We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“47 is a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at Hotel 47 3 times this year! The Location is great. Walk to the Forum, Colosseum, Jewish Getto, etc. The breakfast is lovely, The staff very helpful. I especially commend Alina and Peter. Both were helpful each time I was there. The rooftop restaurant is superb.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JLupino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management and Staff (especially Alina and Pietro!) I thank you for your great and enthusiastic review, but most of all, we thank you for your continuous preference for us and for sharing your experiences with the other readers.
We all hope to have you again (and again) in the future!
warm regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,873)
There are newer reviews for Fortyseven Hotel Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We're still mid way through our stay and I wanted to post our review prior to leaving. So far everything about the hotel has been fantastic. The location makes it easy to walk to all of the local sites, the staff have been super helpful especially Alina. She was able to provide us detailed instructions on when and where to go and how to get there. She is a veritable fountain of knowledge of Rome and it's highlights.

As for other aspects that others have mentioned in previous posts, the wifi is decent but not the best I've ever come across, Road noise is minimal at night especially when the electrical shades are drawn, the restaurant upstairs is very good with a great view. The bed is extremely comfortable and the furnishings and layout of the rooms is very good.

We checked out the fitness center and the gym and sauna are great compared to what's available at other properties in Rome.

Breakfast is limited however Italians aren't big on breakfast I gather.

All in all, we are very pleased to have chosen Hotel 47 and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CongoNatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management, and Alina of course, I thank you for your great review! We are all so happy to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations; this is exactly our goal here at the Fortyseven.
We all hope to have you again in the future!
warm regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights during our visit to Rome. The best thing about the hotel is its ideal location, walking distance to all the important landmarks in the city. The rooms are spacious, specially compared to other hotels in Europe. The rooftop restaurant has good food and a nice view to Rome, however expect to pay for the view. The staff was very helpful guiding us around the city and recommending good restaurants. The only downside was that the wifi signal in the room was not very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review! It is great to know that you liked our location, your room and the restaurant! I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the wi-fi connection, so I apologize for this inconvenient, however I would like to explain that this can happen when we are fully booked and everyone connects their devices at the same time, it is a complimentary service but we are always improving the speed so I hope you will stay with us again and this time you will also appreciate the internet service other than the great location!
Warm regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was both good and bad. It was in a fairly good location - quite close to major tourist attractions and shops, as well as restaurants by the river. Some staff members were helpful while there was one gentleman who was anything but helpful. Rome is very hot in summer so we reported after one very hot, sleepless night - that our air conditioning was not working. Nothing was done. So we complained a second time - still nothing was done. Then we complained again after the third night - and still nothing was done. So my husband figured out how to fix it - the windows had to be sealed firmly shut before the air conditioning would work. The windows of course were shut - but we then had to open and close them very firmly several times before the air condition would finally work. Also, we asked for a quiet room - however were given a room on the main road. So it was extremely noisy. We barely slept for 3 night while we got used to traffic that seemed to go almost all night. Once the air conditioning started working, that drowned out the traffic a bit so we finally slept for the last 2 nights. Secondly, the woman in charge of breakfast was very rude. One day we had an early tour so we were "kindly"offered takeaway breakfasts - which just turned out to contain a pear and some dry toast. We paid for breakfast however, we were not allowed to enter the breakfast even 5 minutes early to grab a pastry and a juice. In fact, my eighteen year old daughter was yelled at for going into the breakfast restaurant - in front of other patrons. The WIFI was also very unreliable. Sometimes it worked and other times not. We had to sit in the hallway to get a connection - but when we asked about it, they just said that's how it is. The foyer was full of people trying to get WIFI connections but it did not seem any better there. On the upside, the breakfast was quite nice. Some of the staff were helpful - booking a taxi for us, showing us things on maps and fixing our incorrect bill on checkout. But it really depended on who was on duty in the foyer. The same gentleman who yelled at my daughter was the same one who failed to do anything about our air conditioner. He was very rude and unhelpful. Also they did not change the sheets once while we stayed there. Apparently, you had to ASK for them to be changed - which we did not know. Also, I got a nasty shock and were totally grossed out when we were leaving and found the bottom half of the sheets were stained - which was not caused by us. See attached. So while the rooms and hotel "looked nice" and was in a good location, the customer service was a huge letdown and the noise of the front rooms was just about unbearable. Also, we were given an in-hotel credit was we were told was only for use in the restaurant - but on checkout found it could have been used for mini bar which would have come in very handy had we known.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madonna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is great to know that you liked our location! We are a “green” hotel and respect the environment, for this reason, the air-condition system has a safe mode that stops working when the windows are opened (to save energy), so there was nothing wrong with the air-conditioner and I believe my colleague informed you of that and in fact, when you closed well the window the air-conditioner started to work perfectly. Regarding the change of the sheets, as part of the green program (now very common in hotels around the world) we place a card on the side table of the bed that clearly explains that to obtain a change of sheets every day you have to place the card over your bed before you leave the room, otherwise, we understand that you wish to keep your sheets joining the “green program” and helping to save water, soap that goes into the nature. I am sorry you didn’t read it.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with one of my colleagues at the front office, so I really apologize for this inconvenient, we receive so many reviews praising our staff and in fact I just answered a previous review saying that our staff was “friendly and helpful with no exceptions”!
I hope you will stay with us again and this time you will also appreciate a great service other than the great location!
kind regards,

Danielle Mello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Forty Seven for 6 nights, and we were thoroughly pleased with the experience.

Staff

The hotel staff, with no exceptions, were friendly, courteous, helpful, and rapidly responsive to all of our requests. All we had to do was call the desk, and whatever we needed was immediately taken care of.

Service

1. Somehow the hotel knew we were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and soon after checking in we got a knock on our door and there was a hotel staff member delivering a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice with 2 champagne glasses and a plate of fruit. We were amazed and touched!

2. Our flight landed early in the morning, and we arrived at the hotel several hours before check-in time. The hotel kindly allowed use to check in early, as soon as we arrived. We realize that this cannot always be done, as it depends on when the room is vacated by the previous occupants, but it's nice that the hotel is willing to accommodate this if it is able to. In our case, it made all the difference because we were able to settle in and immediately freshen up after our flight.

3. During our stay, we had made several reservations for entry into sites in Rome, and were emailed vouchers which needed to be printed out. The hotel offered to print out whatever we needed them to (which, importantly, also included our boarding passes for the way home when we checked in online 24 hours prior to the flight) -- we would simply email to the hotel whatever we needed them to print, and they would deliver the printouts to our door shortly thereafter. This is a really thoughtful service that is a big help for a traveller.

4. The wifi internet service in the rooms works fine, and was adequate for our basic vacation needs (checking email, "what's-apping" our children, etc.)

Facility

The hotel is modern and clean.

The beds were wonderfully comfortable, and the pillows were plush and luxurious.

Each window has room darkening shades which can be raised or lowered electrically at the touch of a button at the bedside, and these shades were so fantastically effective at blocking out all light, AND all sound, that we slept deeply and well for each of our 6 nights at the hotel -- we commented to each other that our sleep during our time in the hotel was more refreshing than it's been in years!

The bathroom is spacious, clean, and well appointed; the shower head provided great hot water at excellent pressure, and the hotel robes and slippers were a luxuriant touch.

The balcony outside our room was a pleasure to have, with excellent views of the streets of Rome and the ancient temples across the street.

The in-room safe was nice to have, and the closets are large.

We recommend that you ask the hotel for an outlet strip which they provide upon request, as without it there were not quite enough electrical outlets. With a strip, it's perfect.

The air-conditioning works beautifully, and was a great pleasure. It was wonderful to return to our room after a long day in the hot Roman sun. Our room temperature was always comfortable and perfect.

Religious note: This hotel works well for religious Jewish travelers, as the hotel provides physical metal keys to open your door on Shabbos (the Sabbath). The card key that usually is used for opening the door also controls the electricity in the room, so that when you leave the room with your card key on any regular day, the electricity in the room turns off (except for the air conditioning which always stays on no matter what). For Shabbos, we left a do-not-disturb sign on our door, and simply left the card key in the room when we walked out of our door so the electricity stayed exactly as it was. And then to enter the room later on, we used the physical metal key that the hotel gave us. We kept that metal key with us on a Shabbos belt, but you can also just leave the key with the hotel and ask them to give it to you when you come back. The entrance into the hotel is through automatically-opening doors, but the hotel staff was familiar with Shabbos, and without us needing to say anything or ask anything, as soon as they saw us approach, someone would immediately get up and open the doors that we couldn't come in.

Location

We were so happy with the location of the hotel, which was basically I. Walking distance of every place we wanted to visit. From the hotel, we were able to walk to the Vatican, the Jewish Ghetto (3 minute walk to the Great Synagogue of Rome and numerous kosher restaurants), the Vittoriano, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Quirinale, Roman Forum and Colliseum, Circus Maximus, etc. etc.

Overall, we would highly recommend Hotel Forty Seven, and would definitely stay there again on a next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USFamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management, and all staff members I thank you for your beautiful and enthusiastic review! We are all so happy to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations and we all hope to welcome you here again in the future, and please recommend us for your friends coming to Rome!
warm regards from Rome,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Wow we were so happy at the 47 Hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service of the people who work there is amazing. The location was next to so many wonderful ruins and parts of roman history. Enjoy the morning breakfast. Highly recommend the 47.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers!
We truly hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm regards from Rome!
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the WiFi was not working, and we were assigned to a room with no free electrical outlets. We eventually found a usable outlet (meant for the heater, but not needed in May). The drawback to this outlet was that it was located directly over the bidet, which created a dangerous positioning of water near 220 volts of electricity.

We requested a different room, but were not able to get one until after our 2nd night there. Meanwhile, the WiFi was fixed after being off the entire 1st evening of our stay.

When we were moved to our new room, the storm was finally over. This room had two usable outlets and a better view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jtp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. All our rooms have electrical outlets, but if you needed more, maybe it would have been safer to just disconnect one of the taken ones to connect your electrical device instead of using the one in the bathroom creating “a dangerous situation”. I am glad to hear that it was sorted out when you were moved to another room and very happy to know that the summer storm finished the following day, allowing you to enjoy a better whether during your stay.

Kind regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#32 of 1,267 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,967 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £155 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing