We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, boutique b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury on the River
Ranked #265 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, boutique b&b”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

First 3 nights of our honeymoon have been spent here and while i agree with all the other reviews about its cleanliness and location, i cannot ignore the fact that i didnt get a wink of sleep due to the old matress we were sleeping on. Sheer exhaustion from discovering Rome was what got me through the night. I did leave my comments with the kind man on the desk as we left.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma1m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    67
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
120
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent one night in this lovely accomodation, It was 37 degrees outside but very cool inside and our room was very quiet, no noise from the city traffic which has disturbed us on past visits to Rome. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, brilliant shower room and Jason was very heplful going out of his way to assist us with train times etc. We couldn't find any fault with our room and will definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Sorry if this review is not gushing with enthusiasm. This hotel is good, but there are several small details which show the hotel is not quite chic boutique.
We had a nice stay, but to the owner, please read and fix these simple issues. My group had 3 rooms so had a good cross section of the accommodation.

1. Matress/bed.
They are getting old, replace them. Too soft and can start to feel springs.... Message from all 3 rooms.

2. Minibar fridge is not a silent hotel style fridge. Fan is a constant noise even with the cupboard door shut.

3. Lights.
My room, bathroom has glass ceiling which leaks light into the room meaning it wakes up any sleeping companion if you go to use bathroom after dark.
The lamps at the side of all the beds were super annoying. Very stylish, but they had about 30-50 LEDs in a strip, when you turn it off, one LED remains half lit which shines in your face. Result... Had to pull out the side table and unplug it each night. Fix this by putting a switch for the socket next to the table.
My room had the red surround to the TV with some backlight LED, a nice touch, but it cycled through lots of colours constantly like a cheap Christmas tree which spoilt the effect. Make the light white or red to match the surround and stop it flashing and it will look great.

4. Wifi.
This was good, stable and fast.
The only issue I have is that the password is the most ridiculously long thing I have ever seen!
Seriously, I was bored after entering it on 2 iPhones and an ipad. A small niggle but a quick fix.

5. Security
Safes. These are good, but you should leave instructions on how to use them and reset passkey.
In one room, the safe is not fixed, so is actually just like a lockable box which can be removed from the room. Fix it to the wall please.

All in all we had a nice stay and the public areas are great, breakfast is good, staff are friendly and helpful.
None of these points should discourage you from booking, it is a nice place. These are simple and mostly cheap fixes. I just want to let the owners know how to improve.
If the hotel fix the points I mentioned I would come again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warnestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. It is more of a B&B, in a way, that a true hotel, but that suits me just fine. The staff is helpful, yet unobtrusive and not there in the evening, you do get a phone number to call in an emergency. Only about 8 rooms total, very contemporary in style, a nice breakfast for Italy. Good capuchino, excellent wifi, excellent A/C (this was important since the temps every day was 90+). The neighborhood is quiet and away from the tourist crowd, along the river, but very easy to get to the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, and the Vatican area. A nice shopping district is just a few blocks north. I would stay here again. Some people have complained about the beds, but really I found them found (they are not the US plush pillow tops, but I was comfortable).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived early evening to find the entrance door locked but one ring of the bell and someone
from reception came to let us in. The accommodation is on the second floor of a very large building (the lift very small but suited our purpose one case and two persons). The reception
area was very clean if a bit minimalistic and only maned during the day you are on your own at nights, there is no restaurant or bar facilities so if you are looking for 24hr service this is not the place for you. Our room looked over the main road to the river, the room was very clean tidy and very different, the shower room has everything you would want and the double glazing kept out the noise. Breakfast was a cold buffet which could not be faulted. You get your own set of three keys which get you in at night. We are seniors and walked everywhere from here. This hotel hit all the right notes and I would strongly recommend staying at Luxury on the River.

Room Tip: Our room was straight off the breakfast room and I don't think we could have done any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel was close to everywhere in Rome.

The reception was nice and very helpful.

The room we have is very cozy and feel like our own room.

The only thing, I don't like it the front door is kind of dark. Because this is not hotel, it's like a service apartment . Therefore, they are located in second floor.

I will refer this to young couples to come and stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susansun3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked this for 5 nights at the beginning of April and it's certainly different to your average hotel. It was a breath of fresh air. You enter a large building through enormous wooden doors to find a marble entrance hall and staircase. There is a (very) small elevator. It is listed as no. 5 on the name plate outside but is actually on the first floor up two flights of steps. The B & B is effectively one apartment inside a large old traditional block of apartments.
Once you get inside, the whole place has obviously been recently re modelled and a lot of design has gone into furnishing and decor. (apparently it opened in September 2012. It is fairly minimalist but not stark. It feels modern but with some very traditional touches. They have six rooms of varying sizes. One is actually an apartment with a kitchen. Our room was a 'junior double' and was very pleasant but not particularly large. It is on a split level with the bed and bathroom downstairs and a small seating area and closet upstairs on a mezzanine, making full use of the very high ceilings. Part of the mezzanine floor is glass so you don't feel closed in. It is a bit unnerving the first time you walk across the glass!
We had a view of the Tiber from our window.
The concierge was helpful without being intrusive and after about 6pm, there is no one there other than the guests. You are pretty much living in a fully serviced apartment.
Breakfast is served from 7.30 am in the 'library' which has been 'designed' to the same standard as everywhere else. There was a selection of fresh breads, meats, cheese, yoghurt, and pastries each day. There were also cornflakes for those who like what they know and know what they like. The concierge made fresh cappuccino for us.
Downsides - quite noisy if you open the window as there is main road right outside. However the rooms have air conditioning. Also some noise from the apartment above; people walking about.
Upsides - clean and comfortable, well appointed, and something a little different. 10 minute walk to Vatican City, 15 minute walk to Piazza Navona etc, 30 minutes to the Colloseum.
I would definitely stay here again, although I can see that it may not be to everyone's tase.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Fiume Hotel
#779 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#60 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#282 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#103 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Prati
B&B Calamatta
B&B Calamatta
#76 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury on the River

Property: Luxury on the River
Address: Lungotevere Dei Mellini 34 | Vaticano - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxury on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY GUEST HOUSE BY THE TIBER RIVER 900 meters from Piazza di Spagna and Piazza Navona, 700 meters from Piazza del Popolo and 20 minutes away from St. Peter's Basilica (1400 meters), a luxury Structure is awaiting for you, in the heart of Rome and by the Tiber river. On a historic building first floor, entirely renovated, luxurious interiors will welcome you with their five meters high ceilings and walls covered by a well-stocked bookcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Luxury on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing