We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, very convenient overall.”
Review of Guesthouse Il Gong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Il Gong
Ranked #72 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is located outside the city centre but is close to the metro station (that is also served by the airport trains). Overall, the room was large and recently furnished. The bathroom was clean and spacious but the hot water tank only lasted a couple of minutes. The staff were very helpful and gave us good advice for attractions and dinner places.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jludmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Il Gong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Il Gong is an excellent place to stay for a visit to Rome. It is close to the metro giving access to central Rome but set in a local community. The rooms were spacious and clean and reasonably priced. The welcome was excellent and we were shown all the key places to visit. There are also a number of good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just stayed at il gong on a trip to rome for easter. We have been to rome 7 times and have never stayed in such a lovely place. christina is very welcoming and informative, nothing is too much trouble for her. our room was delightful, the comfiest bed i've ever slept in with the fluffiest pillows. the bathroom is great with a good shower. everything in the fridge is 1 euro , she gives you lots of towels which are changed every day and a really good powerful hairdrier, not one of those useless bathroom things. I will recommend this place to everyone and next time we are in rome we won't look anywhere else for accomadation. Thanks christina from stephanie and bryan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at il Gong for 3 nights. We really enjoyed our stay, Christina is really friendly and helpful. We arrived pretty late but she still took the time to explain everything to us and gave us tips on restaurants and places to visit. Our room was clean and spacious. It has everything you need. Everything in the mini bar is 1 euro each which we thought was really great especially if you need a water or something in the night and don't want to leave your room. breakfast was good, you get a coffee and any croissant at a cute little cafe near the guesthouse. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from a weekend in Rome staying at Guesthouse il Gong. It was a really nice place. Very Modern rooms, the beautiful bathroom was a little bit of heaven compared to the Italian seatless public toilets we had to use during our trip. The rooms were very well presented with very good quality beds/bedding and decorations. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given a voucher to get breakfast at a cafe a few meters from the room. Free wifi in the room was great when trying to plan our day. Can't fault it really one of the best places we have stayed in terms of room quality. They recommended an excellent Italian restaurant we ate at one evening which was very busy and very resonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolvesaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Condividere le proprie esigenze
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scoiattolo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm692017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Osimar Hotel
#388 of 1,267 in Rome
453 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#226 of 1,267 in Rome
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residenza Il Magnifico
#418 of 3,711 in Rome
169 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#365 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,225 of 3,711 in Rome
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Il Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Il Gong

Address: Via Apuania 8, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Il Gong 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse 'directly managed by our family with warmth and professionalism. Located between Piazza Bologna and the new Tiburtina Station, not far from the University and Hospital is strategically linked to the historical center of Rome Metro station and bus stops nearby. The refurbished rooms all with private bath, are furnished with taste and love of travel ... have flat screen TV, minibar, air conditioning, internet wi-fi. Pets welcome. La Guesthouse e' gestita direttamente dalla nostra famiglia con cordialità e professionalità.Situata tra Piazza Bologna e la nuova Stazione Tiburtina,non lontano dall'Università e dal Policlinico è strategicamente collegata al centro storico di Roma stazione Metro e fermate bus nelle immediate vicinanze.Le camere tutte ristrutturate con bagno privato,sono arredate con gusto e amore per i viaggi... dispongono di tv schermo piatto,minibar,aria condizionata,internet wi-fi. Animali ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Il Gong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing