We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVICE RIGHT UP THERE WITH THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“SERVICE RIGHT UP THERE WITH THE BEST”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

In all my reviews, l always say that we the traveller will put up with most things that go wrong or a small room, if the service is fantastic and here the service is top rate and for us everything went well with no issues at all....Our room was suitable in all ways and our view from then balcony pleasing to the eye and it was very relaxing to sit at night and in the morning having a coffee. Our room was spacious and clean and the wifi excellent. The bathroom ideal, however the hot water can be a little tricky if many people in the hotel are showering, but really not a concern. The Roof top terrace is one of the best in Rome the view 360 degree and brilliant at sunset. The food at the roof top is basic but again served with pride and love, and anyway you're there for the view and drinks so you will not notice what you eat,ha ha......The breakfast is very basic fair but enjoyable and again served with pride and care and; as it is taken on the roof top again you are lost in the view and relaxing atmosphere. We had a number of day trips which we had the hotel (Pietro) organise, this fellow is one of the best at his craft and everything was taken care of and the value excellent. The location of the hotel is about 500 metres from the Rome train termini and is central to the main attractions and shopping, the most you will spend in a taxi will be around 10 Euro to get to a destination, whats more the taxi is called for you and take about 2-3 minutes, fantastic.

Overall l cannot say enough as to how much we enjoyed our stay here and the staff are a credit to the Hotel in particular Pietro and we thank them very much for the work and look forward to a return visit. This hotel l highly recommend. Enjoy we did.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are best and closer to the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    346
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
278
702
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

As I said, best start to our trip.

pros. .
Great location. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Clean room. Got upgraded which was great as it was a celebration of our 20th anniversary. Room701 on 25th Aug.
Cons...
wifi a little slow

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed just one night in transit to other parts of Italy, but would definitely stay here again next time I visit Rome.

The hotel has been refurbished so everything is fresh. The bathroom is excellent, and the hotel room is a good size.

The provide a complimentary mini bar which was welcome after our late arrival. A snack and a drink was just what we needed. All Fox channels on the TV was also great for winding down.

We headed up to the rooftop for a drink at the bar. They'd just closed, but the barman was gracious enough to let us have a drink, since we'd just arrived. Thank you to him for his kindness!

We returned the next morning for breakfast - what a great view from up there.

It was a very short walk across the road to catch the train to Naples. Very convenient and easy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCCtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a 3 night stay in The Independent before a cruise departing from Civitavecchia. This is a very well run hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.
We had 2 rooms as we were with family. We had requested balconies and this was fulfilled. We did a lot of sightseeing and the balcony was fabulous to relax on at the end of the day.
The rooftop terrace is very nice, the bar staff are friendly and this is the perfect place to watch the sunset over Rome, beautiful view, with St Peters in the distance.
The Rooftop terrace is also were the breakfast is served, boiled & scrambled egg with bacon, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit , cereal etc with a Nescafé coffee machine.
Rooms are very clean, nice toiletries (shower gel, body lotion & shampoo)The fridge has a complimentary mini-bar (2 soft drinks, 2 juice & 2 snacks) per stay. 2 bottles of mineral water are replaced daily. There is also a nespresso machine (first 2 capsules complimentary - €3 for 2 after that).
Staff are simply amazing- very informative & helpful. We were missing a bag on arrival and Valerio Took it upon himself to phone the airport and speak Italian to the staff in order to assist us, we did not ask him to- he did this unprompted- he was fantastic!- the bag arrived in out cabin on the ship before departure!
Very near Termini station for sightseeing & connecting for a cruise.
Mini market nearby and a couple of restaurants. About a 10-15 minute walk to Trevi fountain (which is being restored at the minute- in case you are disappointed!)
Would highly recommend this hotel unless you are physically challenged (very small lift) and we will definitely be booking it again if we are ever lucky enough to be back in this beautiful city which we fell in love with.

Room Tip: We had a balcony which was very nice. Not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Upgraded to superior room. Good location. Friendly and helpfull staff. Boutique hotel with luxury roof top terrasse. More than adequate breakfast. Clean room with contemporary lines. One suggestion : hair conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wonderful location, Staff, Room, Breakfast, walking to bus stops, taxi, tours, shopping, restaurants. Beds comfortable! Mini fridge with water, juice, sodas. Coffee, tea, other included. Nice couch, table, chairs, phone. Very cool. Front Desk can set your Air Control to cooler, make tour,taxi, other Reservations for you. Gave Excellent recommendations to us. Elevator or stairs rooftop breakfast & bar under the stars. We had the Superior Room. Clean,well-stocked with everything anyone needs, comfortable and a joy to wake up in & return to. Book this room without any worries that you will arrive and have a Comfortable all the way around stay in Rome, Italy.

Room Tip: Superior Room was an Excellent for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EILEEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My daughter has Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the independent. She had a triple room which included superior bed and a single. There was plenty of space, very clean, breakfast very good and staff helpful and friendly. Location slightly away from attractions, however would still stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,142 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,676 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#43 of 1,258 in Rome
878 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Property: The Independent Hotel
Address: Via Volturno 48, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Independent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything, from furniture to ambient lighting, has been specifically designed for The Independent Hotel creating an exclusive and modern hotel.The rooms and suites are equipped with large comfortable beds along with 26 cm thick hypoallergenic mattresses, to ensure proper rest after a busy day on the streets of Rome. To make your relaxation even more comfortable The Independent Hotel offers a special complimentary "Pillow menu" with a variety of options: from hypoallergenic to feather ones, from anatomic to those designed to support the neck.Each room is equipped with top quality linen, stylish bathrooms with a tub or large shower, satellite TV, Wi-Fi and wired internet connection, bar cabinet with a Nespresso coffee maker and a kettle for teas and herbal teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing