We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for any stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vecchia Roma Resort
Ranked #18 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for any stay in Rome”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Convenient location - very close to Circo Massimo metro station and the bus stop for the Appian Way. Also 10-15 minute walk from Aventine Hill and the Colleseum. We found the distance from here to Trastevere walkable for each evening meal. It was in a very safe and quiet neighbourhood (but not too far from the hustle and bustle)!

Accommodation was very secure and comfortable. Very clean and quiet too - had a weeks worth of perfect sleeps!

Marco was a veritable mine of knowledge with lots of hints and tips to save time and cash and generally make the visit more of knowledge!

Breakfasts were different each day and all very tasty! We stayed over Easter so got an extra special authentic Italian breakfast on the Sunday. Astoundingly good coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurasaurus_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
You have come during the Easter season, and I am very happy that you were able to enjoy a very special breakfast for us Romans!
I am also glad of your good sleep!
The next time I have prepared for you new tour!
Thank you again
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
75
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Thank you Marco, you were an amazing host. The location is fantastic, the breakfast so beautiful, you should be a chef, you gave us a real taste of Rome delicious. We felt safe at all times, slept beautifully as the beds was comfortable and the neighbour hood so peaceful. Very close to all attractions and Marco arranged an airport pickup from Rome airport. Nothing was a problem for Marco to help make our stay great. Thank you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I am very happy that your stay was enjoyable.
I really appreciate when I find my guests of "foodies."
You are a delightful couple, and it was a pleasure to have you as guests.
I hope to see you again, maybe in your land!
thank you very much
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The location of Vecchia Roma Resort is great. We are a family (3 members) from Taiwan. We arrived in Roma Termini at about 2:00 in the afternoon. We arrived in Vecchia Roma Resort by metro. At 4:00, we already enter Colosseo to start our Italy trip. Marco is a very nice and friendly. He speaks English and gave us a lot of trip information. Do ask Marco about the secret tip to avoid the long line of Colosseo. The resort is also very close to "Bucca della Verita". At 7:00, Marco prepared nice breakfast for us. I have to say his espresso is the best coffee I had during the two-week trip in Italy. It is a pity that I did not learn the magic trick moka pot from him. He taught us how to prepare a traditional Roma breakfast with Scamorza and ham. It was delicious and we tried to cook by my self when we were able to use kitchen in Venice and Milan.
This price provided by Marco is also reasonable.Best value! Recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomTom1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Three days were perhaps a few too!
I am very glad that despite the short time, you all had a good stay at the Vecchia Roma Resort.
A nice greeting to your son, I hope he has kept the little puppet with a thousand eyes!
Thank you again,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great hotel in a quiet area, there are embassies nearby, everything is clean. Walk to the subway 2 min, Coliseum is up to 10 min walk.
New clean rooms, excellent bathroom!
Hotel keeper Marco - the best Italian we met! friendly, speak in English, gave a lot of information about the city, where to go, where to eat well, how convenient
Recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you guys!
I am happy that even if your stay was short, I have spent well!
Thanks again for the treats to my twin sons.
I hope you will come back soon with your heir!
A good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a great place to stay if you plan to be in Rome for a few days or a week and want to settle into a comfortable and convenient base. As others have said, Marco is an exceptional host and works enormously hard to make his guests feel at home. His breakfasts are imaginative and delicious, he is full of helpful ideas and tips about things to see and do, and he is an interesting, lively and even slightly eccentric person to talk with. The B&B is well located, near the Circus Maximus metro stop and the #3 tram and lots of buses, and is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Forum. The neighbourhood is refined, quiet, elegant and safe, and there are shops and a supermarket nearby. It's a small B&B, with only three guest rooms (there's also a separate apartment), each with a private bathroom. It's on the first floor, but although there is a lift, we found it faster to use the stairs. The bedrooms are clean and well equipped, the bed is comfortable, and there's free wifi. There is no lounge room or other sitting area, but guests come together in the morning around the kitchen table and chat over breakfast. The building and grounds are very secure and there is a safe box in the room. You do need to be prepared to walk a bit to get to transport or to go to the restaurants Marco will recommend to you. We enjoyed our stay, thought Marco did a splendid job, and would happily recommend his B&B to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
With great pleasure, do not add much to your careful description of your stay!
A special thanks for having used the term "eccentric person", a nice compliment!
Greetings from Rome,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

A genuinely warm welcome is provided by Marco. Other reviewers have said this and also praised the fine individually cooked breakfasts which he provides. More might be said about his willingness to provide enough advice about visiting whatever you have the inclination to visit. He does this with real grace and warmth, never becoming intrusive, never becoming impatient. We would go back there to spend another week or two without hesitation. If you are coming by air, the transport from the airport which he is willing to organise is great value for money and, after all, it is reassuring to arrive in Rome to find your name held aloft after exiting from customs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I am very happy that your stay at the "Vecchia Roma Resort", was received with true simplicity!
My place is not a hotel but ... just a B & B!
I really like it when my guests during their stay they feel in their home!
I will look again in your home in Rome!
Thank you,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent 10 days at the resort. 2 adults and 2 young children (2 and 4-years old). The neighborhood was very nice and peaceful. The room was good, clean, decorated with taste and the bathroom also. The best thing of all was our host Marco. He made us feel very relaxed, welcome, gave good tips about what to do and see and where to eat. We had lively conversations each morning at breakfast and even the children learned a few words in Italian! He was extremely helpful and nice to us. I would recommend this place to anyone, who needs a good, quiet and trustworthy place to sleep in Rome. Plus the garden was beautiful. And it's not too far from many of the sights! Our vacation was perfect. Thank you Marco!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco628, Proprietario at Vecchia Roma Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am very happy that your beautiful family has had a pleasant stay!
I also regret not being able to greet the children!
I hope to spend in the future, more time with you.
Thank you, also a salute to the "little rabbit Roman"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Domus Aventina
Domus Aventina
#649 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Aventine
Circo Massimo Guest House
Circo Massimo Guest House
#82 of 1,072 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,072 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchia Roma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchia Roma Resort

Property: Vecchia Roma Resort
Address: Via della Fonte di Fauno 4, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Vecchia Roma Resort" is found in the Aventino district. This antique area of Rome is very unique because it is situated in the historic center of the city, while maintaining a relaxed yet evocative atmosphere. Just behind "Vecchia Roma Resort" begins the road, Viale Aventino, which joins both the Cestia Pyramid and the Circus Maximus. We are found in a historic oasis of greenery perched on the antique Roman hill. The characteristic of this district is precisely: to be in the center of the Roman history without suffering from today's chaotic city traffic. Those who have never been to Rome will have the possibility to know the oldest part of the city; with just a five minute walk you can find yourself in front of the Circus Maximus, between the Palatine Hill and the Baths of Caracalla. Those who have already had the good fortune of visiting our city can deepen their knowledge while acquiring a new, fascinating point of view, living for a few days in a district situated on one of the seven hills of Rome. From "Vecchia Roma Resort" Testaccio, the Colosseum, Trastevere, Appia Antica, the Roman Forum and Piazza Venezia are all easily accessible on foot. As well, one can admire the beauty of the Aventino district with its famous Basilicas and the Parco degli Aranci (Park of the Oranges). And don't forget: In only 10 minutes you can reach the Mouth of Truth (Bocca della Verita) and discover its secrets. With its welcoming atmosphere, "Vecchia Roma Resort" is able to satisfy the most diverse needs, from a relaxing vacation to a business or school trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Vecchia Roma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing