We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks Only”
Review of Le Bistro - CLOSED

Le Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Drinks Only”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We selected this restaurant because of it's location and inviting looking patio. It was 7:00 pm and we were hungry after a full day of sightseeing. Tables here are almost on top of each other, but part of the fun is talking to other travelers. We quickly ordered our wine and an entree, the wine arrived quickly but our food never did show up. When we realized we had been waiting a very long time (45 minutes by now) we called them over and it was apparent they had forgotten us. They said it would be another 15 minutes so we said cancel our order and asked them to comp our wine for the lack of service. Not only did they say no they threatened to call the police. With a good location and a steady stream of new tourists they could not care less. Very poor attitude and I expect that if we has actually gotten a meal it would have been less than great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianajilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    6
    15
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Daily homemade pasta!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This little bistro style place was a great lunch spot for us while we were in Rome. Just a block or so from our B & B they make fresh pasta daily and server Pranzo (lunch) for just 4.50 Euro

Great little spot at a great price!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok if you need a rest and a drink!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Selected this place because it had an inviting patio among the streets around the Spanish steps. We had a couple of salads, the Caprese and the Avacado, arugula and pear salad. Both werw good. We also ordered a couple of glasses of Chardonnay and got prosecco. My husband got a 6 oz and I got the 9 oz for no apparent reason. No complaints...it was cold. In summary it was ok of you need a rest from walking around the hot Rome streets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5starbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Horrible food”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were in the Spagna area on our second day in Rome and decided to walk around till we found a decent place, passed on maybe 7-8 restaurants before settling here and it's an understatement to say the food was bad: avocado salad was made with unripe avocados, bruschetta porcini made with canned mushrooms (looked like puke) on stale bread, wine that was warmer than the ambient temperature, spaghetti that was not boiled well (not al dente). The only decently cooked item was the sea bass.

This was the most expensive meal we had in rome and the worst all round.

P.S : this restaurant is part of the hotel royal palace

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nishith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh My God”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

More than 6500 restaurants in Rome and we ended up here....
We should have been in another restaurant this sunday but they have closed. So without checking out the reviews at TA we find ourselves sitting here a early evening for something to eat.
SO.. Wine decent although expensive €25 for a Rosso Montalcino from a rather unknown producer. 2 Bruchettas with tomato - The garlic you have to imagine for your self. 3 smal pastas and a Vitello Tone. All overcooked and tasteless.
Staff told but it seems that they couldnt care or less. SO Check please and of we go. Tons of good places in Rome this was for sure not one of them :-(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knudsenjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing