotel, would definitely stay here again
-little bird

Room Tip: the 5 floor is where the balconies are
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers!
We truly hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Fortyseven hotel in February and found the hotel to be good, rather than 'Great'.
The location of the hotel is perfect. All the main sights are within walking distance for those of a moderate fitness level - even the Vatican is only 30mins away by foot. Every night we strolled across the river to the Trastevere area where there were plenty of very reasonably priced restaurants (under EUR 40 for a delicious meal for 2, including wine). So location-wise, the hotel was ideal for our needs.
The hotel however unfortunately let itself down in a number of areas.

Our room was on the 5th floor (Room 505) as we had booked an executive room so we could have a balcony over-looking the temples. The room itself was small but adequate for a short stay. The room over-looked the busy main road but the double-glazing shut the noise out very well. Unfortunately, we were kept awake by noise from within the hotel. There was a function on the floor above on our first night (meaning the restaurant was out of bounds to hotel guests) and we were kept awake by what sounded like people jumping and running around upstairs, children screaming and shouting and a door slamming which echoed down the staircase next to our room. We experienced a similar thing on our last night when we were kept awake with furniture being dragged and dropped on the floor above. Not a good start and end to our break.

The air-conditioning wasn’t great. The lowest it could be set was 16 degrees but we wondered if the thermostat was working correctly as it certainly felt much warmer than that.

Our room had a Nespresso machine with various pods provided but no instructions of how to use it or what the different pods were (thank goodness for Google...). A kettle and limited selection of tea bags were provided but we had to request milk (which admittedly was promptly and generously provided)

We gave up watching TV as the choice of English language channels was very poor. On holiday, we did not particularly want to watch CNN news, France news or Al Jezzera.......

Don’t expect a post-dinner cocktail (or even an operating bar) if there is a function on the top floor. There was no staff manning the bar downstairs and when we did find someone to serve us (who happened to be the Porter...) we were only able to choose from a very limited selection as the function upstairs took priority.

Breakfast was reasonable, if a little limited (only granola and no museli and only fruit cocktail rather than a fruit bowl) but was replenished well and served to set us up for the day.

Would we stay here again? Regretfully, we’d probably look for an alternative given the choice....

Room Tip: Bring some ear-plugs if you opt for an Executive room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your comments with us and with all Tripadvisors’ readers. I am very happy to hear that the location was “perfect”, indeed it is!
I am surprised to read that you wished your air conditioning could go under 16 degrees in February! May I ask why?
I regret to hear that you were disturbed twice during your stay. Our restaurant, “Circus” on the Roof Garden above your room, is a trendy spot of Rome by now, and from time to time we do host private events, specially organized to our guests, as it happens in every hotel in the world, but however, we have a time limit and all events are done by 23.30. The rooms, as you mentioned, are equipped with double-glazing shut and so you could not hear any noise from the street, apparently what disturbed you were your neighbours but in a hotel we cannot be held responsible for the behaviour of our guests and their children.
Regarding the choice of complimentary drinks in the room, we do offer Original Nespresso coffee capsules, different types of tea and as you said, milk was immediately delivered to your room when you ordered, I’m sure you will agree that being free of charge, the choice cannot be infinite.
We do have two bars in the hotel and when one is closed the other one is open, so that even if we have a private event our guests have the choice to have a drink at Giano’s bar. I feel sorry to hear that you would not come back, but I hope you have a lovely stay wherever you decide to stay in Rome!
best regards,
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,864 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing