We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel close to attractions.”
Review of Hotel Mancino 12

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mancino 12
Ranked #51 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is down a laneway (how unusual in Rome!) just off from Piazza Venezia.
We had a room on the second floor (203), looking out onto a laneway but very little traffic or noise. A very modern room with black and grey tonings. Two single beds joined together (usual for Europe) but slept really well - very comfortable bed.The room had a work desk with stool and also an armchair in the corner.Had enough cupboard space for our clothes - also incorporates a safe for valuables, bar fridge, TV, free Wi-Fi. There is a good size bathroom with washbasin, shower, toilet & bidet. We found the bidet came in very useful - we placed the toilet roll here as where they had the toilet roll dispenser you virtually needed to be a contortionist or you would indeed put you back out! (also the option of putting the roll on the window sill).
Stefano at reception was excellent for advice on right way to places such as the Coliseum (easy walking distance), trevi fountain (although we knew where this was - disappointing they are currently doing repairs and there is no water), and of course some excellent recommendations for dining out (have done reviews on these).
The only disappointment for us at this hotel is they only have (for extra charge) a continental breakfast - very basic - and if you go outside for an alternative, you will not find anything in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice little understated hotel on a tiny side street right off a major road. As many have said, it is surprisingly quiet. In fact, we slept like the dead at this place. Best sleep of our 2 week Italian honeymoon.

Very centrally located. If you like to stay in the middle of it all, this is a great choice. Most of the major monuments within 10-15 walk. And here’s the thing: my wife and I typically don’t like to stay in the real touristy spots, but this hotel was in a great location. Right next to the Jewish Ghetto (that's a good thing btw), close to Campo Di Fiori, 2 of the 3 best places in Rome (Trastevere takes the cake).

The hotel itself is very modern, shower was amazing, room on the smaller side, but that’s how it is in Rome. For a small incremental price, you could book the suite on the top floor.

We arrived around 10am after flying in from NY. Our room wasn’t ready and we were exhausted so they booked us in another room and got us in there within 20 minutes. The staff was incredibly nice, always helpful, never.

If you’re traveling around Italy, stay in a more modest hotel in Rome, like this place. Hotels in Rome are so expensive and it’s not really a city that affords you great views. Save the splashy place for southern Italy, like Amalfi Coast or Capri. That’s what we did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McNutty187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We loved our stay in this small hotel in Rome! This was a boutique hotel and the price was very reasonable for Rome! We were in the center of it all - near Piazza Venezia. Hotel was super clean. We stayed in the suite on the top floor and had a terrace also. Unfortunately, we didn't get much time on our terrace, b/c there was so much to see in Rome for the 3 days we were there... Front desk staff speak English and were so friendly and helpful!! We will return to this hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CLB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved this hotel. The location was perfect and we felt like we were able to experience Rome the very best way ... right in the middle of it. We walked to the Colesseum, shopping and everything we wanted to see.
The rooms were elegant and quiet and the beds were VERY comfortable.
The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They worked with us on restaurants, taxi to the airport, maps and touristy recommendations. It was such a perfect location in the heart of Rome, but you would never know it by the quiet luxury of our rooms. Hope to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fatbob208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned yesterday from Rome and stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent, you are minutes from everything.

Hotel service was great and the hotel was very clean.

I recommend this hotel 100 % if you are in Rome, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank wantottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here over three nights at the end of June.
The hotel is small but perfectly formed, and a short stroll from some major sights.

5 mins stroll to Trevi (which is sadly scaffolded and dry now for approx 18 months) :(
5 mins stroll to Piazza Venizia
15 mins leisurely walk to The Colosseum

I cannot rate the location of this hotel highly enough. It's on a quick back street, so no traffic noise. There is a little corner shop 1 minute away where you can buy 1 litre bottles of chilled water for a lot cheaper (1.50 euro) than you can buy the tiny ones from the street sellers (And you do tend to drink a lot of water if you're walking a fair bit)

The receptionists are friendly and happy (even after us clearing out the sweety bowl on the front desk!!)

We stayed on the top floor suite. It is SMALL - do not think you are going to get a spacious living space... however there is everything that you need, and it is clean and contemporary. My friend utilised the little desk and sofa room as she had to take her laptop away to be able to work in the evenings. The wifi seems reasonable, and even though a little slow, it was adequate.

We didn't use the balcony, as being June/July it was very hot and the air con was a welcome relief, and we were only really in the room to sleep!
We toyed with the idea of having an optional continental style breakfast in the hotel foyer area, but to be honest it's not necessary... why miss out on sampling the local eateries? It was much more fun buying fresh fruit off the street sellers, and grabbing pastries from the bakeries as you wander.

If you were planning to take a leisurely long break, say a week or more and were planning to spend lots of time in your hotel (which when in Rome would be ludicrous quite frankly lol) then you might like to seek a larger hotel with more facilities.
If you are desperate for a pool and spa there is an option when booking to utilise the spa facilities at one of Manccino 12's sister hotel's THE PARCO DEI PRINCIPI GRAND HOTEL & SPA. It is a 10 min taxi drive away, but is worth the trip - just what we needed for our aching feet and legs after all that walking.

I would most definitely stay in this hotel again for a short break... and actually am in the process of booking again for next year. It's on the slightly more pricey end of the scale - but totally worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TisTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent four nights at the Mancino 12 in July / August 2013. We loved it, the rooms were of a decent size, clean and extremely quiet. The hotel was walking distance from most attractions which was fantastic, as this was our first stop on our holiday. The gentleman at Reception was always willing to help and gave us a map on our first day and highlighted all the attractions and showed us some good restaurants to eat at. I would definitely recommend Hotel Mancino.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,589 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,271 in Rome
828 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mancino 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mancino 12

Address: Via del Mancino 12, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £145 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mancino 12 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mancino 12, a few steps from the Trevi fountain, is just close to the Renaissance Guglielmi palace and next Piazza Venezia. Thanks to its strategic position, it is the ideal hotel to stay in Rome for short or longer periods of time, or even just for a weekend in the very centre of Rome. For those who are looking for a a special stay, the exclusive suite with panoramic terrace at the last floor of the building is the perfect location to experience the city from above.The rooms of the hotel will welcome you in an elegant ambience, with the quietness and intimacy you are looking for to then live Rome with the right energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mancino 12 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing