We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at La cupola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cupola del Vaticano
Ranked #24 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have jsut had a great staya at this hotel, actually more a B&B. Location was excellent. Weather in Rome was hot, whihc meant that we were able to go and have a Siesta in the afternoon until temperatues cooled downa bit. The room was very clean, and the AC was efficent and wonderfully silent. By the way the double glazing also cut out most of the street noise, which you are bound to have if staying so close to the centre. We were very well looked after by Raffaella and Silvana, and breakfast in ourroom was a true bonus.
I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: There is only one room with an actual view of the Dome of St. Peter's, so if this is important t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCamilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for La Cupola del Vaticano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

La Cupola del Vaticano is a great place to stay in Rome if you want to be right next to Vatican City. Our room was very clean and well maintained with a good continental breakfast brought to our room each morning. The air conditioning was weak, unfortunately, and we were in Rome on three VERY hot days . The staff is extremely helpful and considerate. They assisted us in reserving train tickets and recommending good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmagreenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

To be honest, I was a little hesitant seeing so few reviews on TA. From a statistical angle, the reviews are insufficient to form a normal distribution, and there was only 1 picture with less than 10 reviews.

Well, I was a little late in booking Rome's accommodations and the highly rated ones were all full and so I decided to take a chance to stay here for 3 nights.

LOCATION
1. Nearest metro station: Red line - OTTAVIANO (3 blocks away). Note: Ottaviano subway does NOT have lifts. So be aware if you have heavy luggage. Exit on your left to San Pietro Basilica to Viale Guilo. Turn left to Via Ottaviano and walk 3 blocks down. Cross Via dei Gracchi and look for the green door.
2. Nearest Piazza : Piazza Risorgimento
3. Nearest bus stop: You have a direct bus # 590 (towards Risorgimento) to Rome Termini. It takes about half hour. #590 runs every 1.5hr interval. Check ATAC's timing to avoid unnecessary wait. Other buses in the area:
#81 - to Colosseum
3. Nearest tram line: #19 - goes to Piazza dei Popolo
4. Nearest attractions:
A. Vatican City. Just round the corner!
B. Castel Sant' Angelo. There is an underground tunnel linking A and B. We use normal roads! Visit these two places at night...it is magical without the tourists stampede.,
4. Nearest shopping:
A. Via Cola Di Rienzo. Not as ritzy as Via del Corso but nice enough. There is even a mercanto (market) along Via Cola Di Rienzo.
B. Visit Castroni. It is a supermarket that sells all kinds of local and international food. If we did not have
5. Nearby restaurants: lots around the piazza!

RECEPTION
1. There are a total of 6 rooms.
2. Opening hours: 8:30am to 7pm.
3. They welcome you with an email .....in advance ! Nice touch!
4. A young man, Jacopo, was very helpful. They even have a map of Rome to show you what is around the area. An excellent map for navigating, with very detailed roads.
5. You see the reception as you enter the apartment on the 3rd floor.
6. There is an old-fashioned lift to the 3rd floor. Very quaint!
7. There is a computer notebook for guests to use. Handy for those who don't carry a smartphone or bring their iPads around.
8. Payment: Cash or Credit card.

BEDROOM
Room #: 3 (facing Via Ottaviano and Via dei Gracchi)
Views: None. Only street view.
Smell: Good. Not musky or lingering cigarette smell.
Size: Good with double bed and bay windows. Glass windows are double-glazed.
Flooring: Dark Brown Ceramic Tiles (bring your own bathroom slippers if you dislike walking barefoot)
Wifi: Free access and very strong consistent signal. I LOVE it.
TV: Flat screen LCD, HDMI. No English channels
Cupboard : Decent size with many hangars
Mini-fridge: well-stocked with soft drinks
Safe: Yes.
Refreshments: Water kettle with tea-bags.
Furniture: A round table and 2 chairs for breakfast.
Bed: Double - Comfortable enough.
Sheets: Normal White cotton,
Aircon: Yes
Heater: Yes
Ambience: Functional and pleasant. Can get a little noisy in the morning at the reception/common area.
Colour scheme: Light apple green.
Housekeeping: Everyday. Towels are changed upon request.
BYO : Bedroom slippers, ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise ( my husband is). Rooms 1,2.3 faces the main road. 4,5,6 would have been ideal.

ENSUITE BATHROOM
Condition: Very clean
Size: Good size. There is even a little country-looking wooden table for your towels and toiletries.
Towels: White & fluffy
Shower Stall : well-maintained
Shower: Good water pressure and consistent hot water
Hair dryer : 1200 watts, fixed on wall
Heater : Heater panel.
Toiletries: Sachets of hair shampoo, body gel and bars of soaps
Air-freshener: Fixed in wall where u can press to get a nice smelling bathroom
BYO: Moisturizers, toothbrush, comb

BREAKFAST
On a trolley, rolled into your room at the appointed time you chose, starting at 8:30am. Excellent because you eat in privacy and in your pajamas! Surprisingly substantial :
1. Cereals with milk
2. Beverage of your choice (order ahead)
3. Croissants and Bread rolls with jams, cheeses, butter, Nutella.
4. Yoghurt
5. Fruit Juice
6. Fresh fruits
Some people mind eating in their bedrooms..but we are ok with it.

What we liked:
1. Clean and good location, hot water and wifi.
2. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Jacopo
3. Lots of privacy. We don't see other guests except at check-out time.
4. Decent value for Rome

What we did not like:
1. Inflexibility with check-in check-out timing. This can be a problem if you need flexibility. In our case, our train leaves at 11:45pm and we have to use the left luggage at the train station. I confess I overlooked this point while making the booking.

All in all, it has been a good stay! Going to St Peter's at night is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MouMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in March. Very good directions from train station given and the B&B is close to metro (6 stops from the main train station). A charming lady was there to greet us and advise on good places to eat. Very clean large room with a very quaint breakfast each morning. Effective double, double-glazing, which was needed for the noise on the street below. (Room 1). Unfortunately there was no English news channels on the TV but we spent a lot of time out and about so no big deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizzie_McWizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We spent one week in Rome, in La Cupola del Vaticano. Rooms are located in historical building, on the beginning of St. Ottaviano Str, on 3rd floor. We received a nice big room with one double bed and one single bed for our child. The room was very clean, equipped in simple, necessary furniture, LCD TV and a nice bathroom with a big shower place and hairdryer. You could prepare coffee or tea in the room, you could also find beverages in mini bar. Breakfasts were served in a room within the apartment, you could choose typical continental breakfast, but also prosutto and cheese were available. The very good coffee was prepared by staff, thanks God no terrible coffee machines were installed.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The street is rather noisy, but this is rather standard in Rome.
You have only 5 min to metro and 5 min to St. Peter square!
A very nice place to stay in Rome!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrzej67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#21 of 3,710 in Rome
883 reviews
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#34 of 3,710 in Rome
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
OM2Rome
OM2Rome
#45 of 3,710 in Rome
320 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,710 in Rome
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cupola del Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cupola del Vaticano

Address: Via Ottaviano 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £79 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Cupola del Vaticano 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has been totally renovated and we offer rooms with private bathrooms, shower, bidet, hairdryer, toiletries kit, air conditioning, tea and coffee maker, mini bar and a security safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cupola del Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing