We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caracciolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caracciolo
Ranked #614 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay, helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Caracciolo for five nights. It was my first time in Italy and I had a lot of questions about where to eat, what to see, how to get places, etc. The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. They provided us with hot water for tea each night because there was no kettle in the room. The wifi is dependable, but can only be accessed downstairs at the lobby. There is no wifi access in your room. The breakfast was reasonable, but not impressive. The coffee is very good. I found the room clean and orderly. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small. I find this to be a very good hotel for the price, considering that Rome is a very expensive city. Also, if you are staying here, you must try the Chinese food in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    80
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
23
86
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hämeenlinna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice and very friendly family hotel, reception speaks good english. For our purpose very good situation on a quiet street, underground round corner and central station a few blocks away. Breakfast basic.
We stayed in Rome for a week, enjoyed and liked allot our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were stranded without a room in Rome after our night arrival by train at the nearby Termini station. Impossible to find a room after walking into a couple of hotels. Althought there was no room avail at the Caracciolo that night, the young man at night reception (I believe his name is Andrea) permitted us to use the hotel wifi to try to find a nearby hotel. He then went himself on the net and called a couple of nearby hotels and found us a room. We were very touched by this gesture and exceptional professionalism. Many thanks again to the night receptionist, Andrea (?).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacados91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here for four nights at the end of our stay in italy and we found it was a pleasant change to what we had found around the rest of the country. The stsff were very helpful, the rooms quite spacous given thr price and the bathroom cllean. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about as it wsd mostly custsrd filled croissants, cakes and toast. The location was great as it was a ten minute walk from the main station, 20 minutes to the colloseum and five minutes to the nearest underground station.

Helpful?
1 Thank lucasblight
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is convenient since its within walking distance from the Rome Termini Train station, though the downside is it's not located near any of the main attractions. We made the mistake of walking to it down Fillipo Turati Street rather than the main street in front of the station (Giovanni Giolotti) and the neighborhood for a couple of blocks was downright seedy and we started to wonder if we'd made a big mistake booking here. But then we went past the Radisson and the neighborhood was fine. Once in the lobby, we immediately felt the hotel was a great find and more than worth the price. It is a family run hotel and the owner's and young staff fellow at the desk at night couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The place is very clean and the rooms were nice and well kept. Air Conditioning worked fine. Shower was great and the bathroom was very clean. WiFi worked great in the lobby and in our room on the first floor but apparently not in the rooms above that. Breakfast was very good and the dining area was clean and inviting. It is an easy walk to the main Metro line that runs to the Vatican, though if you go at rush hour, the cars are packed. We got off after one stop (Rome Termini) and took a cab to St. Peter's which ended up costing less than 10 Euro's with a small tip. Though its not in the center of the sites that draw tourists to Rome, it is definitely worth the price. Cabs are inexpensive and we had no problem getting to and from the hotel to various attractions. Just be sure to bring the map or the hotel's business card to show the driver where it is, though, since several never heard of Via Cairoli. Their GPS's found it easily. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer the best hope for wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Close to terminus. Rooms clean, breakfast sufficient. Close enough to walk to Coleseum and good restaurants. Area at rear of establishment adjacent to rail lines a little seedy, just don't walk that way. We had a pleasant stay with no problems. Staff very pleasant and extremely helpful. Recommended for a convenient location.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this hotel because it was cheaper than most of the alternatives in Rome. The service was good, and overall so was the room quality. Sometimes the water in the shower was not very hot and the mini fridge had some dark stains inside. The location is a bit dodgy because the people who wander the neighbourhood are mostly immigrants and some homeless people who sleep outside of termini station. The TV only had two channels. The breakfast was average and the staff was nice. The rooms were comfy if a bit warm even with the heating turned off.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Elyse
Elyse
#962 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#534 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orazia
Hotel Orazia
#499 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#376 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#537 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#595 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caracciolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caracciolo

Property: Hotel Caracciolo
Address: Via Cairoli 86/88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #614 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caracciolo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caracciolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracciolo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing