We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“-”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweet Home Colosseum
Ranked #134 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    38
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice, clean and good located place to stay in Rome. Kitchen with equipment available for use all the time, close to supermarket and few nice restaurants.
Area is cosy and safe even in the late evening.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed two nights at this B&B. It was in a great location, few minutes walking from the Colosseum, metro and train station. The room was very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you call to let them know what time you are arriving. Also there is no big B&B sign ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is was a big surprise... I booked a room for 1 night at the last minute and at a very cheap rate so I went in with very little expectations. However, by the time I had checked out my expectations were exceeded in every way and I decided I will come back next time I'm in town.

Location: Great location... there are a few interesting cafes within walking distance and there is great connection to all the sites in Rome/Vatican via bus or Metro. It is also close to the Colosseum which is a nother huge plus

Rooms: Although from the outside I was apprehensive once you step into the apartment you'll be surprised. The B&B is newly renovated and the rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.

Service: Nicolo was amazingly friendly and helpful. So was the lady serving breakfast in the morning. I wanted to print out my boarding pass and they helped me install their printer to my laptop to print it out

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haikal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were quite happy with our Sweet Home in Rome. It is a convenient location, walking distance to many of the top sites and within a few blocks of stops for either of the 2 metro lines. We coordinated our arrival via text message to arrange for key pickup - all went according to plan. Print a map of the area to help you find it - there is no sign, just a label on the door buzzer for the building. Access is thru the door and via the elevators on the right side.
The room is basic - not too much room for storing clothes. Wi-Fi was OK, but worked much better in the lobby area. Bathroom was fine - good hot water, decent shower pressure. Bed was comfy. The beds were made daily. Breakfast was croissants and coffee (cappucino, americano, etc.) and limited selection of cereals, yogurts and fruit drinks.
We really liked the location - it's a busy area, but relatively quiet street. Our room looked out over Via Angelo Poliziano, but we had no problems with noise.
If you stay here, make sure to have dinner at the caffe below ("Bar Rivas") - the charismatic owner, Salvatore, will take excellent care of you. He quickly tossed aside our menus and made suggestions from the specials of the day. Prosecco to start and digestivi were gratis. The final bill seemed quite a bargain to us. The food was tasty, but it was the warm and friendly staff that made this place stand out for us.
Overall - a great experience and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giromondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This B&B is awesome It has all the features that a B&B should have.I stayed here for 4 nights and the service was amazing and about the location is close to the colosseum and the ancient monuments of Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyrickythebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I wish I'd stayed at Sweet Home Colosseum for longer than the one night I booked. An excellent small hostel which exceeded expectations in terms of design, customer service, cleanliness and spaciousness (who needs a hotel?).
Fara was a very friendly host who waited quite late in the night for me to arrive due to a delayed flight (thank you Fara!) and I was pleased with my double room which I had to myself with ensuite, tv and wireless Internet.
I would definitely recommend Sweet Home Colosseum to anyone visiting Rome as its close proximity to the centre of Rome and the historic sites makes it a convenient base. It was a little tricky to find at first (which may have been down to my tired state upon arrival) but it was well worth a little hunting!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua_James1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#355 of 1,256 in Rome
538 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#196 of 1,256 in Rome
393 reviews
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#94 of 3,643 in Rome
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
DomusamoR Colosseo
DomusamoR Colosseo
#148 of 1,091 in Rome
56 reviews
Monti
Mosaic Central
Mosaic Central
#53 of 1,091 in Rome
124 reviews
Monti
Miclad B&B Colosseum Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home Colosseum

Property: Sweet Home Colosseum
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 61, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and charming rooms located just 350 meters from the Colosseum, at the heart if Rome's archeological sites and furnished in an authentic and tasteful manner, welcoming, comfortable and quiet. The Colosseum is reachable by taking a lovely walk through the gardens of the Parco del Colle Oppio, where the ruins of the Domus Aurea can be seen. It's fantastic location represents the starting point for a touristic tour around the Eternal City and will allow you to reach, by foot or if you prefer via public transport, some of the most important sites of Rome such as: the Arco di Costantino, il Circo Massimo, Via dei Fori Imperiali, il Campidoglio, Piazza Venezia, Palazzo del Quirinale, Fontana di Trevi, the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore, the Basilica di San Giovanni in Laterano,etc. Our rooms dispose of private bathrooms, hairdryer, LCV 32" TV and free Wi-Fi connection. Furthermore, we also have a charming and large common room with a living room, breakfast room and kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Sweet Home Colosseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing