We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitively OK for a short City Trip”
Review of Demetra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Demetra Hotel
Ranked #339 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Upper Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitively OK for a short City Trip”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a short three days Trip to Roma. Hotel was nothing extraordinary, we are normally used to 5star luxury places, but we did not want to book such one for a citytrip, where you are anyways not often in the hotel. So regarding the price/return relationship it was good! But anyways do not expect e.g. Hassler / Kempinski Standard. It is quite small, but fine! We would book it again. Staff was friendly, breakfast was funny as MTV was always on and naked music videos were shown on it, so quite a shock for the elder generation...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TripSMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    187
    52
    10
    13
See reviews for
97
203
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute because of a change of itinerary. Hotel is pretty new and very clean. Breakfast was included so I felt it was a good value. Rooms and bathrooms were big and minimally furnished which I prefer! Bathroom was huge. We had problems with the shower drain and the tub which the staff addressed promptly. We were in the lower floors with two rooms and our room was quiet although my kids did complain about a bit of noise in their room. We were close to termini because we wanted to take the hop on hop off bus. We chose tram 100 which was a huge disappointment. Next time we will stick with city sightseeing. Staff at hotel was very friendly including breakfast staff. I would stay here again if I wanted this location. It is pretty touristy there but to be honest we felt all of Rome that we saw was very touristy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyvinkää, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location is good. Walk away from Termini, but not too close. Personnel were friendly and cleaning worked fine. Breakfast was above average. I can recommend this hotel easily. Only cons were almost empty minibar and sparkling wine, that wasn't there waiting at room as was told.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikkoK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is more of a boutique style hotel. The room that we had (family) was large for european standards and well appointed. The room however was quite noisy due to private appartments above. We were kept up most of the night by the noise of TV coming through the cealing. Hotel management were alerted but did not action our complaint. The breakfast is basic but sufficient. Do not use the clothes washing service as it is increadibly expensive. Would I stay here again, maybe, but I think for the price there are other hotels closer to the main attractions and with better service. All in all a satisfactory stay even with the above gripes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwideantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As on previous reviews, this place has not hot a 'front' door. It's up on the first floor next to the restaurant. That said, rooms are good for a stay of 3 nights, any longer and you might think that daylight didn't exist; that was our room though, others might have a window looking out. We were grateful for the air conditioning, bathroom and toiletries a nice touch. Breakfast was good too. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrony5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at the Demetra for three nights in September. We drove into Rome, left our car at a garage near the Termini and walked to the hotel. It wasn't a long walk, but I didn't like the area around the train station at all( didn't feel safe) so upon leaving the hotel at the end of our stay, the front desk secured us a cab back to parking ( cost us about 7 euro) My daughters and I walked all over Rome from the hotel..several times even returning back to the hotel to rest or freshen up. Location was wonderful! A few nice restaurants located a few steps away from entrance. Simple breakfast each morning included which was enough for us. We were treated well, clean comfortable room, and were helped each time we asked or needed assistance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Demetra is a nice small 'hotel' in a very good location. We could walk to absolutely all attractions in Rome from there. There are a number of good restaurants downstairs. Don't expect the normal hotel services. They don't carry your bags, there's no room service or other facilities. You get a small clean room and a standard breakfast. Good service and friendly staff. Ideal for tourists willing to spend the day out around Rome and having a comfortable bed to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raf_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#178 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#264 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Hotel

Property: Demetra Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Demetra Hotel, with its 27 rooms and one suite, is located inside an historic building and has a strategic and central position near to the main attractions in Rome. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, whirlpool shower or whirlpool bath, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone, safe box, phon, minibar, internet wi-fi. Furthermore, Demetra Hotel is located a few steps from the central Piazza della Repubblica and is the perfect place to enjoy the city making it ideal for vacationers and business travelers looking for a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Demetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing