We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, comfortable environment, unpretentious”
Review of La Locanda del Poeta - CLOSED

La Locanda del Poeta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Aperto tutti i giorni (chiuso la domenica a cena): Pranzo al buffet: dal lunedi al venerdi. Pranzo alla carta: sabato e domenica. Cena alla carta: dal lunedi al sabato.
Rome
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food, comfortable environment, unpretentious”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Tried it out for a birthday dinner, outstanding antipasto (the fondue polenta) and first course (tortelli di vitello). The second course was ok but nothing to shout about (cinghiale), maybe my taste buds were a bit anesthetized at that stage. Excellent homemade tiramisu for dessert. Service was very friendly and well paced, we neither felt rushed to free the table, nor waited too long. This is a place for excellent food (and great wine list), but is not a "posh" place you want to take someone to show off. And where you may have to wear a tie.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    58
    24
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Rome”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

If you are looking for a unique dining experience in Rome, this is it!! The food is by far the best in the city. I have been to many great restaurants and this beats them all. The chef puts her own unique spin on the wonderful pastas and all of the dishes. They take fabulous food and re-imagine it to make it even better. The presentation is as pleasing to the eye as it is to the palate. The staff is also very welcoming and friendly. I love this place and I will be back every time I visit Rome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOFRANCIS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute delight!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I can’t praise ‘La Locanda del Poeta’ high enough.
My boyfriend (he’s Italian from Rome) took me to this wonderful restaurant for a special occasion two weeks ago and it was the perfect location for a memorable evening. The interior is simple, yet elegant with comfortable lighting; nice music playing in the background at a pleasant volume. The service is warm, welcoming and professional. The menu is creative, and so is the presentation of the dishes on beautiful crockery. The food itself: wonderful! A sometimes surprising list of ingredients results in delicate but at the same time flavoursome dishes. Between the two of us we shared one starter, two pasta dishes, one main and one dessert. Nice surprises were a welcome drink on arrival, the impressive assortment of salts to choose from to accompany the bread and olive oil, a complimentary course of antipasto, as well as a digestive on the house.
I know there is a lot of good food you can find in Rome, but this place really ticks ALL the boxes. If you like your restaurant visits to be an overall experience and you appreciate food that is not only tasty but also original and a little special, go to ‘La Locanda del Poeta’.
It is a rare pleasure to find a place where the owners and staff obviously take pride in their work and enjoy what they’re doing.
I felt well nourished on every level.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina Mare (Me)
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best spot in Roma!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My absolute favorite restaurant in Rome! The food and wine were only exceeded by the excellent service and warm attention the family owned team provided every table. In a place clearly popular with locals, we were welcomed as regulars despite our obvious role of tourist! There was something for everyone, and whether you chose antipasto, soup, pasta, fish or beef, the fresh, locally grown ingredients make the flavors explode on your palette. If you have only one night in Rome, this is the place! It is an absolute must visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Locanda del Poeta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing