We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book your room now!”
Review of Guesthouse Il Gong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Il Gong
Ranked #76 of 1,150 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The rooms are private, spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated with artwork and colors to represent various places throughout the world. Ours also had a private bathroom with shower, bidet, and toilet. Other great features included large comfy bed, large armoire for all our belongings, refrigerator and more (if you can imagine)! The best part of Guesthouse Il Gong is the family that owns the facility - Renalto, Cristina, and Natalie will make your visit to Rome and your stay with them a truly wonderful experience. Their genuine kindness and desire to help you in anyway sets them apart from the rest. We plan to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorianaMonceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Guesthouse Il Gong at the end of November 2013 for a long weekend. The hotel is located close to Bolonga metro station and was very easy to find. Christina met us at the hotel to check us in and spent some time explaining where things were, the best places to go for sightseeing and food and how to get around which was very helpful as this was our first visit to Rome.
Our room was very spacious and very clean, it was perfect for our weekend. Breakfast is provided at a nearby cafe by the use of a ticket system, which Christina gave us when we arrived. When you hand over your tickets you are offered a choice of coffees and pastries, we found it to be a nice relaxed start to our busy days! There is also another little cafe just across from the hotel called Tiffany's, it is tiny but it is open much later than the one used for breakfast and the staff are very friendly and the food and drink is very cheap, much cheaper than in the main touristy parts of Rome.
Bolonga metro station is on the blue line (there are 2, blue and red), we bought a 3 day metro pass (€16.50) and found the metro system very easy to use. The main station where they cross over is huge and you could easily get lost in it. There is also a large shopping centre located in the main station.
We went to the Vatican Museum, we had booked this in advance and had a slot for the Sistine Chapel for 10.30am, however we found that people were just wandering in and no-one was checking their slot times. We kinda rushed round the rest of the museum to get there in time when we could have taken our time. We also went to St Peter's Basillica, we went there for 8am as the queues the previous afternoon had went all the way round St Peter's Square. I think this was the best time to go, the Basillica was quiet when we arrived and we were able to get a good look around, attend mass at the main alter, go right to the top of the Basillica and when we came out we were able to see the Pope speak - all before lunch!
We went to the Colosseum in the afternoon, we didn't book this in advance and had to queue for about 45mins to get in. The Colosseum was good and in a nice part of Rome, as soon as you come out the metro station it is right in front of you. I wouldn't recommend the toilets in the Colosseum, they are just portacabins and are quite disgusting (the smell would knock you out!), hold it if you can!!
We also went to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. We went to the Trevi Fountain at night when it was all lit up and it was stunning, the Spanish Steps were a bit of a let down compared to all the other sights we seen to be honest, I don't think we'd rush back to see them. However, the Spanish Steps are in a lovely area with all the designer shops round about.
We ate dinner one night in a restaurant close to our hotel called Barboni e Cusanno, we found it completely by accident and it was excellent, proper authentic Italian filled with locals, we were the only english speaking people there. This made it difficult to order but they changed our waiter to one who spoke a little english and we got by. The food was really, really tasty and it was quite cheap considering how much we had ordered, the only down side was the alcohol was limited and they did not serve vodka.
All in all, we had a fabulous weekend and would highly recommend the Guesthouse Il Gong, it was a great hotel in a great area that was ideal for our needs. We would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Guesthouse gong is a really nice homely place to stay. Christina was very helpful and gave me and my partner directions, tips and places where we could get authentic Italian food. The staff are very kind and helpful and you have your own key to your room. Bologna is a uni town and very safe and away from all the hustle and bustle of Rome city centre. Be warned that there are a lot of people selling rubbish like squidgy toys and roses etc. along with beggars in Rome city centre so make sure you're prepared for that. Guesthouse Gong was a nice place to get away from all that. Would definitely stay here again if I came back to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My family of 4 stayed at Il Gong for 4 nights in June 2013. Christina was SOOO nice. She took a lot of time when we arrived to show us on a map where everything was that we would want to visit. She gave us many good recommendations for food and gelato, and there were several good places to eat in the nearby area. There was an awesome gelato place on Via Livorno, very close to the guest house. Delicious gelato, and much less expensive than in the more touristy areas. It was great to stay in an area that felt very un-touristy and more cozy and local. The Bologna area of Rome felt very safe, and despite being out of the direct city center, the Bologna metro stop is only 4 blocks from the guesthouse. Very convenient location.
The included breakfast each morning was excellent. It is located at a small cafe right across from the guesthouse. The staff there was very friendly, and we had cappucino and a pastry every morning. Fresh-squeezed orange juice as well.
Our room at il Gong was lovely. Super high ceilings give the place an airy feel. Beautiful, clean bathroom (despite there being not a great deal of hot water), and super comfortable beds. We also appreciated the free WiFi which was extremely reliable!
Christina was awesome and we would love to give her and Il Gong the highest recommendation. A great deal for accomodation in Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amydresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is located outside the city centre but is close to the metro station (that is also served by the airport trains). Overall, the room was large and recently furnished. The bathroom was clean and spacious but the hot water tank only lasted a couple of minutes. The staff were very helpful and gave us good advice for attractions and dinner places.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jludmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Il Gong is an excellent place to stay for a visit to Rome. It is close to the metro giving access to central Rome but set in a local community. The rooms were spacious and clean and reasonably priced. The welcome was excellent and we were shown all the key places to visit. There are also a number of good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just stayed at il gong on a trip to rome for easter. We have been to rome 7 times and have never stayed in such a lovely place. christina is very welcoming and informative, nothing is too much trouble for her. our room was delightful, the comfiest bed i've ever slept in with the fluffiest pillows. the bathroom is great with a good shower. everything in the fridge is 1 euro , she gives you lots of towels which are changed every day and a really good powerful hairdrier, not one of those useless bathroom things. I will recommend this place to everyone and next time we are in rome we won't look anywhere else for accomadation. Thanks christina from stephanie and bryan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Osimar Hotel
#389 of 1,269 in Rome
460 reviews
Residenza Il Magnifico
#442 of 3,722 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#272 of 3,722 in Rome
135 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#354 of 1,269 in Rome
430 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Il Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Il Gong

Address: Via Apuania 8, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 1,150 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Il Gong 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse 'directly managed by our family with warmth and professionalism. Located between Piazza Bologna and the new Tiburtina Station, not far from the University and Hospital is strategically linked to the historical center of Rome Metro station and bus stops nearby. The refurbished rooms all with private bath, are furnished with taste and love of travel ... have flat screen TV, minibar, air conditioning, internet wi-fi. Pets welcome. La Guesthouse e' gestita direttamente dalla nostra famiglia con cordialità e professionalità.Situata tra Piazza Bologna e la nuova Stazione Tiburtina,non lontano dall'Università e dal Policlinico è strategicamente collegata al centro storico di Roma stazione Metro e fermate bus nelle immediate vicinanze.Le camere tutte ristrutturate con bagno privato,sono arredate con gusto e amore per i viaggi... dispongono di tv schermo piatto,minibar,aria condizionata,internet wi-fi. Animali ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Il Gong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing