We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic & Central - Rome is on your doorstep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black and White Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black and White Suite
Ranked #90 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chic & Central - Rome is on your doorstep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

An excellent apartment experience, located in the heart of the Jewish Quarter, mere minutes away from the Colosseum and The Pantheon.

The Black and White suite, located on the third floor of the building, is ideal for families, with an incredibly comfortable bed and sofa bed, a well equipped kitchen and large, functional bathroom. The open plan nature of the apartment, along with its modern interiors, made for a pleasant environment to live in for 4 days, with an extensive array of restaurants on the street below. Most importantly, given our trip was at the start of August, the air conditioning was a welcome relief.

Within the local area it's a short walk to Campo de' Fiori, beyond there you can walk towards the Vatican too. The city is best explored by foot, because every corner turned is another discovery. The apartment owes itself to walking in local, the street it's located on is Pedestrian only too, a haven away from cars!

I must thank Martina and Noel in their services through out our stay, and would also advise a trip to the bakery on the corner of the apartment building, for their service and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Perfect! Great central location and wonderful rooms. Stayed here with my wife for two days in August. We had been driving around Italy for a week in more rural accommodations so we really enjoyed the modern amenities of the Black & White Suite (strong AC and shower). Owners very hospitable and accessible. They gave me tips on where to go and what to do and were always just a text away. When I return to Rome I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewF7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We can only confirm all the previous excellent reviews.
Martina is a perfect owner and an always available host in this B&B in the Jewish ghetto in Rome.
In July 2013 the white room on the first floor was for us a shelter against the summer heat, a rest point with a comfortable bed, cooled beverages and daily fresh fruit. A perfect location to discover the city on foot.
Paule & Herman, Belgium.

Room Tip: No elevator in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location is perfect in a vibrant neighbourhood with some roman remains at the end of the street and we had no need to use public transport besides our arrival from the airport & departure to the train station. We took the largest/top floor black & white suite & the facilities are better than other apartments elsewhere, with full cooking facilities & a washing machine.The owner even booked some of her favourite restaurants for us & we recieved a discount on one occassion because of her reccomendation. The apartments were cleaned daily whether occupied or not & we were were supplied with complimentary drinks & snacks throughout our stay. It was not an issue for us and the cleaner & owner will always help; but if you travel with a lot of luggage or have difficulty climbing stairs(no lift) you may want to consider the 1st floor apartment(black) which seemed slightly nicer than the second floor apartment(white).

Room Tip: If not taking the top floor black & white suite the 1st floor apartment (black room I think) was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Black and White Suite in the White Room for five nights July 11-16, 2013. We always research where to stay thoroughly before our trips. This is the best place in Europe we have ever stayed in. The owner Martina is a beautiful, savvy, friendly, business woman who has made her B&B in Rome - the place to be. The Black and White Suite is situated in the old Jewish Ghetto, which is within walking distance to most of the ancient sites in Rome around the corner from the Portico d'Ottavia, Teatro Marcello, area sacra of the Largo Argintina, the Circus Maximus, the Capitoline Hill and the Forum. In fact you could not find a more central, pleasing, and cool area to be in. The area has some great restaurants to dine in (we suggest Il Giardino Romano just down the street for gnocchi like pillows and artichokes lovingly prepared or Beppe a deli with incredible salamis and cheeses). There is a supermarket 5 minutes away. There are plenty of cafes,a bakery, and a great fresh gelato maker in the little piazza where the Suite is located. A walk across the bridge and you are in the lively, hip Trastevere area.

The location of the Suite is quiet and ancient, but the White room has all the mods cons and is very clean: great aircon, (a plus in the summer), giant shower with great water pressure, comfortable, large bed, a large closet, bed side tables, a small fridge and a Digital TV. Noel, the cleaner, is awesome and a lovely man. He replenishes the towels, toilet paper, tissues, as well as the beer, wine, fresh fruit, water, biscuits and cakes in the fridge. Martina and Noel will cater to your every need if you request anything special... you just need to ask.

We highly recommend this place and have let all our friends and colleagues know that when in Rome, stay in the Black and White Suite. So book early, as this place will become more and more popular. Until we return, ciao!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Claude_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in the B&W apartment, two short flights of stairs then one flight inside the apartment brings you to the Lounge which is exactly as lovely as on the website with Kitchen area off (see photo), it is just a small area with sliding door off the lounge but contains all you will need. Washer great asset travelling with children or the excessive heat our week in Rome 34/39 degrees the excellent air con was a relief every time we walked in the apartment it refreshed us. Our son (12) slept on the sofa bed in the Lounge which he loved, open stairway leads up to the spacious bedroom with shower room off. Noel the caretaker was really nice, helpful and keeps the place spot on, he came every day replenished fruit juice sweet cake and fruit - the breakfast. We bought in bread (plaited bread like short baggettes did not dry out) pastries lovely pizza from Antico Forno del Ghetto Bakery/deli (left out the front door and left again 1 min walk) choose (or in my case point) at what you want then pay at the door on the way out (there is another famous Bakery too on the corner) for mid day meals out of the heat. I wanted the Piazza Navona area but this was actually much better between the Baroque and the Ancient Rome you can walk everywhere or catch the Tram at the end of the street, which we did to get towards Piazza Venezia/Monumento Vittorio Emanuel until we realised you would walk to the other end of the street and through Teatro Marcello (down under the footbridge or turn left through the passageway just before) much quicker. If you panic like I did on the first day there is a DeSpar supermarket Via di San Bartolomeo de' Vaccinari, cross the square walk towards the river past the lovely fountain then take a right along the road that runs one block in from the river. Martina was lovely to deal before during and after the stay, by email and text; she arranged taxis for us at unearthly hours in the morning who were prompt and safe. I hesitate to mention, for fear I do not explain how well it was dealt with, that she contacted us before our stay to say there was some work that had to be done at the apartment between the last people leaving and us arriving - many people would not have given us warning of this and pretended they did not know before the day there was no sign of any problem or that any work had been done - well done Martina for your approach on this - a very genuine person. We felt safe walking this area at night (we took to having an air con siesta at lunch) and the double glazing stopped any noise from the restaurants in the area reaching the apartment, there were tourists about (but no street sellers as we saw in Navona/Camp Di Fiori areas) but also local people sitting of the benches in the early evening, I was a bit worried about the photos on the website that look like a building site but in fact these are railings to protect ancient buildings more like a viewing area at the end of the street. (only one thing - there is a hairdryer - there is just about everything - but if your hair is like mine take your own more powerful one). Try Rome by Segway if you want a different tour. Thanks Noel and Martina I will not contemplate going to Rome again unless we can book this apartment!

Room Tip: Our only tip is - stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytripperL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in the Black and White Suites for four nights with our two teenage grandkids. It was even better than I expected. The location is fantastic and the service wonderful. Martina is charming. She was waiting for us when we arrived, explaining everything. Noel, the cleaning man, was thorough and attentive. There was milk in the fridge and fruit on the table! All the attractions, plus restaurants, bakeries, and grocery shops are nearby. The only minus is the stairs. Noel helped with the bags but it is not an apartment for people with difficulties. We had no problem sharing a bathroom with two teenagers but two couples might feel uncomfortable.

We loved our stay and will return if we are lucky enough to get a chance!

Room Tip: We had the 2 room apartment with a kitchen and dining table. Great for a family. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ghetto
Kame Hall
Kame Hall
#321 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Ghetto
HT6 Hotel
HT6 Hotel
#74 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Ghetto
Lea Luxury Rooms
Lea Luxury Rooms
#250 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ghetto
Orsini Palace Starsuite
Orsini Palace Starsuite
#294 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Ghetto
B&B Little Queen
B&B Little Queen
#384 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Ghetto
Il Tempio Della Capitale
Il Tempio Della Capitale
#463 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black and White Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black and White Suite

Property: Black and White Suite
Address: Via Santa Maria del Pianto, 67, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ghetto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLACK AND WHITE SUITE apartment on two levels, bright, located on the second floor of an old building in the Jewish quarter of Rome. On the first floor of the apartment there is a large living room with dining table, kitchen; on the second floor bedroom with bathroom. The house has 4 beds, two in a double bedroom and a double sofa bed comfortable for two people. WHITE ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. the breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. BLACK ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. The breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black and White Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing