We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa di Piero al Vaticano
Ranked #912 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Piero and his son are outstanding people. I got a 5 stars service in this bed and breakfast. The place is clean, new and faces on Via Ottaviano - no noise. Less new and a little dark the option in Borgo Pio but great location. The breakfast is a bit poor but Piero is open to add what you like, he is really sweet.
I would recommend this place to anyone. I was there for work. I could sleep well and feel comfortable. I will send friends and relatives. Bye Bye Piero. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    29
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
27
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

La Casa di Piero was the 1st place we stayed when we got to Italy. When we got there, Piero welcomed us at the entrance door to show us the way up to our room. Even with the language barrier, he was patient enough to explain us everything.

PROS: The 2 most important things I look for when traveling is the cleanness and security. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean it was. The cleaning lady came every day and to get to our room we needed 3 different keys. Even the big wood front entrance door was locked. The room is located on the last floor and there is an elevator (surprisingly big for Europe) to bring you upstairs.

CONS: The breakfast was 1 apricot croissant and jus or coffee/person. Not enough to sustain us for our big touring days.

In all, I would strongly recommend this place. It is very central and close to all the Vatican City attractions. Piero was a great host and made sure we were ok our hole stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariehbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Accommodation was of an excellent location and very close to the Vaticain. The managers were very friendly and speak English better than our Italian!! They were very helpful with tips for getting about and ensuring our stay was an easy and comfortable experience.
The room was extremely clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable, nice shower and away from any noise.
If you like to stay clear of a standard hotel with no character and you are a laid back traveller who appreciates the culture and language barrier, unless you have taken the time to learn Italian then this is the place to stay!
Thoroughly enjoyed the whole Rome experience in November it was a beautiful 20oc perfect for walking and sight seeing.
Would recommend to there’s and would defiantly return.
Thank you, Mr and Mrs Astley (Giles)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location is really close to Vaticano.
Inside it has each comfort you need.
The head is really gently.
I'll come back!
You can rent a bike, and it's free. I suggest to book a bike before you arrive.
The location is really in the center of Rome, and, by night, you can go to trastevere, Campo dei Fiori, Testaccio, all by bike.
Rome is full of night life, in summer and in winter. I was there in august and it was full of people each night, each street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GruppoIngegneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We searched booking.com for rooms accommodating a family of 4; for 3 adults and 1 child (14y) and this location turned up as a triple room with the option of adding an extra bed. As it was close to major attractions like the vatican city, we made the booking.

However on arrival, there were many instances whereby this place disappointed us.

Firstly there was no triple room available. The place is a small apartment with 2 rooms and a living room converted into an extra room. All the rooms only contained a double bed, with the living room having an extra set of sofas. So no triple room, and furthermore, no extra bed.

We realized that there was a miscommunication on arrival as they only expected 3, but we had 4. The girl who welcomed us did not speak English, and apparently, neither did the boss. Using google translate and her conversing on the phone with the boss, it was agreedQ that we would use both double rooms for the same price as we had 4.

The night before we were due to leave, the boss apparently rescinded the original agreement. He descended upon us without prior communication. With the aid of an american occupant who spoke some italiano, we were able to converse. The boss kept insisting that the booking was for 3 instead of 4 and that 3 was maximum. Although we understand that there might have been miscommunication via the internet, this issue should have been settled on the first day, instead of waiting until literally the last moment to increase the fees.

What also disappointed us was the attitude of the boss. He spoke entirely to the translator, but directed nothing towards us, pretending that we did not exist. Furthermore, he spoke quite harshly with lots of gesturing, none of which was translated or transmitted to us.

The issue was settled by us paying more for the overall stay, but this had to be a black mark on our roman holiday.
1. Rooms promised on booking.com did not exist; no triple rooms available, neither were there extra beds provided.
2. Breakfast provided was bread, eggs with juice/milk/coffee - all self-service, even with the boiling of coffee, scrambling eggs etc.
3. Attitude of the boss was disappointing and honestly quite infuriating
4. The aircon in one of the rooms leak =_=

Conclusion: would only recommend this place if you are traveling as a pair, or if you spoke italiano.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank painfulfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at La Casa di Piero al Vaticano, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor, I'm Pier Paolo Degl'innocenti, I was born in Roma 08-07-1978 and I am the owner of LA CASA DI PIERO AL VATICANO. Our accommodation is newly built (march 2012) and has only recently been placed on your website. I'd like to respond to feedback given by a recent customer as follows:
1) I never personally visit the site, and so I have never met the customer in question: he spoke with one of the service maintenance and with another customer of a different room.
2) The customer made the reservation through booking and stated that they misunderstood him. However it's unlikely to be the case as they have a very high standard of english. He booked for three people but came as a group of 4, with two children who didn't want to sleep in the same room. As a result, we gave them a second room so they slept in the Green room and in Orange room (which can be seen on our website). We then had to move the customers who had reserved that room to another BB, closed by, of a different owner.
3) Upon check out, the customer refused even to pay for the fourth person and, with our phone, he called booking in the presence of a collegue. Booking confirmed that the reservation was only for three people. Hence, he paid only 20 euros more per night (despite having made use of an extra room)
4) I'd like to highlight that we are linked to the best booking sites (Booking, Expedia, Venere, Laterooms, Trivago, etc) and this is the first time we have had difficulties in a number of people in a booking.
5) We left many notes in the customer's room to discuss the matter with him, but he never contacted us.
6) The customer wrote that our location and cleaning services are excellent, but was disappointed with the service: this is incorrect. He also wrote that booking service is not good, but booking is not part of our service.
7) The customer also wrote that water was leaking from the air conditioning; for which we thank him. This problem has now been resolved. I thank you for your cooperation with this matter and will be pleased to provide any futher information that may be required. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#540 of 1,259 in Rome
224 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#249 of 1,259 in Rome
584 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#51 of 1,259 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
St Peter Guest House
St Peter Guest House
#107 of 3,669 in Rome
205 reviews
Prati
MDM Luxury Rooms Guesthouse
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Piero al Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Piero al Vaticano

Property: La Casa di Piero al Vaticano
Address: Via Ottaviano 73, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #912 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa di Piero al Vaticano 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome, La Casa di Piero born to the Vatican, a beautiful apartment multifunctional and versatile for any type of requirement B&B or RENTAL HOUSE. Our aim is to provide our customers with all the comforts and services of your own home, with the beautiful setting of the Vatican Museums, Piazza San Pietro, Piazza del Popolo, all within a few meters from our apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa di Piero al Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing