We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect example of a non-caring restaurant”
Review of Le Bistro - CLOSED

Le Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Woodstock, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect example of a non-caring restaurant”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

As a former instructor at the Culinary Institute of America in New York and a hospitality consultant in the U.S. and abroad, my wife and I chose this restaurant because of its convenient location to the Piazza di Spagna. What a mistake! When we asked for salt so that my wife could add some to her pasta alla gorgonzola, we had to wait about 10 minutes until literally she was finished with her dish. Meanwhile, the female servers were chit-chatting among themselves in full view of the diners. When I pointed this out to the manager, who was not at all overseeing the service, he had nothing to say about it. Shame on you Bistro Restaurant. This is not what service and hospitality are all about. It's not just about taking tourists' money and not caring about your guests!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    6
    15
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Hold On to Your Hat!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our first night in Rome and we were exploring the area near the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain when the hunger bug bit. We ran across this little bistro on a relatively quiet side street and decided to give Roman cuisine a try. We sat outside, next to the rather narrow street. Service was rapid and pleasant. The house red was inexpensive and quite tasty. That was sort of the high point of the meal. I tried for onion soup, but they were out. I substituted the suggested 'pumpkin' soup instead. Odd taste. Pizza's all around were competent but not memorable. The biggest surprise of the night was how close the cars and trucks came to the chairback of individuals sitting with their backs to the road. A couple of times my hat and shirt flutttered in the breeze as trucks passed by emitting noxious fumes. Let's just say eating outside here here leaves a bit to be desired.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't have found a worst restaurant if we picked up dirt off the street”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The waitress at this place was snarly, rude, forgot our order and should not have ever been employed in the customer service industry. The food was equally as bad. We ordered a glass of wine and a water which took 15 minutes to arrive, and garlic bread for 6 euros. A single piece of burned toast with too much garlic arrived 20 minutes later. My daughters water had still not arrived and when we brought this up the waitress rolled her eyes and walked away. We cut our loses, left a 10 euro note and walked out. We would never go back even if starving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hobbes2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is the first time I have felt strongly enough to review a restaurant. This is the worst Italian food we've had in Rome, (possibly even the worst anywhere ever.)

It was an expensive meal. We only had one drink each. The garlic bread starter was tiny and tasteless. The braesola was okay... But they only had to assemble it. There was no cooking involved. The mushroom pizza was covered in liquified mushroom, which was revolting. The waitress brought the wrong main pasta dish for my son, and what he was given was tasteless and dreadful in texture. One of our party found their pasta dish acceptable.

We sat inside and it was rather cramped with little space for the waitress, so we were constantly bumped at the table.

It is quite simply the worst meal we've had by far. I would advise you to avoid this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassyukmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“run far away”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

If you want to eat bad food and to have a very poor service, just go to the Bistro. Beers are very expensive, The indoor room is just a coridor used by waiters to go to the kitchen. Waiters forgot how to smile. What a disater!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing