We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our "home" in rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vecchia Roma Resort
Ranked #18 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
2 reviews
“our "home" in rome”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we stayed for 5 days in this lovely B&B hotel. The room was highly maintained, clean and elegantly furnished. The owner, Marco, is a warm, generous person, always smiling and always helpful. It was a pleasure starting our mornings in his pleasant company, with the delicious breakfasts he serves. The place has an intimate and cosy feeling that we enjoyed throughout our stay. It is situated in a peaceful yet central area of Rome. We will definitely return to Vecchia Roma, if we get the chance!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahuvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
You were very special guest!
You made me come back to mind the special time when I lived in your land.
I am very happy that your stay was enjoyable, and I look again .... with open arms!
Thanks Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
75
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed with Marco for 5 days over the summer and it was once of the best weeks I have ever spent traveling. His apartment is perfectly located with access both to the city center/touristy areas and the quieter areas for locals. I would urge you to get as much information as possible from Marco who is incredibly knowledgeable about Rome, as a local, and a sweet guy. He even showed me one of his favorite restaurants and the church where he got married.

The rooms were comfortable and clean. No complaints, exactly what is advertised. Free wife, etc. Breakfast was simple and nice coffee or whatever you like with a pastry of your choice. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 356matthewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
I was very pleased to know that your summer stay was good.
You still have a reason to come back, this summer I continued to "study" to find other tips brand new!
Thanks again and hope to see you soon,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here for six days during new year's holidays.
It was a perfect place to visit all the spots famous in rome.
It was very quiet and safer than other hotels at Termini.
there are three rooms and my room is a single room with a private toilet.
the toilet was so clean and hot water is good enough.
and the room is very warm.
Subway station is close (5min) and lots of buses are there.
The owner was very kind and tells me how to walk around and what bus to take and good restaurants.
the breakfast was good and the owner served good meal as i wanted.
Of course I want to stay again in a near future.

Room Tip: Bus 175 in front of B&B is so convenient to get to every famous place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjuyoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
I am very happy that your stay during the New Year period would be nice.
I hope to see you again because there are still many things to discover in Rome!
Thanks again for your words,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, very good located, charming, cozy and friendly place to stay at Rome, this is the perfect option for you. Marco is a lovely open-minded host that is almost all the time supporting his guests with informations and tips about the city. Our stay at Rome wouldn't be the same without it! Thanks Marco, thanks Rome!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello Gabriel and Marcelo, I'm really excited of your words.
You were the guests really nice and I hope to see you again in Rome or maybe even near you!
thanks again
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing little bed and breakfast in Rome only 8 to 10 minute walk to the colosseum. Great location for exploring Rome and all its amazing sites!

Marco the host is so friendly and accommodating making it a wonderful stay in a quite but central location! His B&B is spotless with big rooms and private bathrooms. I would recommend this B&B for anyone who doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg on a hotel in Rome but that still wants to be central!

Thank you Marco!!! We had an excellent stay and loved all your recommendations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elysemurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks Elyse!
I am very happy that your stay, though short, it was a good stay.
You are really nice people and I hope that sooner or later be able to return to Rome for a longer stay.
In the meantime, I will continue to look for new places for you to visit and interesting things to see!
thanks again
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose the Vecchia Roma Resort for our 4 night stay in Rome based on previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location was ideal and Marco was the perfect host offering advice not only on where to visit but also where to eat. From the Vecchia Roma we walked to all of major sights during our 3 day stay and Marco gave us some good tips regarding purchasing tickets for the Colosseum etc. It is in a quiet residential area and was only a 10 minute walk from the Da Bucatino, one of the restaurants that Marco recommended (which incidentally was one I had already earmarked based on trip advisor reviews). The breakfast was very tasty and set us up for the day's sightseeing. Thank you Marco for looking after is during our stay and for all the good advice. I had hoped to fit in a massage during our stay but unfortunately there wasn't enough time. Good luck for the future and hopefully we will be able to return again and sample your son's cooking!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
You were the guests incredible!
You will be in my memory for being the first guests Anglo-Saxons, who in just four days, you are "naturalized" ..... TESTACCINI!
I wait for you with more time for a shiatsu treatment and a nice lunch prepared by ..... my son!
thanks
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Outstanding service. Excellent location, a wonderful base from which to explore Rome. I was given a bedroom, living room and kitchen, which I didn't use. Marco is extremely polite, very pleasant and helpful, he sat with me and planned my Rome trip. Supermarket is close by. I would definitely come back again. Thank you very much Marco.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azmar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Although Canada is not just around the corner, I hope you can come back to spend a few more days in Rome.
It 'nice to know that you have returned to your home with good memories of your holidays.
thanks again
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Domus Aventina
Domus Aventina
#649 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Aventine
Circo Massimo Guest House
Circo Massimo Guest House
#82 of 1,072 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,072 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchia Roma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchia Roma Resort

Property: Vecchia Roma Resort
Address: Via della Fonte di Fauno 4, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Vecchia Roma Resort" is found in the Aventino district. This antique area of Rome is very unique because it is situated in the historic center of the city, while maintaining a relaxed yet evocative atmosphere. Just behind "Vecchia Roma Resort" begins the road, Viale Aventino, which joins both the Cestia Pyramid and the Circus Maximus. We are found in a historic oasis of greenery perched on the antique Roman hill. The characteristic of this district is precisely: to be in the center of the Roman history without suffering from today's chaotic city traffic. Those who have never been to Rome will have the possibility to know the oldest part of the city; with just a five minute walk you can find yourself in front of the Circus Maximus, between the Palatine Hill and the Baths of Caracalla. Those who have already had the good fortune of visiting our city can deepen their knowledge while acquiring a new, fascinating point of view, living for a few days in a district situated on one of the seven hills of Rome. From "Vecchia Roma Resort" Testaccio, the Colosseum, Trastevere, Appia Antica, the Roman Forum and Piazza Venezia are all easily accessible on foot. As well, one can admire the beauty of the Aventino district with its famous Basilicas and the Parco degli Aranci (Park of the Oranges). And don't forget: In only 10 minutes you can reach the Mouth of Truth (Bocca della Verita) and discover its secrets. With its welcoming atmosphere, "Vecchia Roma Resort" is able to satisfy the most diverse needs, from a relaxing vacation to a business or school trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Vecchia Roma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing