We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury on the River
Ranked #292 of 3,622 Rome B&B and Inns
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place !”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

as per previous people have said :
beautiful, small, different, good breakfast, well decorated.
the only "bemol" is the noise of the cars.. a little bit too noisy despite double sutters and new windows..
maybe "coté cour" would be perfect !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emiphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    67
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
120
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay in this boutique B&B. We had been upgraded from a double room to a mini suite with a mezzanine level. Although check in was until 7pm I e mailed ahead when we found that the trains were not running from the airport due to floods and the receptionist waited for us. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was nice and modern with a smallish shower. The upstairs seating area we didn't really use but the walk in wardrobe up there was nice. The mini bar and hot drink sachets weren't replenished during our stay so we had to wait until breakfast to have a cup of coffee. The safe box had no instructions and we got it locked shut twice and had to ask for it to be opened so in the end didn't use it which was a bit worrying when leaving our passports in the room. The room was a bit too warm but thats better in a old building than being cold. There was some noise from the road at the front but we had a nice view of the river. After spending each day walking miles we slept through this anyway. The breakfast buffet in the library was a really good selection to set you up for the day (fruit salad, yogurts, cornflakes, bread/toast, pastries, hard boiled egg, cold meats and cheeses). The staff were lovely and helpful. I really liked that it was in an apartment block and going into the entrance hall and up the stairs with the old lift shaft in the centre made it feel safe and away from the city. It is well placed for all the sites if you are happy to walk 10-20 minutes. We only used the metro on our last day as we had luggage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hammy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my bestfriend went to Rome in January 2013. We booked this hotel with booking.com. And really, when we booked our stay at Luxury on the river we did not expect it to be so nice as we only paid 900 Euros. We thought it was a hotel, but it was more like an apartment building. Our room was really big with two floors. The staff was very friendly and it was in a very good location. The staff helped us with everything we asked for. The only thing that wasn`t that good is that it was no view from our windows in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rome was our last stop during our honeymoon, so I wanted a nice hotel to finish our trip. Decided to go with Luxury on the River. Based on the photos, I thought it was a medium sized hotel with a nice frontage. Turns out to be a pair of large wooden doors with 2 small signs. Fast forward.... checked in to a small B&B with a less then knowledgeable staff. Didn't tell us much about the facilities or even what is included in the room, didn't know where the nearest Metro was. Location was hard to find as well having no signboards or frontage. Even met a French couple who were asking around for the B&B's location when they were standing at the doorstep.

Oh, the noise from the road! Even with sound proofed windows, the noise from cars still permeates through.

However, it was a lovely room for a honeymooners or a couple that just wants to be near town. 20min to Spanish Steps, 15min to St Angelo Castle and 25min walk to Vatican. Overall, quite a pleasant experience with large space (which we didn't use the mezzanine).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hustla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you think of your stay as a private apartment with breakfast included, your stay here will make a lot more sense.

Our room was just lovely - very roomy & modern. The bedroom included a large, raised jacuzzi; the bathroom was large and included a bidet & shower, featuring three shower heads (!). Excellent wifi was included, (even if the password was 40 characters long), plus a mounted flat screen tv with lots of channels. However, this particular room had no view, which was the only downside.

The location is a bit out of the way, but not terribly so; the upside to that is that the room was very peaceful and quiet. Do not expect this to be a hotel in the traditional sense, in that there isn't a 24 hour front desk. The desk is on the 1st floor (above the ground floor) and keeps limited hours; there is a common room that serves breakfast. The breakfast was nice, as was the staff.

If you do stay here, make extra sure that someone actually booked your transport to the airport. Other than that one snag, we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealmissrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

After staying dozens of nights in hotels across Rome for the past decade, I can honestly say I have finally found the one ill be happy to come back to. Great location, great room, great staff... Breakfast is good, coffee is excellent.
I think that pretty much sums it up for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Location great, service great and rooms great but...it's not perfect! We had the split level suite and couldn't get Internet in the room, but did in the lounge sofa area. We tried to order a bottle of Prosecco and there wasn't a cold one available. The service was good as they tried very hard in sorting any requests out but at times it was a little too much in your face. We had plenty of space and had our own hob and fridge freezer which we didn't use. The bottle of Prosecco we did order was very good and something I've never tried before. It was a 2004 aged Prosecco, very nice and very interesting. Overall the Hotel was fantastic value for money and recommended. Be warned though make sure you warn the Hotel if your arriving later than 7pm as the reception shuts then.

Room Tip: Email notice if you want to check in later than 7pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Fiume Hotel
#777 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#63 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#272 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#102 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Prati
B&B Calamatta
B&B Calamatta
#67 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury on the River

Property: Luxury on the River
Address: Lungotevere Dei Mellini 34 | Vaticano - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 3,622 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxury on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY GUEST HOUSE BY THE TIBER RIVER 900 meters from Piazza di Spagna and Piazza Navona, 700 meters from Piazza del Popolo and 20 minutes away from St. Peter's Basilica (1400 meters), a luxury Structure is awaiting for you, in the heart of Rome and by the Tiber river. On a historic building first floor, entirely renovated, luxurious interiors will welcome you with their five meters high ceilings and walls covered by a well-stocked bookcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Luxury on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing