We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Minimal Everything Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Romangelo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romangelo Hostel
Ranked #506 of 1,087 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location, Minimal Everything Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The location was perfect. Just between two metro stations and thus very easy to find and navigate to. The lack of sign is not an issue if you are aware in advance because there is a small sign on the doorbell thing by the door. When I first arrived the staff was friendly and helpful however, as I stayed there, they behaved rather strangely a few times. There are quite a few rules in the hostel, including no computer usage after midnight (because it will disturb other guests...?). I came back around 11:30 one evening and sat down to just check e-mail quickly and the manager snapped and told me the time was up. I responded that it was only 11:30 and it would be fast and he gruffly and begrudgingly said it was fine. The following night I didn't see any of the staff and it was around 10 so I walked to grab a towel and grabbed one and when I turned the manager was there and he once again snapped at me. He was upset that I hadn't asked him and I tried to explain that I didn't see him and didn't know and he continued to chastise me telling me it was "a hostel not my home". Only three bathrooms for the whole hostel, which have both the shower and toilet in them so if people are showering, then you are out of luck. The bedding was clean. Breakfast was filling, but minimal and almost entirely bread, which was strange. Okay to stay for a few nights but probably not for longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWheeler748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
9
16
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Perfect Location hostel near by Termini
Helpful stuff but no clear sign for this hostel to make it easily seen.
the service is good but it's somehow high price hostel for Dormitory but its perfect location makes it worth

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasht
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

it was very close to termini and you are able to access to historical place easily however the room was small a little ,it was calm and clean .you could have a perfect breakfast . the manager was very kind and friendly and helpful.if we come back Rome we will choose it again .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

though close to Roma Termini, this hostel is not convenient for many other reasons
1. nobody knew about the hostel. not even the shopkeeper two doors away
2. it is not marked well and difficult to find. remember the address and street number. don't expect to see a board
3. six in a room, though i knew it before hand. but sleep is difficult. what with snoring men and women
4. weather was cool, AC was not required. in July/August, things could have been different
5. one bathroom/toilet for 15 people. worse than a college hostel
6. breakfast of white bread, marmalade, butter served at 8 am, when most museums expect you to be at the door at 9 am. breakfast ought to begin at 7
7. one of us forgot a cellphone at the reception and lost it. when we asked the manager to look at the CCTV footage to find who had picked it up, he refused to do so, and then said it is not working
8. kitchen closes at 8 pm
9. if you have to wake the manager, he would grumble and frown as if he is doing you a favor
10. no laundry.

good points

1. many eateries nearby, McDonalds right outside termini
2. conveniently close to Termini and Vittor Emanuelle metro stations.
3. tram runs right on the street
4. bus stop close
5. coliseum within walking distance
6. close to Maria Maggiore
7. supermarket close by
8. free computers

we were a group and it was difficult to stay there.

we had booked through booking.com and it was not possible to cancel the reservation without losing all money. so we had to stick to it.

recommended for the single traveller

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunilwizardoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Look let me just say one thing. I made the mistake of trying to save a few bucks and chose this "apartment" in Rome. You can't save a few bucks anywhwere in Rome is one thing I learned. It felt like we were staying in some weird brothel in the middle of China Town. The single room was directly outside the table where all the backpackers hang out!!!! Mostly desperate dudes with nothing to do...except talk all night and keep everyone else AWAKE!! It seriuosly felt as if I was coming out of a room after "paying for a service" with my wife. lol...All the idiots look up at you when you walk outside your room. So weird. It really feels like you are in a house because you ARE!!! The layout is terrible. Something bad is gonna happen there someday if it hasn't all ready. You can just tell. Lighting is dark and depressing. Not worth it. Buy a tent instead with your money and camp! You'll have allot more privacy.

Room Tip: Until the staff starts enforcing "quiet hours" ..all rooms stink!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav777_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent 3 nights in Romangelo hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the hostel facilities weren't so great. The rooms were really small (I stayed in a shared dorm). The location is convenient and the breakfast is awesome. There's not much space to just hang out except for the lobby with computers, which makes interaction with other guest difficult. But if you are just looking to stay for one or two nights, the hostel does have everything you need and it's close to Termini station which is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I saw all the good reviews for this hostel, and I really don't know why. My stay there was terrible, even though im used to share bedrooms in hostels and travel with a low budget. The Location, near the Termini Station is good cause it makes easier to get to the city touristic points. The only problem is that it is quite a dangerous area, and as a smoker, it was difficult to stay outside having a cigarette in peace.
The worst problem for me was the lack of privacy, and I'm not speaking about the other people of the room, but about the staff, always entering the room for random reasons. One of the nights a member of the staff demanded me and my friend to turn off the lights of the bedroom, to don't bother other guests, even though it was only me and her in the bedroom. The room was quite hot, and the staff wouldn't allow us to open the window, saying that someone in the street could see us getting changed (?).
I was there this august, which is quite a busy time, and to use the bathroom in the morning was a bit complicated.
Also, my room window was facing the street, in a busy area, with trucks and cars passing by the whole night, which made really difficult to sleep, although the beds were really comfy.

The biggest part of the staff couldn't speak English, which made the communication quite complicated.
Also, I don't know about the other rooms, but mine had nothing to do with the photos showed here.
They offer Breakfast, included on the price, and it was quite good for what we were paying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaMurcia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Romangelo2 Hostel
Romangelo2 Hostel
#653 of 1,087 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Melting Pot Rome
Melting Pot Rome
#69 of 1,087 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rome City Hostel
Rome City Hostel
#283 of 1,087 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Nika Hostel
Nika Hostel
#166 of 1,087 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Litus Roma Hostel
#613 of 1,087 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#19 of 1,087 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romangelo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romangelo Hostel

Property: Romangelo Hostel
Address: 1st Floor Via Napoleone III 58, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,087 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Romangelo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Romangelo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing