We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Ranked #74 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL!”
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Our first visit to Italy was absolutely superb, largely due to the wonderful staff at Hotel 47! They were not only helpful, but warm and friendly, and we looked forward to "going home" after a long day of sight-seeing! The entire hotel is very clean, with bright, well-appointed spaces and large rooms. We stayed in a standard room for a whole week and it never felt too tight or small. As a matter of fact, we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the bedroom and bathroom, and the amount of closet/storage space within. The location is convenient to all the sights of ancient Rome, and for the sights that are further away, there's a bus stop just steps away from the entrance. [The buses and metro make it very easy to get around Rome.] Special thanks to Mayi, Alina, Andrea and Loredana, who made our stay so memorable! We look forward to returning in the future!

  • Liked — The staff, decor, ambience.
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseofJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    458
    109
    30
    21
See reviews for
292
1,008
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The 47 Hotel is located in the Ancient quarter, so there are Roman ruins everywhere you look. Although it is not close to restaurants and shops, it's a lot quieter than many other areas of Rome. The rooms are large, clean and modern (in a tasteful way). I like that the bathroom was large by European standards and trendy. They had one of those large round shower heads that drench you which is great after a day of walking in the heat.

At first I thought the service was a bit standoffish and some information supplied wasn't really helpful. Try catching a bus without a ticket, then finding out that we could actually buy them from the Hotel! Waste of time. However most were approachable and friendly. In particular the waitress on the rooftop restaurant - lovely.

The beds were very comfortable. The amenities were great. The internet didn't work but we coped.

Breakfast selection was good and there was bacon and scrambled eggs (or looked like scrambled eggs - what is it with Hotels and fake eggs?) was available.

If you can't be bothered walking somewhere for dinner, do try the rooftop restaurant. Book. You can watch the sunset behind St Peter's Basillica. The food and wine is really good quality and the service was very good. My sister didn't order an entree but the Chef made her a little dish anyway. How nice is that? It is a little on the expensive side but spoil yourself and have a wonderful Roman experience.

This Hotel was a little expensive but really well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed at the fortyseven for our wedding in Rome and the hotel was fabulous. Our deluxe room was excellent and had a huge balcony. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the colosseum etc but not too noisy.
We will definitely be staying here next time we come to Rome

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SybilVimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at the 47 in Rome over the May bank holiday. The hotel was spotless and the service was great through out our stay. This hotel for me ticked all the boxes, after having searched nearly all 1400 of them this comes up top! You will not be disappointed. Breaksfast was definately worth the money and most certainly not skimped on when ordered to the room. We did not eat at the restaurant on site as there are so so many places to eat. A great chinese we found (the best i have ever eaten to be honest) was the Tien Tsin on Via Capo le Case 55, Rome.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I stayed at the Fortyseven hotel 5/16-5/19, also stayed there May of 2008. This hotel is truly wonderful, rooms are contemporary and sleek, breakfast is wonderful, location is awesome. Walking distance to many historical sites. It's a bit on the pricey side (about $330/nt) but really worth every penny. I've stayed at a 3 other hotels in Rome in the past, I would not stay anywhere else in the future. Rooms are fairly large, staff are SO friendly and helpful. Really no complaints whatsoever! This hotel should have a higher rating on tripadvisor!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Our first night at the Forty-Seven was a disaster! We had a very nice upgraded room on a corner of the hotel facing the street. We were up all night as the street traffic (even at 3:00 am) was extremely loud. The hotel is apparently aware of this as they have electric shutters to help block out the sounds of traffic but that was not enough. We told the managment the next morning and they were reluctant to move us to an alternate room. They finally did when we told them we would check out of the hotel that day, moving to an alternate hotel. They finally agreed and we were moved to a smaller, and much quieter room near the back of the property. After that our experience was excellent! The rooms are extremely clean and very modern!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0wgirli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford NJ
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Amazing bathroom, Amazing bed= amazing room. The hotel is very nice, its modern and very clean. The shower was amazing. We had a deluxe corner room on the third floor, it had very nice views. We did not have any problems with noise. We slept with the windows open on 2 nights.

The location is great. I recommend going to trastevere for dinner. There are plenty of places to choose from and it takes under 10 minutes to walk there. Our favorite was La Scala. There is a Despar market about 8 blocks away. We purchased water, wine and beer to keep in the room for after a long day. It saved us a lot of money.

The daytime desk staff was very helpful, I suggest asking for dinner recomendations from them before you start your day. The night clerk was unhelpful and made poor suggestions.

The breakfast was fine for me, I had a yogurt, toast and an espresso every morning. They have meats, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausages and cereals. the breakfast is over at 10:30 but get there early if you want to sit in the courtyard. They close it around 10:15am. One morning we were in the middle of eating breakfast at 10:20 am, they asked us to go inside and finish because they were closing the outside. I understand not letting additional people sit outside but why make us get up and move with our food after we have been sitting there for over 10 minutes already.

I would stay here again, this was my fourth trip to europe and this was the best hotel I have stayed in there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdm154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Property: Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Business Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing